01/07 Elsie; AMPS: 88; +2: 92; +4: 87; +6: 100; +8: 97

Kat & Elsie

Member Since 2023
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-5-93-6-122-7-137-10-111.284698/#post-3133824

Hi guys! I have been super busy with holidays and such, haven't been doing a good job with keeping updated here. I'm sorry!

Elsie is still showing good numbers. I decided to go up slightly on the dose to try and keep her in more greens, as she was still hitting some upper blues at AMPS & PMPS. She seems to be staying consistently in green between shots, and hasn't gone below 50 yet. If she does, of course I will reduce. Doing my best to stay on top of testing, now that the holiday events are over I should be able to resume a better consistency.

What exactly am I ultimately looking for here? I know if she stays normal & under 100 for at least a week I can start trying to reduce (do I have that right?) I don't plan to increase anymore since she seems to be doing well on her current dose. Do I just stay there and hope for her to even out more? Should I be testing more overnight? That one is hard for me, but I can do my best to get up in the night to test if you think that's a good idea. If her numbers are on the lower side before I go to bed, I have been giving her a small snack.

Thanks, as always.
 
Last edited:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-5-93-6-122-7-137-10-111.284698/#post-3133824

Hi guys! I have been super busy with holidays and such, haven't been doing a good job with keeping updated here. I'm sorry!

Elsie is still showing good numbers. I decided to go up slightly on the dose to try and keep her in more greens, as she was still hitting some upper blues at AMPS & PMPS. She seems to be staying consistently in green between shots, and hasn't gone below 50 yet. If she does, of course I will reduce. Doing my best to stay on top of testing, now that the holiday events are over I should be able to resume a better consistency.

What exactly am I ultimately looking for here? I know if she stays normal & under 100 for at least a week I can start trying to reduce (do I have that right?) I don't plan to increase anymore since she seems to be doing well on her current dose. Do I just stay there and hope for her to even out more? Should I be testing more overnight? That one is hard for me, but I can do my best to get up in the night to test if you think that's a good idea. If her numbers are on the lower side before I go to bed, I have been giving her a small snack.

Thanks, as always.
Good decision to increase and I know how exhausting this is so we do miss an evening of testing but just be cautious about increases when you don’t know how low the current dose is taking her. I probably would have waited one more cycle to be sure she wasn’t dipping lower.

Next: if she drops below 50, reduce by 0.25u. If she stays under 100, mostly, for a week, then reduce by 0.25u. To further clarify, although she had alot of BGs under 100 on the 2.25u+ dose, her AMPS and PMPS were daily and too high so the increase was reasonable. One other point I’d like to make and this is really illustrated on her SS. She didn’t look much different on 2.25u than 2.25+u. It’s best to increase and decrease in 0.25 increments for where her current dose is than it is to fatten or skinny the dose. We usually use that technique when the dose gets very small and remission is right around the corner.
 
Good decision to increase and I know how exhausting this is so we do miss an evening of testing but just be cautious about increases when you don’t know how low the current dose is taking her. I probably would have waited one more cycle to be sure she wasn’t dipping lower.

Next: if she drops below 50, reduce by 0.25u. If she stays under 100, mostly, for a week, then reduce by 0.25u. To further clarify, although she had alot of BGs under 100 on the 2.25u+ dose, her AMPS and PMPS were daily and too high so the increase was reasonable. One other point I’d like to make and this is really illustrated on her SS. She didn’t look much different on 2.25u than 2.25+u. It’s best to increase and decrease in 0.25 increments for where her current dose is than it is to fatten or skinny the dose. We usually use that technique when the dose gets very small and remission is right around the corner.
Thanks so much for your helpful response. I'm glad to know I am (mostly) on the right track. I will stick to the full 0.25+/- dose changes from now on! I think I was just a little nervous to go up by that much, and was not able to get on here to double check, so just to test it out I started lower. For her AM dose today I did go ahead and bump it up the rest of the way to a full 0.25 increase (so, 2.5U instead of 2.25+) since I did notice there wasn't a lot of difference, like you said.

Just to make sure I have this right, it's any drop below 50 that warrants a decrease, DAY or NIGHT, correct?

Would daily updates here be better? Or just when things change?
 
Just to make sure I have this right, it's any drop below 50 that warrants a decrease, DAY or NIGHT, correct?
Yes day or night; however, we are cautious about taking back-to-back reductions. By that I mean if she earns a reduction by dropping under 50 during one cycle, you reduce by 0.25u and the very next cycle, she drops below 50 again, don’t take another reduction. That’s because the Lantus depot takes a bit of time to empty from the higher dose. Just ask for help you get into a situation like that.

Would daily updates here be better? Or just when things change?
I always think daily posting is valuable but it’s up to you.
 
Back
Top