01/07/13 Emmy AMPS=293,+4=77,

Status
Not open for further replies.

jennyb

Member Since 2012
On the wet food her nadiar seems to be lower and the beginniing and ends seem to be higher.
She didn't eat as much as yesterday, what do you do when that happens....you can't make a cat eat can you?
AMPS=293 .50 unit
+4=77gave a TBSP of food
+5=137
+6=247
+9=302
PMPS=253
+1=306
+4=146gave 1/2 tsp of food
+5=121
 
Re: 01/07/13 Emmy AMPS=293,

Hi guys ... Well unfortunately I don't have any answers for you .. thankfully mocha has always been a good eater ... maybe others will stop by and help figure out something for you .. have a great day!
 
Re: 01/07/13 Emmy AMPS=293,+4=77,? about dose?

I've switched to all wet food. I let her eat till she is full then I take the rest up. And I'm finding that her preshot is in the yellow then her nadir is in the green. Is this typical with wet food. she's only getting .50 unit. And I'm having to feed her a table spoon of food to bring her up a little every time. that's o.k. when I'm home, but I'm not always at home.

Im wondering if I should leave the remander of her uneaten food out. can cats self regulate, will she eat if she is low?
 
Re: 01/07/13 Emmy AMPS=293,+4=77,? about dose?

What you're seeing is a bit of bounciness. The insulin is pulling the numbers down, Emmy's liver and pancreas react to the lower numbers as though they're a dangerous range to be in by releasing a stored form of glucose (i.e., glucagon) and counterregulatory hormones, so numbers bounce up. This is a normal response. The good news is that Emmy is clearing the bounces quickly. (A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear. Some cats take even longer.)

I'd leave her food out. I add water to the kitties canned food. That way it doesn't dry out. I also feed several small meals vs. putting everything out all at once.

Given a teaspoon or so of food if numbers are dropping is a very good plan. It will, hopefully, encourage a surf. Given the size drop, I'd test again at +4.5 or +5.
 
Re: 01/07/13 Emmy AMPS=293,+4=77,? about dose?

Sienne and Gabby said:
What you're seeing is a bit of bounciness. The insulin is pulling the numbers down, Emmy's liver and pancreas react to the lower numbers as though they're a dangerous range to be in by releasing a stored form of glucose (i.e., glucagon) and counterregulatory hormones, so numbers bounce up. This is a normal response. The good news is that Emmy is clearing the bounces quickly. (A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear. Some cats take even longer.)

I'd leave her food out. I add water to the kitties canned food. That way it doesn't dry out. I also feed several small meals vs. putting everything out all at once.

Given a teaspoon or so of food if numbers are dropping is a very good plan. It will, hopefully, encourage a surf. Given the size drop, I'd test again at +4.5 or +5.

? you suggest several small meals, what do i do if i'm gonna be gone all day, is that just till the bounce is over?
also, if she eats in the afternoon I have a hard time getting her to eat when it's time for her PM shot. Open to suggestions for that?
 
Re: 01/07/13 Emmy AMPS=293,+4=77,? about dose?

A lot of us use automatic feeders, that we set up to open at specific times during the day (and night). Some people freeze wet food in portions and then leave a couple out to slowly thaw during the day. I used to do both, lately, I've just left a bunch of extra food out in bowls.
 
Re: 01/07/13 Emmy AMPS=293,+4=77,? about dose?

Sienne and Gabby said:
What you're seeing is a bit of bounciness. The insulin is pulling the numbers down, Emmy's liver and pancreas react to the lower numbers as though they're a dangerous range to be in by releasing a stored form of glucose (i.e., glucagon) and counterregulatory hormones, so numbers bounce up. This is a normal response. The good news is that Emmy is clearing the bounces quickly. (A bounce can take up to 72 hours to clear. Some cats take even longer.)

I'd leave her food out. I add water to the kitties canned food. That way it doesn't dry out. I also feed several small meals vs. putting everything out all at once.

Given a teaspoon or so of food if numbers are dropping is a very good plan. It will, hopefully, encourage a surf. Given the size drop, I'd test again at +4.5 or +5.


just wondering if maybe my meter tests lower than others or Emmy just doesn't like BG low as some, is every kitty different. Because that first low green she had a while back on the third, she looked really spacey. When I woke her she responded very slowly like she was in a deep sleep. Thought that was odd.
 
What glucometer are you using for testing? Depending on your glucometer, she might actually be lower than the glucometer is telling you and that might be why you were seeing signs of possible hypo even though she never dropped lower than 56.

With Michelangelo, I've used a few different meters and some of them read slightly higher/lower than others. He's gone as low as 38 on the ReliOn Prime, 24 on the ReliOn Micro (which reads low anyway), and 45 on the Accu-Chek Nano. Not a single one of those times did he ever act weird or seem like he might be hypo. I fed him, of course, to prevent him from going any lower, but Mikey seems to be able to run normally at fairly low numbers.

ECID (Every Cat Is Different), so also it's quite possible that she could have a higher "safe number" threshold than most cats.
 
KPassa said:
What glucometer are you using for testing? Depending on your glucometer, she might actually be lower than the glucometer is telling you and that might be why you were seeing signs of possible hypo even though she never dropped lower than 56.

With Michelangelo, I've used a few different meters and some of them read slightly higher/lower than others. He's gone as low as 38 on the ReliOn Prime, 24 on the ReliOn Micro (which reads low anyway), and 45 on the Accu-Chek Nano. Not a single one of those times did he ever act weird or seem like he might be hypo. I fed him, of course, to prevent him from going any lower, but Mikey seems to be able to run normally at fairly low numbers.

ECID (Every Cat Is Different), so also it's quite possible that she could have a higher "safe number" threshold than most cats.

freestyle light is the meter I'm using.
 
I don't know as I've never used one, but a lot of people on here don't find the freestyle meters as reliable. Maybe get a second meter and test it out to see if it shows different numbers? If you're in the US, Walmart has the ReliOn Prime where the strips only cost $9 for 50.
 
just checked my meter the freestyle against my DAd's meter onetouch ultra mini on myself and they were the same roughly.

I lowered her dose, think it was too high.
how low of a does can you give??

At what point is it so insignificant that there is no point?

the food she's on now has 5.5% carbs Whiskas chicken dinner pate. I know there are wet foods with even lower carbs, if I put her on those would she even need insulin?
 
Jenny

I wouldn't have lowered her dose again yet since you were feeding canned food with the .5u dose and she didn't go that low. Many of our kitties very safely run in the 50s and some like the 40s. It would have been better to leave her dose at .5u until she dropped below 50 once. You are doing a great job of testing and will likely catch the low numbers.

You can see how she does on the .25u if you want since you took her down but if she's not getting back down into green when she clears her bounces, I'd take her right back up to .5u. Don't wait too long or she could lose momentum.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top