01/04 Millie/AMPS 157/3U/+1 211/

Heidi n' Millie and...

Member Since 2022
FS Liibre3: AMPS 246

Because Millie's appetite had decreased to just a little more than nothing(despite 5 days of ondansetron and mirataz), and she looked/acted so miserable, the vet worked me in at the end of the day yesterday. The intention was to pull a pancreas test and possible ultrasound. She has maintained her weight through the last few days and actually gained a few ounces. Both vets came to examine, feel around, etc... Bottom line, I was going to have to make decisions about what I can afford to do. It's the whole fixed income thing. Yes, I have Care Credit but, eventually, it has to be paid. Anyway, the thorough pancreas test would be $175 and to do the ultrasound that could be more conclusive, it would have to be scheduled with the mobile ultrasound folks and that would be about $700. The have inhouse US but, evidently, things like liver, pancreas, etc... are more involved than what they do. Since she has not lost any weight, is still eating a small amount (no need to obsess about hepatic lipidosis, yet), she is going to be treated like she has some chronic pancreatitis and see how she fares. We also now have cyproheptadine, if the mirataz doesn't seem to be doing it, and the doc gave her gabapentin for any belly pain she might be experiencing. She didn't seem tender at all but she was laying splayed out yesterday, holding her tail at a funny angle. Within a few hours she seemed like she felt better and she ate a little more than she had. She actually cleaned up her PM meal during the night and was crying for food this morning. Because of the drastic reduction in appetite, her dose is at 3, as I am afraid of hypo with so little food in her system. It seems to have worked out, as I am not seeing those wild swings I was getting. Because I was so stressed, and obsessed, I am not compulsively testing and trying to use the Libre to look at curves instead. Her curve looks good, more level, none of those way lows and therefore no big bounces. I guess because, up until now, she has had such a good regular appetite, this freaked me out...just like those really low numbers. I'm a little concerned that I have to work all weekend but no choice there. I have a recondiditoned version of my 5-year old phone coming tomorrow or Friday. (I ordered the first one in haste and it won't work, so had to return it.) I will leave one of them at the house to take Millie's numbers and can connect with the other, to the app, and be able to monitor her numbers real time. It's a 20-minute drive home so I don't know if it makes any difference that I can monitor real time, but it makes me feel better. I can't continue to test as compulsively as I have been. The strips and the sleep deprivation were taking a toll on my wallet and my psyche.
 
Last edited:
upload_2023-1-4_10-20-10.png


BG numbers average about 60 points less than Libre numbers but the difference gets smaller, the lower they go. So, her BG curve would be lower than this. Eventually, I will get it figured out...maybe.
 

Attachments

  • upload_2023-1-4_10-20-10.png
    upload_2023-1-4_10-20-10.png
    65.5 KB · Views: 81
Last edited:
Back
Top