01/08WhiskersAMPS333+2.5180+3.5137+4.5149+6201+9326PMPS332

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cheryl & Whiskers (GA)

Member Since 2010
Good Morning,

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=33838

Whiskers AMPS is 333. We increased her insulin dose to 1.7 units bid Which is an increase of .25, and I will check her BG through out the day. Any suggestions how often to check?

She was given the AB Clavamox 1ml containing 62.5 mg every 12 hours, and normal dose of 1/4 tablet of 2.5mg of amlodipine for hypertension.

She seems much calmer today, and she did not urinate on the tile floor today :mrgreen: !

Ok I'm off to call the vets regarding use of medication for the ears.
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS 333 Dosing question how often to ck

hi Cheryl

you could plan for a curve, which is about every 2 hours, follow this link, New to the Group scroll down to the typical curve chart, (I've added it here in my post too) and that doesn't mean test every hour, it is simply a guideline of what you could see in a typical cycle.

As you collect more data, you will see your own nadir for Whiskers, ECID (every cat is different) this info will be key to the dosing suggestions given to you. Keep in mind, nadir can change, the data will show you that, but not just one curve, here and there, spotchecks when ever you can will help a lot.
Do keep in mind also, as previously mentioned by Sienne and Libby yesterday, ABS can lower BG's.

A UTI and an ear infection will both have the effect of raising BG levels. I'm not comfortable suggesting a dose increase without some mid-cycle checks. It's quite possible that Whiskers is hitting lower numbers in the middle of the cycle and what you are seeing are the bounces at pre-shot times. IMHO, raising the dose by 0.5u with limited testing could be a set up for trouble. If you are going to raise the dose, I wouldn't raise by more than 0.25u and then only if you can commit to getting multiple spot checks.
Sienne, Gabby, & Gizmo (& George, GA)


I would be inclined to go up to 1.75 *if* you can monitor like crazy this weekend. Whiskers has seen some fast drops and a fair amount of blue on this dose, and I think it is possible that there has been some green that you haven't caught. Overall, it looks like she has room for a small increase.

Here are some cautions to keep in mind. These are the reasons I think you should monitor like crazy, and the reasons I think going all the way up to 2u might be too much.

1. Whiskers has seen some fast drops on this dose. Some of those drops could have gone to green, especially at night.
2. If Whiskers has an infection and the AB starts kicking in, the numbers could drop quickly.
3. You don't have any tests after +3 for the past several days.
Libby and Lucy (and foster kitty Jazzy)

Learn how YOUR kitty is responding to insulin:
Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
How to do a Curve
Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


Carryover - insulin effects lasting past the insulin's official duration
Overlap - the period of time when the effect of one insulin shot is diminishing and the next insulin shot is taking effect
Insulin Depot - (aka "storage shed" in Lantus Land) "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body


hope that helps, and good luck curving! :razz:
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS 333 Dosing question how often to ck

I like to get a +2 to begin with.. that # can tell us a lot about what to expect (not guaranteed but usually if that # is not similar.. the cycle is going to keep you on your toes genearlly) A curve is testing every 2 hours or a mini curve is testing every 3 hours. As Roni said, once you have your data it helps guide you with your cat. If I were you, I would get the +2 & see what that is & then we can figure out the rest of the day ;-) Let us know what the vet says! Very happy to hear she is calmer & no on the tile lol
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS 333 Dosing question how often to ck

Hello Luna,

Thank you for your advise, I appreciate it. I will check Whiskers BG about every 2 hours.

I called the vet, and as I indicated before he was not in today so they had me talk to one of his assistants/techs about the use of Mometamax. She said they use if off label in cats all the time. I told her it was a corticosteroid and could increase levels of BG. She said the Dr. was well aware of Whiskers DB and would not have prescribed it if it wasn't ok.

Now I have read it has caused deafness in rare cases. The people who's pets have had the rare misfourtune of going deaf are pretty upset.

I just can't see risking deafness for Whiskers, it would be devastating along with all her other health conditions.

I see that Zymox HC (for hydrocoritisone a low dose steroid) is sold over the counter and is used to treat yeast infections of the ear. I am considering using that instead. What do you think?
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS 333 Dosing question how often to ck

Nicole & Baby said:
I like to get a +2 to begin with.. that # can tell us a lot about what to expect (not guaranteed but usually if that # is not similar.. the cycle is going to keep you on your toes genearlly) A curve is testing every 2 hours or a mini curve is testing every 3 hours. As Roni said, once you have your data it helps guide you with your cat. If I were you, I would get the +2 & see what that is & then we can figure out the rest of the day ;-) Let us know what the vet says! Very happy to hear she is calmer & no on the tile lol

Good morning Nicole,

Thanks I will get a +2 to begin with and then post that. As you can see by my pervious post I am considering use what you used, Zymox HC for Whiskers ears, and am wondering what other think?
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS 333 question use Zymox HC istead Mom

Zymox HC is what Baby just finished up, 1 x daily for 10 days
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS 333 question use Zymox HC istead Mom

Hi Nicole,

How are baby's ears, does the infections seem to have cleared up? What kind of infection was it?

Also Whiskers +2.5 has come down to 180 blue. That is a drop of 153. Should I continue to check every 2 hours?
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180question Mometamax or

Hi, Cheryl.. that is a substantial drop.. yes, I would feed a mini meal & test again in 2 hours if it were my cat.. but that is because I have data.. you might want to test again in 1 hour. Baby had a bacteria or yeast infection in her right ear - the drops were annoying to give.. but her ear is all better. The vet instructed me to fill the ear canal with the med & massage the ear so the drops go down & do this once a day for 10 days.

Nice drop!! Yay!! Soooooo excited for you both! :mrgreen: Gooo Whiskers!!
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180question Mometamax or Zy

Ok, I will gave her a mini meal about 3/4 ounce of raw food (she normally has 2 ounce at meal time) and 1/2 teaspoon of organic greek yogurt and check BG at +3.5
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137

Well she's dropped again +3.5 137, still blue. I'm not sure the mini meal has kicked in since it was only about 20 minutes ago.
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137

Ok.. she is looking good in Blue..I know you are happy to see some good #s.. now you can see the importance of testing.. I know it is no fun to do every hour.. but.. with all Whiskers has going on.... how is Whiskers acting? Did you decide on some eardrops? When do you plan to test again?
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137

Hi,

My last BG check was at +3.5, so I'm planning a +4.5. I am happy to see good numbers. I do not want Whiskers to get used to the higher numbers she seems to hang out at. I also hope as is her pattern that she does not have good numbers for 3-4 days and than go back up to pink/red. We will cross our fingers and the paws.

I think I'm going to try to find some zymox hc. I'm just not real comfortable with the Mometamax.

Whiskers is good she is laying on a fuzzy blacket, she just finished licking her fur.
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137

You might still see some higher #s after this.. kittys tend to go to RBC (Rebound City) but eventually most learn to stay in healthy, healing #s.
Great job testing today!
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137 +4.5 149 +6 201

Hello,

Ms. Whiskers is coming up +6 201. We had some nice blues today, and now we just entered Yellow :RAHCAT .
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137 +4.5 149 +6 201

:RAHCAT yay for you! She might come back down again.. if you are up & able.. try for a +9 if not.. then.. others will chime in ;-) great job today!
Has Whiskers acted any differently?
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137 +4.5 149 +6 201

Hello Cheryl!
:RAHCAT YA, for those numbers today!!!! :RAHCAT
Im so glad you were able to get a curve, AND Whiskers cooperated by not sitting in a bounce all day! Good Girl! cat_pet_icon (both of you, that is! :lol: ) It might make more sense why folks were asking for more tests now???

I see you got Whiskers in for a urinalysis and its suspected she does have an infection. Im not sure if I caught whether or not they are doing the culture/sensitivity. It does sound like you received a lot of education, and guidance on the subject since yesterday. I suspect once you get the infection cleared up, BG's will start looking much better on a regular basis.

Latte loved the plain greek yogurt. I hope Whiskers is enjoying it.

Have a great night!
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137 +4.5 149 +6 201

Hi Nicole and Carolyn,

Yes I can do a +9. Whiskers is a pretty laid back, mellow cat, except when she is hungry (which is most of the time), then get out of the way :lol: .

She finished watching me eat, and just pretty mellow.

I didn't find out if they were doing the C & S, I will call again tomorrow.

She did like the greek yogurt, she gobbles up pretty much any food :lol: .

I'm going to try and order zymox HC online now, they did not have it at petsmart, Chuck & dons petstore, or Trader Joes.

Whiskers did pee on the tile bathroom floor today (sigh).
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS 333 Dosing question how often to ck

Cheryl & Whiskers said:
As you can see by my pervious post I am considering use what you used, Zymox HC for Whiskers ears, and am wondering what other think?
it may be fine to use, but i wouldn't switch meds without first running it by the vet.
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137 +4.5 149 +6 201

Cheryl,
You might just approach the vet by asking what your other options would be. Let him talk and explain. Then tell him/her what you have found and ask if that could be added to the options.

I like how you are doing your research and deciding based on the information you gather, along with your gut.
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137 +4.5 149 +6 201

Cheryl, you are doing a great job. Good numbers a lot of the time for Whiskers today, and also good that she likes the Greek yogurt. I agree that you should run the other option for the ear medication by your vet, especially since you are uncomfortable giving the prescribed medication owing to those scary side effects.
Too bad about the peeing on the floor; it could well be because of the infection. Carry on!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137 +4.5 149 +6 201

Hi Carolyn and Ella,


I will talk to the vet using you suggestions, he is really a decent guy and also had a DB cat.

Have a great night :mrgreen:
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333 +2.5 180 +3.5 137 +4.5 149 +6 201

Good evening, guys! So glad Whiskers had a good day down in the blues and that you had the chance to get a curve. The more knowledge you have, the better! Here's to a great night for you both!

Christie and Willie
 
Re: 01/08 Whiskers AMPS333+2.5 180+3.5 137+4.5 149+6 201+9 3

Hi Christie and Willie,

Thank you, we liked seeing the blue numbers.

At +9 she is 326 back in pink (sigh), mabye it was because ot the mini meal and dried chicken snacks at BG checks.

have a good night as well :razz: .
 
Re: 01/08WhiskersAMPS333+2.5180+3.5137+4.5149+6201+9326PMPS3

Well Whiskers only went up from 326 at +9 to 332 at PMPS. I don't think we have ever recorded such a small increase :?:
 
Re: 01/08WhiskersAMPS333+2.5180+3.5137+4.5149+6201+9326PMPS3

now you piqued my curiosity...how did you inherit whiskers?

celi
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top