01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198 +1=234 +3.5=218

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198

PMPS=198, shot 2.5 units. Wellness Beef and Chicken given.

WCR: doing just fine.

WBR: frantically trying to talk myself out of a "happy orange"...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175

wellllllll...... the nice thing about our protocol is that you have worked up to this dose slowly and safely, so you know it can't be too far off of the right dose. 48 is a fine number, 50's are easier but 40's aren't unhealthy for most cats. Some non diabetic cats live in the 40's all the time.

You can shoot whatever you want, Esse is your cat. :smile: I'm concerned, though, that if you decrease too far you'll just end up with the red/black spreadsheet again, instead of taking advantage of the breakthrough she is trying to earn.

I think someone has probably already pointed this out to you, but actually it is normal for our Lantus kitties to have an all of a sudden breakthrough like this. They give you a whole bunch of nothing for months, then all of a sudden a whole bunch of EVERYTHING. They don't give the bean enough time to get used to things. ;-)
 
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198

you can relax now,Michele!
No more poking those poor ears of Esse!
Have a Good night!
Bo
 
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198

I sucked it up and did a 2.5...I just hope I can get some sleep tonight...LOL, probably not. I mean, look at today. She was at 432; it doesn't get "safer" than that to leave or go to sleep. And yet...in short order, she was bottom feeding without warning. LOL.

I know it's normal for other cats to run around at 40 without any issues...I'm just not used to it w/ Essemama. Maybe what I need to do is poke everyone else; then again, if I find out one of the others is diabetic, I'd lose what's left of my poor brain...

Would someone please tell Esse that surfing at 100 or w/in 10 points is a good thing? Pleeeeeeeeeeeezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzeeeeeeeeee? She apparently reads these boards on occasion, gets the bright idea to actually let the insulin work, and freaks me out.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198

Michele and Esse said:
PMPS=198, shot 2.5 units. Wellness Beef and Chicken given.

WCR: doing just fine.

WBR: frantically trying to talk myself out of a "happy orange"...

Best-
Michele
Great job! I'm so proud of you and Esse. Maybe now this dose will work, unlike ... when was it ?? .... Oh yeah, YESTERDAY. Hee, hee. Just yesterday this 2.5 basically was doing nothing much. So let's hope the little kick in the pants.. er.. pancreas will make a nicer set of BG numbers. Looking forward to new better colors on your SS.

Now are you going to share that happy orange?
 
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198

Noooooooooooooooooooooooo....the orange is all mine. Mine, I say.

(hands CD a slice of it. And yes, you TOO can make these happy oranges at home. A sweet, adult treat! And NO-ONE will know!! [until you fall over on your face. Then people will know.]).

Was it really only yesterday? No...

Really?

Man, I can feel the grey sprouting all over my head now...

I wonder if this dose will work now...maybe, with the food change, it will do the trick. If so, let me caution the entire reading world - change one - ONE - factor at a time...that way, you won't end up trying to decide between HC and LC, surprised and waiting for that last digit to appear on the meter, wondering if 48 could possible, remotely, be right.

Sigh.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198

Yeah, easy to please is right.

Look, kids, I'm outta here for a while; Dad just called...his legs have swollen very quickly, and he's having a little trouble breathing, so I'm running over there to check him out.

I'll test and post later when I come home...but at least Esse has cooperated and gone high so i don't have to worry about her for a little bit, right?

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198

You are right, Don't worry about Esse for a while. Hope your Dad is okay. And, listen to Libby. Tuffy is an excellent example of a kitty that has finally gotten with the program. I think she was on 3.5 for what seemed like forever. Hang in there. Keep up the good work.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198

Wow, this is where the action is! Cats dropping 400 points, Beans shooting up oranges and "adulterating" egg nog (loved that word aldulterating). Can I stay and play here?

I know it was a scarey day for you - and I know the what if's are horrible (someday you should hear my story of when I dragged my first cat from my car when the leash got stuck in the door - can you say Family Vacation - what if's for years!!) but each of these types of days do make you more comfortable in dealing with the drops and the low surfs. It is funny, the more of these low surfs (awesome numbers by the way) you get - the more normal they will feel and you will have less panic and less compulsion to poke those ears every 1/2 - 3/4 hrs.

Congrats on the dosecrease and I hope the RBC doesn't last too long for you.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198

I know you'll think I'm crazy for saying this, but with Lucy I was actually MORE comfortable shooting blue than I was shooting pink. I knew she could drop like a rock from pink and end up in low green in no time. When I shot blue, she usually surfed right along. You just have to get to know your cat and her response. And grab early spot checks when you can so you can learn which types of cycles you need to watch more closely.

Good job today, I know you were nervous but you learned some things and got some good data. :smile:
 
Re: 01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198

Barbara, it was good I went over to Dad's. He'd taken a med with dinner that he had already taken this morning, and it caused some problems. Lucky for him I know the drill (he's done this before...), and soon had the right countermed in him, and he was feeling better; not great, but good enough to put up a stink fuss about going to the hospital. We compromised on calling the Dr. together tomorrow on the phone...and he knows I reserve the right to fuss him into submission should the need arise (I can do it, too...and he knows it). But his BP stabilized, and his heart sounds were good, and his lung fields o.k., so...well...we'll see.

Esse, otoh, has decided to drop to 218. Not significant drop, but it means I will stay up for at least another hour and test again before crawling into bed. There's plenty of food out, I'm just wondering if she's going to plummet again...I know I should be incredibly happy to see low yellow and blue, and yes, green...but it's just scary when you start the day well into Redland and end up miles and miles away in Greenland. It's hard to be happy when you're scared. LOL.

Yes, Joyce, I have all the adult action on this thread - adulteraing Egg Nog, happy oranges, and all sorts of weird music and movie references. Not to mention the kitty cat who loves rollercoasters...and gets a secret giggle when she sees my mouth agawp at a number with only two digits. I swear, she's just a laugh-riot. Blasted kitty...who can melt me in about a New York second with her golden eyes...you are more than welcome to stay and indulge in some vitamin c boosting fruit...anytime.

And yes, Libby, I do think you're crazy. In a good, kind, wonderful way of course, but crazy nonetheless.

Esse was a bit crabby when I poked her a few minutes ago...who can blame her? I've half a mind to quit the poking for the evening, and just get something first thing in the morning...opinions, please? I'm tired, and want to sleep, but am worried she'll drop again.

Best-
Michele
 
PMPS+4=213.

Thank you, everyone, for the encouragement, experience, help, and being Esse's Angels. She is currently squabbling with Oliver, who's been picking on literally everyone tonight...he is gonna get what he deserves from one of these older, regal ladies. But if I'm to make any sense whatsoever of anything at all, I need to get some rest.

I am a bit worried she'll drop low again tonight... with that, I'm going to put more food down (there will be plenty for her to eat...I'm leaving a lot more out than usual, because of earlier today), and we'll see how she is in the morning. I'm hoping she's going to sit and surf here a while...

Talk to you all in the morning...

Best-
Michele
 
Jill & Alex said:
ni-ni michelle...
sweet dreams!
Jill, I was terrified to open this and have you say "no, you need to stay up and test a lot more; every 15 minutes all night long, no matter what the numbers read." Not terrified that you'd say it...just terrified that if you said it, I'd actually do it.

Now, before you change your mind, I'm sooooooo outta here... :lol:

Best-
Michele
 
(((Michele))) You did wonderfully today. I know that drop must have been scary for you.

Fwiw, I'm all with Libby about preferring to shoot low numbers. Even when we get up into higher blue PS, Sasha drops fast. If I shoot a low blue or (my favorite) a pretty green, she keep surfing right along. The whole *shoot low to stay low* that we say around here really does have reasoning behind it.

Hope you are getting a very nice well deserved rest tonight and good luck with the new dose. :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top