01/05 Baby G AMPS 199 PMPS 136 +1 135, +2 121, +3 132, +4 130, +5 111

babyg

Member Since 2019
Previous
Good morning! TGIF!! :D
Ugh, I barely got any tests in last night because I wasn't expecting her to so quickly break that 316 we got earlier in the evening, yet here we are!
Hope everyone has a great Friyay.
 
I am dying laughing and thought it too funny I needed to share. So Baby G gets a bowl of canned food and a bowl of dry food. They each have their own separate placemats and locations. I don't know what I was thinking but this morning I accidentally switched them and put the canned food in the dry foods spot and vice versa. So of course my dry food addict runs first thing to the "dry food" bowl and I was wondering why her body language was different and she wasnt purring like she normally does lolol!! :D:joyful::smuggrin: then later when I was cleaning out her litterboxes and I was surprised to see her eating out of the "wet food" bowl so soon, I realized my mistake Haha. Switched them back to their usual spots. Poor kitty got thrown for a loop this morning. :p
 
Try not to panic :bighug: although I know you have some anxiety when seeing lower preshots. Have you tested again? Are you able to monitor, do have enough test strips and high carb food if you need it?
 
I tested her again right before the shot and got 138. I'll put her tests in the title since I'll update the spreadsheet on my computer in the morning, but so far she's staying steady. I was all for trying only a 10% reduction experiment next if between 150-200, but with her being less and not rising and my not having much time to stall and no responses, I panicked and gave the tried and true safe half dose. What may help for future occasions is if her preshot is below 150 and not rising...given her data and history thus far... what would be a preshot where it's like yes, definitely do a reduction and don't do the full dose? Like you've said before too, there's meter variance to consider as well, so because of that I understand there can't be a true exact cutoff number, so I try not to be too anal about it. I just love decision trees and having an organized plan of action makes me feel better prepared and more calm.
 
It is totally okay, you ultimately have to be comfortable. I would love to be able to have a decision tree too, but when dealing with cats, it’s not so cut and dry ;). How about slowly trying to reduce the level where you are comfortable, especially when you are around to monitor? Maybe just mentally pick a lower preshot number that you are willing to try when you can monitor and intervene if necessary. Remember, SLGS already has safety measures built in and you are in more control than you think when you can test and intervene with carbs if required.
 
Back
Top