01/03 Willow PMPS 110, +3 63, +3.5 63,+4 61

nslade001

Member Since 2018
yesterday

Hello all, hope everybody and their babies are doing well :)
I have no idea if we missed a dip because we didn't test after her +5 (101) last night, and this morning is lower than yesterday's amps, but she's doing great so hopefully she just surfed around there. I know we all needed the sleep (Willow included! She does not like being woken for pokes lol) and Willow's ears need as much of a break as they can get. Hoping for another green day!
With love, nikki

AMPS 6.2 (112)
1.25 U Lantus
+3 4.6 (83)
+5 6.1 (110)
+9 4.9 (88)
PMPS 6.1 (110)
1.25 U Lantus
+3 3.5 (63)
+3.5 3.5 (63)
+4 3.40(61)
 
Last edited:
Willow is looking good. If you are able to, you can leave some LC food out on night's like last night to keep Willow surfing.

Thank :) I didn't know if it might also drive her sugar up? She doesn't seem to spike much, though, if the +1s are anything to go by.
How much can be left out to help surf? Would just a tsp every few hours prevent a dip, or do you need more? We don't want to overfeed as well...and she'll eat whatever is out!
With love, Nikki
 
You'll have to experiment and make notes on how much you leave out. You can start with a teaspoon and see. ECID.
 
Hi there! Willow just hit 63 at +3. I'm not sure if she'll drop much more; sometimes she does, but sometimes at night her nadir appears to be +3. Either way, she just had another (scheduled) meal of 1/4 can FF pate with added pumpkin, and she will have another 1/4 can at +4.
Will anyone be around to hand hold if she drops down? We're thinking of checking again in 30 minutes, or does that seem too early at this point? (I'm a worrier and test more often than I should, and her ears are beginning to show it).
Thanks so much, with love, Nikki
 
I'll check in on you but I think you have a good plan

You might want to hold off on the +4 feeding IF her numbers are OK at the next test....You don't want her to be too full to eat later if you need her to
 
I'll check in on you but I think you have a good plan

You might want to hold off on the +4 feeding IF her numbers are OK at the next test....You don't want her to be too full to eat later if you need her to
Hi there, thanks!
So at +3.5 (after that meal) she's holding at 63.
I'll check her at +4. Normally she'd eat a meal then. If she's holding or rising, you think I should hold off feeding until the following test?
And if she's dropped, should I feed her normal food or a high carb?
Thanks so much!
 
If she's holding or rising, you think I should hold off feeding until the following test?

Yeah, if she's still surfing, you could hold off a little while or if she's a really good eater and you know she'll eat more later, you could give her a small snack (like a teaspoon or two) just to encourage her to continue surfing.

Those are beautiful numbers tonight!!

If she were to drop below 50 (on a human meter), that's when you'd want to pull out something HC to bring her back up a little
 
Yeah, if she's still surfing, you could hold off a little while or if she's a really good eater and you know she'll eat more later, you could give her a small snack (like a teaspoon or two) just to encourage her to continue surfing.

Those are beautiful numbers tonight!!

If she were to drop below 50 (on a human meter), that's when you'd want to pull out something HC to bring her back up a little

Wonderful, thanks! I don't mind the 3.5, but would be more comfortable with it a bit later in the cycle lol
I'm a bit confused about how it works tho. The hypo sheets I printed off say if she drops to 60 (3.3) I have to start feeding for hypo treatment; but the TR protocol says I'm fine to 50 (2.8) and that's where I feed and also where she earns a reduction.
It seems a bit confusing to me.
 
Hello again, her +4 is 61, down from 63, so we fed her as normal. She eats like a horse, or would if we fed her, so appetite isn't a concern right now.

So to clarify for me (sorry!), at her 63 (or above 50) I'm to feed as normal but not extra, so as not to artificially inflate her number with food? Just let her BG carry on as it will, and if it falls to 50 then yay! a reduction (and HC to bring up)?

One more quick question....she's still drinking and peeing like a racehorse, and ravenous too. Shouldn't these symptoms have improved since she's fairly regulated?

With love, Nikki
 
I'm to feed as normal but not extra, so as not to artificially inflate her number with food? Just let her BG carry on as it will, and if it falls to 50 then yay! a reduction (and HC to bring up)?

Exactly!!

One more quick question....she's still drinking and peeing like a racehorse, and ravenous too. Shouldn't these symptoms have improved since she's fairly regulated?

She's still fairly new so I wouldn't worry about that too much but have you had her kidney's and thyroid checked?

And another question! Testing in 1/2 hour again?

Yes
 
She's still fairly new so I wouldn't worry about that too much but have you had her kidney's and thyroid checked? [/QUOTE said:
Yes, they were fine as of Nov 12 , when she was diagnosed diabetic.

Thanks yet again, will post soon with her 4.5. Were you planning on being up much longer?
With love, Nikki
 
Hi, she's still at 61 at 4.5. I'll retest at +5.
Thanks so much for being here :) Bron and Sheba helped me the other night as well. You guys are awesome lol!
 
Thanks for your help Chris!
Hello again, @Bron and Sheba , Willow's +5 is up from 3.4 (61) to 3.6 (65). I'll test again in 1/2 hour.
I was really hoping for a bit of a drop for a reduction lol. Her poor ears.
With love, Nikki
 
Ok. It sounds like a good plan. So she ate last at +4 which was a routine feed for her. Is that right?
yes, it was her last meal of the night, 1/4 can FF pate at +4. She gets two small cubes of chicken at +9. We do have an automatic feeder, if you recommend any other plan for tonight.
With love
 
Hi, Willow's +5.5 is up, from 3.6 (65) to 3.8 (68). Do you think it's safe to go a bit longer between tests and, if so, when do you recommend the next test be?
She has such a beautiful, gentle curve :)
 
I’d give her a low carb snack and test again in half an hour. You are doing a great job keeping her safe:D
We call this a pyjama party!
I thought that we weren't supposed to give extra food unless the BG dropped under 50, to see how she does without artificially inflating her numbers? And that way she might or might not earn a reduction? I just want to be clear on how this works, since I'm so new to this and find the feeding a bit confusing...
Thanks so much!
 
Hello again, so I didn't feed (I forgot while I was waiting lol) and now shes up a teensy bit from 3.5 (63) to 3.6 (65) at +7.
On the upside, I poked the inside of her ear and it didn't seem as tender as the back, so hopefully that wasn't a fluke and I have more ear space to poke. Sigh.
So, what do you recommend?
Thank you so much for this, I appreciate it so very much. With love.
 
I thought that we weren't supposed to give extra food unless the BG dropped under 50,
It's fine to give a little low carb food. It can actually help them surf. It's this high carb food we reserve for under 50. And Willow has actually been doing a great job surfing tonight.

ETA: all the numbers the last few hours have been within meter variance.
 
It's fine to give a little low carb food. It can actually help them surf. It's this high carb food we reserve for under 50. And Willow has actually been doing a great job surfing tonight.

ETA: all the numbers the last few hours have been within meter variance.
Aaaah, thank you. That's more clear to me. We don't really want to give her too much extra food, as she's gained a bit of weight and we're trying to cut back, but the occasional night shouldn't make a difference I think. So would the food help actually help keep her BG from rising by causing her pancreas to kick in a bit, if her pancreas is working some? With love
 
So for the next test should I wait an hour or less or more? She occasionally dips at +9 I think. With love
 
You don’t need to give her a lot. Just a teaspoon or two of low carb when they are in green numbers can help them surf in green numbers. Not every hour just to get them started or if they dip.
 
I’d give her a small low carb snack and test at + 9. Are you comfortable with that? If you feel you need to test at + 8 you can do that.

Thank you. I just tested her since we're going to bed... it's +7.5 and she's up again to 3.7 (67) from 3.6 (65)
We gave her a couple tsp of her regular food, and will retest at +9.
I have a feeling tomorrow I'll be shooting my first green AMPS...I hope it's reasonably high. I'll definitely be asking for assistance if she is still green!
Thank you, thank you, thank you. Have a great day :) With love, Nikki
 
All those numbers are really all the same with the meter variance. So she has had a great cycle
Yes you might be shooting your first green in the morning. Willow is doing extremely well for a new FD kitty.
See you at + 9:D
 
Back
Top