01/03 Gizmo PMPS=192, +1=151, +2=60, +2.5=44, +3=87, +3.5=92, +4=82, +5.5=89, +11=190

Status
Not open for further replies.
Ok, I now have a few minutes. I did shoot 1.25u this morning. He is bouncing so felt comfortable doing so.

No one thinks you are trying to be difficult, Lizzie. Trust me. We get it! We have all all been where you are. It's easy for me to say, with hindsight, that you don't have to worry. I was a bucket of nerves so many times when I had to leave my boys. It all boils down to the fact that you hold the syringe and you know your baby. You need to make the decisions that you are most comfortable with. No one will judge you. We are just giving you the benefit of our experience, and you get to choose what to use and what not to. We'll support you, no matter what! That's what families do.

Thank you so much. While my goal is remission (and I do think we will get there), I have to keep reminding myself that it is a marathon not a sprint. We will get there when we get there.

Before vacation I was lowering the dose starting Sunday night and then bringing it back up on Friday AM or a PM depending on his Friday AM numbers. The last reduction for work (1.25u, down from 1.5u) stuck and we spent the first part of vacation at that dose (never went back to 1.5u). This seemed to work for us. It gave him (me?) a break during the week and him a boost for a couple of days. I would like to continue to do this if his numbers start to drop where I am uncomfortable shooting and leaving him.

I am going to see how this goes and take it one shot at a time.

Got to go finish getting ready for work. :bighug:
 
Nice sunny start for Gizmo. I hope he surfs safely today. When Furball was on insulin, I could not come home and check on her. All I could do was leave extra food out and pray she'd stay safe. I would wait for the weekends to raise the dose too.
 
After tfs he followed me upstairs and made a very smelly poo deposit right beside the LB (that is normal). It was solid but a little slimy/watery on the outside. But, whew did it stink. He did get a dose of SEB yesterday so that could be the slime. Any thing I should be worried about with the smell? He did have different food but that was on 12/31 could it still be that food?

The other change is the addition of B-12 (Methylcobalamin) which was started on 12/31 pm cycle.
 
I wouldn't get too concerned about it.
Not really too concerned and I am sure it not being in the LB magnified it. It isn't the first time he has had stinky poo but WOW:eek:. Lol. I need to be mindful of the SEB in the future too. He has always had very firm/hard so I am ultra aware of possible constipation but don't usually give him SEB two times in a row (am/pm) and did over the weekend.
 
Hey there Lizzie, As long as he is eating fine for you I wouldn't worry about the smelly poo but, if he stops eating it could be indicative of P'titis. Hope it's nothing, the other day Bubba gave me an especially smelly one.
 
+2 60

Rotated his +2.5 LC snack about 20 min early.

Should I break out the HC (to mix with LC for MC)?

Edit - I did. I put a scant teaspoon of HC in with his LC. Too early to be this low.
 
Oh boy. Looks like someone wants a pj party.

Id grab a test 30 minutes after that snack to see if it helped him stay on the surf board.
 
You will want to test every 30 minutes until you have gone 2 hours without any HC food.
 
He sure gets *****y when he has low numbers.:p

@Osha Tina, talk a food driven :eek:.
Haha! Well at least he has a 'tell' when he is low. Osha is just perfectly normal when she has been in the 30's.
Yay for being food driven! It sure makes this dance easier.
 
Haha! Well at least he has a 'tell' when he is low. Osha is just perfectly normal when she has been in the 30's.
Yay for being food driven! It sure makes this dance easier.
He has calmed down a bit for now but he is laying right in front of his feeder.
 
Gizmo!!! What are you doing out there playing with the sharks in the deep end of the lagoon??

Don't you know them sharks has teeth?....and they love kitty cats!!

Hop up on that surfboard and show us some moves, OK?
 
What are you doing out there playing with the sharks in the deep end of the lagoon??
Givin' mama a heart attack!

Question - with the reduction in the a.m. - will I need to worry about him dropping too low tomorrow during the day? More than likely he will bounce but he may not until tomorrow PM cycle. Like I have said - he is a little slow:rolleyes:
 
Givin' mama a heart attack!

Question - with the reduction in the a.m. - will I need to worry about him dropping too low tomorrow during the day? More than likely he will bounce but he may not until tomorrow PM cycle. Like I have said - he is a little slow:rolleyes:

It's difficult to say about tomorrow. The depot will still be in play. If he isn't bouncing and you are nervous, it is completely ok to give a BCS. Without being home to monitor, safety is first! Sometimes getting a +11 can help as well to see if he is rising or going down before AMPS.
 
If is bouncing, like he very well could be tomorrow morning, you might feel comfortable to go ahead and shoot the reduced dose of 1 u. If he is a little lower than you are comfy with, you could shot the reduced dose and give him some higher carb food right off the bat for his AMPS and leave him some snacks through the day. And if none of those options makes your comfortable to leave him, then Amanda's suggestion for the BCS dose of .5 is a good plan.

If you are unsure in the AM after you get the +11 and or AMPS put a ? mark in the title with dosing advice and I will look for you, I get up at 6 AM EST. And Carla @carfurby is always up too.
 
Are you able to see him through nadir around +6 just to makes sure he holds his own and doesn't drop again?
LOL. Do I have a choice. :p

Yeah, I will - no problem (maybe miserable tomorrow, but I will make it tonight).

So, If he has a higher AMPS than +11 go ahead and give 1u? If he has lower AMPS than +11 shoot 0.5U?
 
For me it is too difficult to know without seeing the actual numbers. I'd take Bobbie up on her offer and post in the morning with a ? if you are unsure what to do.

Gizmo could be any color of the rainbow tomorrow morning and I would take that into consideration along with the, is he rising or going down.

I know....not much help :confused:
 
Good catch and congrats on the reduction. Surf it Gizmo!:D
You will want to test every 30 minutes until you have gone 2 hours without any HC food.
I never tested that often if her numbers were up. I would give HC, then test again in 30 to make sure her numbers were coming up. Then if she was over 80, I'd go an hour to the next test. You do want to test again a couple hours after giving HC to make sure the numbers stay up when the HC wears up. If he's still on his way up after the HC has worn off, you don't need to keep up until nadir. Basically you want a couple of rising numbers without carb influence.

I agree with the others, see what he does in the morning before deciding whether it's 1 unit or less.
 
It has been 2 hours since HC with honey.

He just ate his +4.5 LC snack.

I will test in 45 min. That will be +5.5.

He will get another LC @ +6.5.
 
+5.5 89

He will get another LC snack in an hour. I think he is ok. I know he is done with being poked.

Hope I know what to do in the morning.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top