01/02 Gizmo PMPS=108, +1=142, +2=138, +3=125, +4=120, +5=147

Status
Not open for further replies.

LizzieInTexas

Very Active Member
01/01 thread

Got to sleep in a bit. We are having server thunderstorms this morning. One line rolled through right at 4:00 am and another is passing us right now. We have had over 1" of rain this morning.

Hoping beans have a restful day before returning to their real life (I am not looking forward to it :)) and kitties all surf nice and eat their fuds. :bighug:
 
Can the time of nadair change? Gizmo's seems to be further into the cycle recently. He used to be solid @ +5 - +5.5, now it seems closer to +6.
 
They don't want us to get to comfortable
Thanks! He has been pretty good about consistency over-all, but it seems to be creeping closer to +6 (just from my observation). I am thrilled with his numbers. I know Wendy wanted me to dose increase but I just am not comfortable with returning to work. Now I am wondering if I possibly missed the lower number because I wasn't testing so much after +5, +5.5. Oh well. At least this green is a solid green.

I probably need to change my signature to SLGS protocol. Plus change the food to more generic "LC" terms. I am noting what he is eating on his SS now since I am changing him over from FF (which is too high in phosphorus). I still have a case of the FF so will continue with it primarily for the next month or so but will intermingle the new food. Good news is there were NO poo issues with the switch between the new foods. I did add the SEB one morning after the "NO GRAIN" as I was worried about constipation - but the very next morning, right next to the LB (:banghead:) was a very nice deposit. - lol.

Off to go get a battery for my car. When it was cold a couple of weeks ago it cranked slow and I can-not-be stranded! Not with the tight schedule after returning to work (yuck).
 
Wow Gizmo is looking GREAT!!:cat::cat:
You aren't seeing things! Indeed the nadir can move and as Gizmo gets into lower numbers the cycles start to flatten out..the drops are flatter and the rises are flatter..
Hoping your quest for a new car battery goes well! Stay dry! :)

Yay for Green!!:D
 
Wow Gizmo is looking GREAT!!:cat::cat:
You aren't seeing things! Indeed the nadir can move and as Gizmo gets into lower numbers the cycles start to flatten out..the drops are flatter and the rises are flatter..
Hoping your quest for a new car battery goes well! Stay dry! :)

Yay for Green!!:D
How is Gussie today? Poor baby. :bighug::bighug:

I know how tough the no eating can be. Keep trying. Have you tried the FF shrimp and whitefish (again) recently? I was a complete basket case when Gizmo wouldn't eat. We are the only people that can get excited about an empty bowl.

I had fed him and he refused to eat and I had to go to the grocery store - when hubby got home he texted me a picture of the empty bowl which had been pushed clear across the kitchen floor. I stood in the grocery store and cried like a baby.

Another thing - have you tried on a completely flat plate?

Rain has long passed and it is sunny and beautiful out. In TX - if you don't like the weather, wait 15 min :D
 
How is Gussie today? Poor baby. :bighug::bighug:

I know how tough the no eating can be. Keep trying. Have you tried the FF shrimp and whitefish (again) recently? I was a complete basket case when Gizmo wouldn't eat. We are the only people that can get excited about an empty bowl.

I had fed him and he refused to eat and I had to go to the grocery store - when hubby got home he texted me a picture of the empty bowl which had been pushed clear across the kitchen floor. I stood in the grocery store and cried like a baby.

Another thing - have you tried on a completely flat plate?

Rain has long passed and it is sunny and beautiful out. In TX - if you don't like the weather, wait 15 min :D
Sounds beautiful!!
Totally relate to the crying like a baby:bighug:
I did start using a flat plate, worked for awhile..thx! He ate this morning a bit of good healthy food..sigh of relief! Thank you:bighug::bighug:
Love Gizmos belly!!:cat::cat::bighug: His numbers are looking good!! So nice to see:):cat::bighug:
 
PMPS 108

History:
AMPS=187, +1=235, +2=181, +4=109, +5.5=113, +6=82, +8=96, +9=97, +11=105

He got a couple of FD treats @ +11 and a shot of SEB in the PM meal. He was doing quite a bit of lip licking - more than likely stomach acid. Other than that he has had a beautiful day. Alert, active, involved, loving and obnoxious :p.

5 P's strongly in place.
 
So on this dance, do we just keep going up/down with the dose until the reduction holds?
Pretty much. There's a better chance of holding the reduction with TR when they go under 50. However, it's a marathon and not a race and most of the time we end up going up and down in dose a few times here and there. Many sometimes modify SLGS and take reductions around 70 which is lower than 90 but higher then under 50. It's really something you have to decide on for during the week.

When you shoot low their curves generally become flatter and Gizmo looks like he's learned to surf pretty good.
 
Thanks @Doodles & Karen.

One of my issues us I may never know his nadirs during the work week. Not here during the day and not awake at night. :confused:

I am seriously considering a pet sitter that can come check on him (and test). I have to call the vets tomorrow to arrange to get pain meds to have on hand (jic). I discovered his current bottle had a cracked lid and had leaked some out. It is expires in a couple of months too. So I may talk with Liz there and see if she can recommend someone. I already have a couple of names but they were not recommended by anyone.
 
I may.

Here is Gizmo sunning today.

20170102_143304.jpg
 
Very nice cycle today, Gizmo. Why did you wait until Mama has to go back to work to give her those pretty numbers? :facepalm: Now don't do anything dramatic tonight. Mama's gotta go to work tomorrow. :(

If you can find someone that can test around +5, that's great. Do you have an autofeeder so he can eat several small meals during the early part of the cycle? That will help keep him safe, too.

 
Yes, unfortuantly the nadir can change. BUT it has been my experience that it was not erratic. For instance: this time that Bubba is on insulin( since Nov) he has had a +6 nadir. Before that, he had a+12 nadir.........

I know how anxiety producing it has to be to go back to work and not know what is going on.

Your auto feeder is going to be your best friend. And if you can get a +2 before you eave for work you will get an indicator of how the cycle is going to be and you can leave food in the feeder appropriate to that number.
 
What scares me is what happened on 12/23 PM cycle. And we are back to the same dose that it happened on.
That evening you shot a falling number, an 80, so that could be a bit different from what might happen tonight, or any other time. He was going up at PMPS tonight, so I don't think you need to stress about that right now (easy for me to say).
 
Can the time of nadair change?
When Neko was on Lantus, she pretty much stuck to having her nadir from +3.5 to +13. :p Earlier if starting lower and looking for a reducie, later if breaking a bounce or getting really good duration. Otherwise, flip a coin. Many cats are not so creative on nadir times as my girl was. But I could usually tell where it was going to be based on her preshot and +3. The +2 didn't work for her.

Glad to see my dosecrease threat seems to have done the trick. ;):D Gizmo is now looking pretty good on this dose.
 
Before that, he had a+12 nadir.......
How did you ever manage that? Good lord.:banghead:
And if you can get a +2 before you eave for work you will get an indicator of how the cycle is going to be
Best I can get is +1.5 and literally run out the door.
I don't think you need to stress about that right now
It is not tonight I am worried about. My schedule (especially AM, but both) is really tight. I have little time to delay or question or ask for opinions.
 
Gizmo is now looking pretty good on this dose
He was before too, until he wasn't :D. Then we decreased and it didn't hold.

The 1.25u was supposed to be a temp decrease for exactly this reason (work) and he stayed on it for a long time (I think 12 days) before his drop below 50. But we were seeing blues and greens so that is why I stayed on it and didn't go back up to 1.5u. Now I am at the same situation.
 
How did you ever manage that? Good lord
It was actually easy once I understood it and realized that he was only going up from the pre shot number so it made shooting lower numbers easy.

If you are up and can get a +11 that would help to know if Gizmo is rising or dropping and if you needed to start him off with higher carb food before you leave for the day.
 
Good to know. But if I delay the shot by much I can't get more than a +1 or a tad more before I leave. See my problem?
I do see your problem. That is another reason a +11 is a good test to get. You will know if the number is rising or falling which will help at shot time.
 
I guess what I need to know/understand...

Is it better to reduce and be able to shoot consistently or risk skipping a shot? Me, personally, would rather reduce dose and have him keep getting the regular shots and not drain the depot. But that is my novice thinking and don't have any real knowledge of which is better.
 
Are you following SLGS? I kind of think you are except while you were on vaca and following TR. Correct?

I am not sure the answer to your question. Right now he looks like he is in nice safe numbers but, this is only the 5th cycle on this dose.

What does @Wendy&Neko or @Tricia Cinco(GA) & Harvey and @Chris & China think about that question? I tagged y'all as I know y'all are more the night crew.


eta: please read Lizzie's question above in post #32
 
The risk with reducing the dose is having him get used to higher numbers and have glucose toxicity set in. I would chose the risk of skipping a shot, because maybe you won't have to skip. More time in better numbers will reduce how high he bounces which makes flatter and more predictable cycles.

By my count, this was cycle 13 on this dose. And your signature still says "TR".
 
Correct. BUT I should have reduced based on his numbers this morning (below 90) and did not.

ETA- because he didn't hold his last reduction.
Okay, well you did what we call "shooting through the bounce" which means you shot the same dose the next cycle due to higher number and in this case that was the PM cycle and you can reduce by .25 and shoot 1 unit tomorrow morning.
 
The risk with reducing the dose is having him get used to higher numbers and have glucose toxicity set in. I would chose the risk of skipping a shot, because maybe you won't have to skip. More time in better numbers will reduce how high he bounces which makes flatter and more predictable cycles.

By my count, this was cycle 13 on this dose. And your signature still says "TR".
Lizzie is following TR only now while she was on Vaca and tomorrow she goes back to work. Gizmo earned a reduction today according to SLGS. Tonight, She shot the same dose as the AM cycle. Since she is going back to work tomorrow, should she reduce back to 1 unit to keep Gizmo safe since she can not monitor all day? The most she can get is AMPS and +1.5.
 
Cycle 12 on this dose.

By my count, this was cycle 13 on this dose. And your signature still says "TR".

I was doing TR while I was off on vacation. Gizmo takes about 8 cycles to get the full affect of a dose. Sometimes more. He's a slow starter. :p
 
Lizzie,it's been done before, I can't remember who did it but when her kitty was to low to shoot, she took him to work and her boss who had a cat allergy sent her and her cat home. :p
Lol.

In a couple of weeks this won't be an issue. I will just take a couple hours of vacation time and be done with it. This upcoming week we have to buckle down and get 2016 closed and budget for 2017 finalized. Being off is not an option.
 
I have taken Osha to school with me, but I certainly wouldn't recommend it. If the occasion arises again, I will abort the cycle with a lot of HC food.
What did you do about a litter box? That would be the only thing I would have serious issue with (and my boss).:D

You go girl.
 
Dyana used to take JD to work with her. He was very good.

I am inclined against taking the reduction, too. He looks so much better on this dose. If you are at all nervous in the mornings about what he will do, you can always put MC in the feeder for his +2.5 snack, and even his +4.5.

You can "officially" switch to SLGS starting tomorrow, and then reductions come under 90.

 
What did you do about a litter box? That would be the only thing I would have serious issue with (and my boss).:D

You go girl.

I took a small litter box with me. In my classroom right now, I have stored, the soft sided pen and bed that I use when I took her with me, so I only had to bring her, the litter box, bowl and my lunch box with testing strips, and various types of food with me. It was WAY TOO EXHAUSTING!!!
 
I really am not trying to be difficult.
No one thinks you are trying to be difficult, Lizzie. Trust me. We get it! We have all all been where you are. It's easy for me to say, with hindsight, that you don't have to worry. I was a bucket of nerves so many times when I had to leave my boys. It all boils down to the fact that you hold the syringe and you know your baby. You need to make the decisions that you are most comfortable with. No one will judge you. We are just giving you the benefit of our experience, and you get to choose what to use and what not to. We'll support you, no matter what! That's what families do.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top