01/04 Tigg AMPS 191 +2 175 +4.25 56 +6 97 +10 373

Sydney & Tigg (GA)

Member Since 2024
So Tigg hit a new low score today; his preshot number was on the low side for him at 191 so I was expecting him to hit the greens around the +4 to +6.

When I tested him before his midday meal at +4.25 he was down to 56. The vet had advised that I might want to give him honey if he is lower than 70. He was hitting the 600s a little less than a month ago so when I saw he was at 56 today, I added a dab of corn syrup on top of his after-testing treat (a thumbnail sized piece of baked, freezer burnt trout).

I then gave him his normal midday meal and tested again in 15 and 30 minutes later. He was going up and my next test at +6 was 97 which seemed like a good number to me.

When I tested him at +9.25 he had jumped up to 306. I tested 15 minutes later and got 356, and just tested a minute ago getting 373.

This seems like such a huge jump that I'm not sure what to do for his next shot. Did I overdo it with the corn syrup, is he bouncing, a mix of both?
 
When using a human meter, and for someone following TR for dosing, our reduction point is below 50. Maybe your vet was thinking AT with the suggestion of 70? So yes, you probably overdid the corn syrup. Do you have any high carb wet food at home you could use instead? It's easier to measure small amounts than with corn syrup. With the thickness of corn syrup, it's harder to get a small drop, which is about all I used

A question for you about dosing methods. TR requires a minimum of two tests per cycle, the preshot and one other later on. It looks like you can't always get PMPS tests or tests at night. Is that true? If so, you'll have to switch to SLGS for dosing. TR is a more aggressive protocol but those extra tests are what makes it safe to follow. If following SLGS, then any number under 90 means a 0.25 unit reduction in dose.

He's likely bouncing as that 56 is the lowest you have recorded. The corn syrup probably made him go up faster than he would have otherwise. But syrup lasts typically a couple hours, you would his numbers come down after it had worn off if it was just the effects of the corn syrup.

The link to your last post here, which we include for continuity: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-18-tigg-amps-148-vomiting-wont-drink.296702/
 
Yes, I have a few cans of gravy flavours, they are all between 12-15% carbs.

There have been a few times where my alarms didn't wake me up or I couldn't for the life of me get a PMPS, Tigg just wouldn't bleed enough for a test.

I have been thinking I might need to switch to SLGS. I am starting a new job soon and won't be home with him all day. I had this last month and a half off work and wanted to get his diabetes somewhat under control while I would be home all day. Is there anything extra I should do when I switch or can I just start following SLGS tomorrow?

I thought I read somewhere that a bounce will last for a few cycles, am I remembering that correctly or should it only last a day or so?
 
Bounces can last up to six cycles. As cats get more used to lower numbers, the length of time may shorten.

If you want to switch to SLGS, just update your signature and spreadsheet to say that's the dosing method you are following. We do however, have people who work full time jobs and manage their cats diabetes. This post has some tips that can help regardless of dosing method followed: Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!

If you are having problems getting his ears to bleed, try a larger size lancet. We recommend gauge 26 or 28 to start. I also found a light smear of vaseline on the ears helped the blood bead up.
 
I've updated that now, I think SLGS will be best until I have figured out what our routine looks like.

That may be why I have trouble sometimes, I have 32 gauge lancets right now, I'll try larger ones.
 
Back
Top