01/08 TIFIL DKA +13.5 63 DOSİNG?????

Status
Not open for further replies.
What about not shooting now and changing he shooting time in the morning, for example 7 am or something around that?
 
I would stall another 30 minutes. Is that okay with you?
Can you tell her to come up, she didn't listen to me :roll:
 
That may work. That's a good thought. What time is it were you live, right now? Almost 1:00am?
 
:YMHUG: i would be nervous also. it's good you can be late again tomorrow morning. i would also feel better if we saw the numbers rising before you shoot. will check back with you for the next number.
 
Could you shoot at 7:00am and 7:00pm? or maybe even 6:00am and 6:00pm? I don't know what your work schedule is.
 
so your question about the shot time - do you mean can you skip now and shoot early for the next shot?

yes, ordinarily you can shoot early for a shot after you've skipped one. i guess the question is whether or not it's best to skip now. you're almost 2 hours late now. how much early could you shoot in the morning from when you normally shoot?

what i'm asking is how many hours total there would be in between the last shot given and the next one if you did that.
 
Isil,

Yes, if you decide to skip tonight's shot you can shoot anytime you want in the morning, the earlier the better, the earlier you shoot the less time it will have been between shots, i.e., 6a.m. might be a +18 instead of shooting at her regular time which might end up being a +24. If you can work this back around a regular 12/12 schedule, it may be s/thg to consider, like Dyana suggests, 6a.m./6p.m. or 7a.m./7p.m.

I would be scared to shoot right now too, if you can get another test in a half hour we will take another look.

You are so devoted to Tifil, you are such a good Mama Bean!

P.S. I forgot to add: Tifil, come up girl! (not that she is likely to listen to me either!)
 
Remember, Isil, that how long you stall is dependent upon your schedule. So you can stall past +14 as long as it doesn't interfere with your schedule. Maybe by +14.5, she'll be up a little. As Desi said, she's surfing and I think you just want to see her come up a bit in that surf to shoot, right?

Julie, Dyana, and Desi are doing great....I just popped in to let you know that if time allows....you can stall longer than 2 hours.
 
I am back with our new number....
+14 63 again....

So this means I will shoot in the morning. Tomorrow at pmps I will be suitable at 6.30 pm...
So the earliest time I can shoot is 6.50 am....
I hope she won't be very high in the morning :(
 
one thing to consider is that it does take about 2 hours for the lantus effect to start in. so in reality, you are shooting the number that tifil will be at in 2 hours. if that makes sense.
 
By the way, the time is 1 am here, so my shooting time will be after 5.5 hours later...but after two days I will be at home at 7pm so I must change the time to 7 by stalling. And on fridays I come home at 8 pm, so I must stall to that time until then...
 
If I shoot tomorrow (monday) at 6.5 am , I have to go to 8 pm untill friday. It's one and an half hours....
 
no, i mean if you shoot at 6:30am on monday, how many hours total will that be from sunday's shot until monday morning's shot?

i'm concerned about skipping the shot, is my point.
 
ok. i don't know, isil. you have to make the call and you know your schedule and what you can accommodate the best. when you skipped the other day she got really high, but maybe without the dry food this time won't be as bad. i'd want to get some food in her right away now no matter what.

hugs! i hope you can get some sleep still.
 
I just wish you could keep stalling and the second you see her numbers going up, just a little (maybe 20 points), that you could shoot then. But, alas, we do need to work with what is possible with your schedule.
You know, once you feed her, tonight, her numbers will go up.
 
Thank you very much everybody...It was wonderful not being alone here and to decide on my own...
I owe you people a lot...
I am kissing everyone and hugging all of you....Tıfıl and I love you...
Big big big big kisses again.... :smile:
 
Dyana I am going to test her again, if it's high I will think of shooting no matter what my plan is tomorrow...I can also ask the vet to shoot tomorrow, no problem :)
 
Isil: if you are still there, please consider what Dyana said. It's so important to get insulin into a DKA kitty. I'm very concerned about you skipping and stalling even until +19.5. Dyana is right that
her numbers will go up when you feed her and I'd feed her some higher carb food and then test. Of course, that keeps you up the rest of the night......

Your decision ....just throwing out more thoughts to back up Dyana and Julie :-D
 
Isil, if you are able to shoot at + 19.5 hrs in the morning (next shot), then will you be able to shoot @ +12 tomorrow night?

Then b/c your work schedule and working toward Friday, if you can move her shot times around by 15 minutes you should be in good shape by Friday, i.e., Monday a.m. shot @ +19.5, p.m. shot @ +12, Tues a.m. at +11.45, Tues p.m. @ +11.45, so now you've gained a half an hour toward Friday's shot. Or am I going the wrong way? It would be +12.15, not +11.45, right? yes, it would be adding 15 minutes to get to 8 p.m. by Friday, right?

Dyana, help, this part I am really not good at!

Isil, if you happen to get up b4 6:30 for whatever reason try to get a spot check and if you see she is rising, you can decide if it's OK to shoot. Even if it's 4 a.m., and even if you can't shoot at 4 p.m. Monday, maybe you can shoot at 6.30 p.m., that would be 14.5 hrs between shots instead of +19.5 and then +12.

Does any of this make any sense at all?
 
a_978bc93d.jpg

Oh, Please be higher, Tifil.
 
However i would like to add that I agree completely w/Marje and it is very very important to get insulin into a DKA kitty, so the sooner you can shoot the better. We can worry about adjusting your schedule later.

I second that emotion too, Dyana.
 
The lantus will not have onset until about 2 hours after you shoot.
You will be feeding her, right away after your shoot, and that will make her numbers go up. You have HC if you need it.

If you shoot now, your vet will have to shoot her shot for you as it will be 1:30pm at twelve hours from now.
That would put you on a 1:30am and 1:30pm schedule. Is that doable, for now, anyways? Just a thought.
 
Does she normally, get her fluids at 1:00pm? Because if she does, then maybe shooting insulin and giving fluids at the same time may not be the right thing to do. I do not know that much about fluids, but have heard that they can lower the BGs. Your vet will test her, right?
 
They don't test her because tıfıl is really aggressive at the vet...
Tıfıl went to bed with my husband, it's the first time she got near to my husband, I can't believe my eyes :shock:

I will sleep now and I will wake up after 2 hours to see whats going on, if she is high I will shoot..if not I will shoot at 6.30 am...

I am kissing all of you, I think I have to sleep because this will be the 5th sleepless night for me if I don't sleep...

I will wake up during tje night to test her and if I see a rising number I won't hesitate to shoot..

kissing and hugging everyone....
 
This is a very nice surf she has going here.

I don't know if they can shoot when giving fluids or not. I believe Tawny was getting the constant drip insulin when she was getting fluids, which was closely monitored. This is quite different from using Lantus.

Isil, how much food do you think you can get into her? how much she eats will affect her #s and they should rise if you decide to shoot. Also remember the bounce factor. The DKA factor. I know, that is not much help. Sometimes I have simply filled the syringe with the full dose, taken a really deep breath, and shot. If I was able to monitor closely. Sometimes I have skipped, but w/the DKA history, the insulin is very very important. I don't know what to tell you, only you know your cat best.

I can tell you we will stay here w/you. I have to go feed my horses but I will be back in about 15 mins.
 
I know you like seeing her all cuddled in bed, and you want to sleep, too, but please be sure to give her her feeding, and make sure she eats. Food and insulin are what's important to fight ketones. We don't want those to come back.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top