01/01 Leo♡ AMPS 149 +1 109 +2 88 +3 91 +4 55 +5.3 46 +6 46 +6.3 54 PMPS 70 +1 136

+1=109
tsp 15% + he ate more LC on his own
Excellent, so one other thing to think about, I always used 2 tsps when steering an early drop. Of course if you find that 2tsps bumps up the next test too much, then you can go back to 1 tsp for next snack. I do wonder if only using 1 tsp is part of why it is harder to manage Leo’s curve since often when you’ve done that it’s not enough.
 
Excellent, so one other thing to think about, I always used 2 tsps when steering an early drop. Of course if you find that 2tsps bumps up the next test too much, then you can go back to 1 tsp for next snack. I do wonder if only using 1 tsp is part of why it is harder to manage Leo’s curve since often when you’ve done that it’s not enough.

So 2 tsp should be used, especially in today's example?

I just realized I was using another SS instead of the new one. Sorry about that.
 
let that test guide you in whether to feed higher LC or perhaps MC if he doesn’t appear to be getting much of a food bump from his preshot meal

We're still doing the 2-hr no food prior to AMPS & PMPS. What is considered the preshot meal? What he has at what I call, 'last chance' food before nothing is available for two hours before the BG test.

I need to +2 test now.
 
We're still doing the 2-hr no food prior to AMPS & PMPS. What is considered the preshot meal? What he has at what I call, 'last chance' food before nothing is available for two hours before the BG test.

I need to +2 test now.

Sorry, I should be been more specific, preshot meal is the one given at the time when you give the shot. The suggestion to not feed 2 hours before is really only recommended for newer members who don’t have a good idea of how food influences their cat.
 
I forgot to mention, Leo's signature had a *3 drop rule* on it, so no earned reduction until the 3rd under 50 drop. I updated the signature and that was removed in the process. Should I squeeze it in again?
 
Sorry, I just stepped away for a quick sec. How about a couple tsps of LC now, let’s see if the LC continues the surf. We want to avoid putting the brakes on the duration. LC as in under 10%

surf’s up Leo!
upload_2024-1-1_9-52-12.jpeg
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-1-1_9-52-12.jpeg
    upload_2024-1-1_9-52-12.jpeg
    23.9 KB · Views: 242
No extra % given since I wasn't sure. I did place LC food near where he was laying to encourage him to eat. No interest. Added some freeze-dried chicken, but still no interest.

ETA: looks like I was typing this note as you sent the last message. Appears Leo is helping the process--EXCEPT, he hasn't eaten anything. Wait! He did eat the few YAZM pellets I gave him after +3 BG.
 
Last edited:
Sorry, I just stepped away for a quick sec. How about a couple tsps of LC now, let’s see if the LC continues the surf. We want to avoid putting the brakes on the duration. LC as in under 10%

surf’s up Leo!
View attachment 68604

Since I'm seeing how today's slight changes are effecting Leo, I should test at +4. If all is well after that, when do you suggest further tests for the day? TIA!!
 
Since he’s staying flat, how about another test at +5. Then if he is continuing to stay nice and flat into +5 or rising, I think you can take a pokie break afterward. Sometimes these earlier onsets also have earlier nadirs in which case the excitement is usually over by +6.
 
Since he’s staying flat, how about another test at +5. Then if he is continuing to stay nice and flat into +5 or rising, I think you can take a pokie break afterward. Sometimes these earlier onsets also have earlier nadirs in which case the excitement is usually over by +6.

Oops, just saw this post. Completed +4 BG... at 55. I hope giving 15% didn't mess up anything.
 
@Christie & Maverick,
This was posted earlier:
I forgot to mention, Leo's signature had a *3 drop rule* on it, so no earned reduction until the 3rd under 50 drop. I updated the signature and that was removed in the process. Should I squeeze it in again?
 
@Christie & Maverick,
This was posted earlier:
I forgot to mention, Leo's signature had a *3 drop rule* on it, so no earned reduction until the 3rd under 50 drop. I updated the signature and that was removed in the process. Should I squeeze it in again?
Yes, if you can, if that is what you have decided to do for Leo. Caregivers who follow TR with long term diabetics the reduction becomes once under 40. Also, as much as I feel I harp on this a little now and again, one really isn’t following TR if the cat is being fed any dry food.
 
Fell asleep!
+5.3=46
And Leo won't eat the 15%! One small taste from the spoon that I urged him to eat. He usually gobbles food when he's low.
 
Yes, if you can, if that is what you have decided to do for Leo. Caregivers who follow TR with long term diabetics the reduction becomes once under 40. Also, as much as I feel I harp on this a little now and again, one really isn’t following TR if the cat is being fed any dry food.

So no more Young Again Zero Mature pellets after a BG? Zipppo, zilch?
 
I've been doing this for a long time. It used to be Sr Elseys Chicken.... then changed to Young Again. It's been in the signature info. :bookworm:
I know, it happens sometimes; and not all signatures are up to date so it may often be overlooked. I didn’t mean it as a criticism :).
 
After 5.3=46, Leo had licks of gravy, but not enough.
+6=46
At first he would have nothing to do with even the gravy.... and finally he did! And even ate a little. I'll see if BG is effected.
I'm still in my robe! Sure, I watched some of the Rose Bowl Parade, but still. :joyful:
 
I like above 50 :)

Thank you for all your help today, Jan 1, and last year. Do you have more than Maverick? I'm not opening any more SSes because Sheets has a tendency to give me 'View Only' and the chore of entering data drives me insane. Life is too short to deal with this hassle. It's why I stopped entering data for so many months. Plus dealing with DH's issues... Leo's, and me, too. Sigh. Losing both DH's step-mom, September 2023, and then my step-mom not even two weeks ago. A long-time friend to glioblastoma in August! She is who we got our first kitty, 1991--the Himalayan I mentioned earlier. What was strange about his dying is that he tried to die the same day, a year after our 16yo miniature schnauzer went over the rainbow bridge,1998. Those two were furry friends. Going down a sad path.... Somebody stop me!

I'm thrilled Leo's numbers look to be turning around. Today has been great, actually. :D:cat::D:cat::D:cat::D
 
I am happy to help, you are very welcome :). I liked how this cycle went too, and I’m glad you are happy and were willing to give a little experimenting a try. I really really hope we can nip those bounces in the bud, but if he does bounce tonight, don’t be too disappointed since we know that at least Leo is clearing them quickly. You got my question exactly right earlier, he was breaking a bounce and you did a great job slowing him down today.

Sometimes all we can do is try to manage what life throws at us, and it’s okay if you need to take a break once in a while and focus on you :bighug:

I also have another cat, and a German Shepherd Dog, along with Maverick, they all keep me quite entertained :rolleyes:.
 
I also have another cat, and a German Shepherd Dog, along with Maverick, they all keep me quite entertained :rolleyes:

I love this! We miss our doggies. We used to have a Collie & Sheltie when we first adopted Leo. His best friend was an adopted 80# Collie named Walker. Leo sure missed him and was getting mean/nipping at me. Our daughter ended up with five kittens from the abandoned mother cat next door to her that had her kittens in an empty trash can on our daughter's porch. All the kittens and mother cat found were adopted. We ended up with one; my step-sis with another one. Leo had a new friend. :cat:

When I was a kid I was afraid of German Shepherd dogs. They looked terrifying to me. My daughter would love to have one, but she has my step-sis's cat now (from the same litter), who had to give him up for health reasons. We had him for over four years until our daughter married late last year and could take him after the new year, 2023. We miss him. Totally different personality & fur than the brother we have. I used to be Mom of Three Cats or something like that, and changed the FDMB username last year when we didn't have him anymore. He's spoiled even more now.

Time to eat soon! Speaking of eating, Leo ate on his own the LC food; added some more at 3pm, and then again before the 2-hr shut off. This time he even got into the second small bowl used for 15% with remnants he left from before along with a little freeze-dried chicken. I didn't realize it was still out. Hope he didn't get low again because I didn't test! Maybe I should now.

BTW, I couldn't find the post where there were other questions, but cannot find it. I thought there were more questions anyway. You've been very kind and helpful to me for Leo's sake. ♥︎
 
PMPS =70

Timer set for 55 min to test. @Christie & Maverick, since I only have 10 &15%, what is the best choice for higher carb % at +1? Looks like I need to provide two tsp. BTW Leo ate close to 2oz for dinner! Hope he's not too stuffed for the extra two tsp!

If there's another possible outcome, I'm all ears. :woot:
 
I like how the 15% worked, how does that sound? Unless of course he starts a bounce. I am curious to see what he’s got up his paw for tonight.

+1=136

Is this the first bounce?
I am only providing LC & freeze-dried chicken. Should I do anything different? 10 %LC or leave as stated above. He is eating heartily.
 
+1=136

Is this the first bounce?
I am only providing LC & freeze-dried chicken. Should I do anything different? 10 %LC or leave as stated above. He is eating heartily.
Looks like we cross posted, let’s go with the LC :) .

ET: We only want to use the 15% if he’s dropping quickly, otherwise LC should be the go-to.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top