MumfsFriend
Member Since 2021
Dear all,
So my sugar cat and I are still at it. As per the vet’s orders I had reduced Mumf to one unit over Christmas and once his blood glucose was on the rise again, the vet had to me back to 1.25 units. Now we’ve had the issue that he keeps dropping and staying low, then bouncing back the next day.
I’ve had some low pre-shot values where I’ve had to decrease the dose to one unit and now I gave him a full dose tonight and he’s at 97 at +3.5. He’s feeling well and I’m feeding him something now, will look at his sugar again in about 30 minutes. But I also technically will have to go to bed in the next two hours (won’t if he keeps dropping obviously). The vet wants to see him in two weeks to have a look at his fructosamine…
I am wondering if I should really reduce him to one unit in general. He seems to be reacting strongly and bouncing quite a bit. The vet said to keep him at 1.25 unless he has a pre-shot of 150 or lower but looking at the way he’s dropping now, I’m not sure I should do that. I will talk to the vet again tomorrow but I wanted to see if anyone has any ideas on the spot. Thank you.
So my sugar cat and I are still at it. As per the vet’s orders I had reduced Mumf to one unit over Christmas and once his blood glucose was on the rise again, the vet had to me back to 1.25 units. Now we’ve had the issue that he keeps dropping and staying low, then bouncing back the next day.
I’ve had some low pre-shot values where I’ve had to decrease the dose to one unit and now I gave him a full dose tonight and he’s at 97 at +3.5. He’s feeling well and I’m feeding him something now, will look at his sugar again in about 30 minutes. But I also technically will have to go to bed in the next two hours (won’t if he keeps dropping obviously). The vet wants to see him in two weeks to have a look at his fructosamine…
I am wondering if I should really reduce him to one unit in general. He seems to be reacting strongly and bouncing quite a bit. The vet said to keep him at 1.25 unless he has a pre-shot of 150 or lower but looking at the way he’s dropping now, I’m not sure I should do that. I will talk to the vet again tomorrow but I wanted to see if anyone has any ideas on the spot. Thank you.