01/03 - Ti-Mousse - AMPS: 436; +6: 547; PMPS: 562;

You could be seeing a little of what we call New Dose Wonkiness today. It’s a phenomenon where you see temporarily higher numbers shortly after the increase, as the depot builds. You should see him going down soon.
 
Last edited:
You could be seeing a little of what we call New Dose Wonkiness today. It’s a phenomenon where you see temporarily higher numbers shortly after the increase, as the depot builds. You should see her going down soon.
Thank you so much, another thing I didn't know; I'll remember for next dose increase.:)
 
Hi Lyane and welcome to the L,B,& L forum.

The New Dose Wonkiness can occur on the 2nd or 3 cycle after the increase and should only last 24 hours.


What a wonderful home that Ti-Mouse landed at to take care of him. So very sorry about part of his ear missing. That can make testing an issue to rotate ears. The paw pads are another testing site. I had to resort to the paw pads a few weeks ago when Bubba's ears were raw so very sore due to a yeast infection. And, it wasn't easy at first , but we did manage until the ears healed. So, it's a possibility for you.

I hope you'll see some better numbers soon.
 
Hi Lyane and welcome to the L,B,& L forum.

The New Dose Wonkiness can occur on the 2nd or 3 cycle after the increase and should only last 24 hours.


What a wonderful home that Ti-Mouse landed at to take care of him. So very sorry about part of his ear missing. That can make testing an issue to rotate ears. The paw pads are another testing site. I had to resort to the paw pads a few weeks ago when Bubba's ears were raw so very sore due to a yeast infection. And, it wasn't easy at first , but we did manage until the ears healed. So, it's a possibility for you.

I hope you'll see some better numbers soon.
If I understand well: he started a dose increase yesterday morning, today was his 3rd cycle; so he could be very high until tomorrow! I was maybe planning another dose increase tomorrow, but I'll give him a little break and seek advices.

As for the testing, I can't rotate ear and even the good one has bits missing, not easy and now when he sees me coming he hides! He's quite brilliant... I just did the PMPS 562 :-((
 
Always have patience when you do a dose increase. The "depot" needs to recalibrate before the numbers begin to come down and the new dose settles in.

Good job on the link to your last condo and the nice, easy to read title line! :)
 
Generally speaking, you should wait for 6 12-hour cycles (3 days) before contemplating another increase. You don't want to increase too quickly, because you might bypass a good dose.

I always tested Rusty on the same ear.
I'll wait at least 3 days as you said and ask for advice then. Tonight at the PS, I don't know what I did wrong but he was bleeding so much... I had tears in my eyes and felt so sorry for him. I still have one more test in +2; I think I might leave him alone for tonight and just put some Polysporin on his little ear.
 
:) :cat:
Welcome... you will feel comfortably and at home here with so many caring and helpful peeps :bighug: in L&L land
Thanks for the welcome! As for my Ti-Mousse, he's a ZEN cat, so calm, no stress... until 3 weeks ago when I started poking his little ear anytime during the day.... now poor thing, he's hiding when he sees me coming!
 
not easy and now when he sees me coming he hides! He's quite brilliant
I just went through this with Bubba. He has a nasty yeast infection and his ears were quite sore. On top of that, he developed allergies to two of his proteins he was eating ( that probably caused the yeast infection) and he was scratching himself raw. He was doing the same thing, running from me and hiding in the basement. STRESSFUL! He just recently in the last 24 hours stopped hiding and is back on the main floor with us. Happy Momma! So, I get it.......
 
Funny you say that, I noticed Ti-Mousse was scratching his ear since a few days. How did you find out what he was allergic to ?
I took chicken away first as it is a very common allergy. He got a little better, but not completely, so then I consulted my AC and she told me he was allergic to chicken, pork and the S. Boulardii probiotics I was giving to him. And then bingo! He stopped breaking out in a rash. We are still doctoring the scabs to keep him from scratching.

Yeast infections will happen as a response to allergies. His ears got so red and inflamed and then this crusty stuff started appearing on the inside of his ears. It was nasty.

I will be glad to share any information about the eye surgery that I have. It was a very upsetting time for us, but we got through it.
 
I took chicken away first as it is a very common allergy. He got a little better, but not completely, so then I consulted my AC and she told me he was allergic to chicken, pork and the S. Boulardii probiotics I was giving to him. And then bingo! He stopped breaking out in a rash. We are still doctoring the scabs to keep him from scratching.

Yeast infections will happen as a response to allergies. His ears got so red and inflamed and then this crusty stuff started appearing on the inside of his ears. It was nasty.

I will be glad to share any information about the eye surgery that I have. It was a very upsetting time for us, but we got through it.

The DM canned food prescribed by the vet is pork; I'll start with that as he never had any problems before and he always had chicken. I'll keep on with low-carb and remove pork at first; we'll see.
As for the surgery, I hope he won't need it but if so, I might get back to you for a few tips... Thanks again for all the info!
 
Tonight at the PS, I don't know what I did wrong but he was bleeding so much... I had tears in my eyes and felt so sorry for him.
You hit a capillary. This happens from time to time. It is nothing to worry about. When I tested Rusty I always held a gauze pad against the spot on the inside of the ear that was opposite where I was poking from the outside. After getting the blood drop I would immediately fold the gauze pad over the ear and apply pressure. This stops the bleeding. Then apply a little antibiotic ointment with pain relief.
Do you put a little vaseline on the ear before doing the poke? This will help the blood drop to form up.

Ti-Mousse's ear will soon get used to being poked. It is often said that cats' ears have developed insensitivity over the centuries because when cats fight they always go for the ears!

I hope you get some better numbers today.
 
You hit a capillary. This happens from time to time. It is nothing to worry about. When I tested Rusty I always held a gauze pad against the spot on the inside of the ear that was opposite where I was poking from the outside. After getting the blood drop I would immediately fold the gauze pad over the ear and apply pressure. This stops the bleeding. Then apply a little antibiotic ointment with pain relief.
Do you put a little vaseline on the ear before doing the poke? This will help the blood drop to form up.

Ti-Mousse's ear will soon get used to being poked. It is often said that cats' ears have developed insensitivity over the centuries because when cats fight they always go for the ears!

I hope you get some better numbers today.

Do you put a little vaseline on the ear before doing the poke?
Yes I start with vaseline and finish with Polysporin specially last night. A capillary.... Interesting explanation for the insensitivity of the ears!
 
Back
Top