? 01/01-Freckles PMPS 272, 252@+3.5 dosing question

Judy and Freckles

Member Since 2019
Last Post

Happy New Year Everyone!

Today we started dog sitting my sister's miniature dachshund and we will have him until Monday, January 6 - Freckles has not seen him for 1 year and they primarily ignore each other. I'm not sure if Freckles is stressed over this dog being in the house or not and I'm wondering if I should go ahead with the dose increase after her 6th cycle (which will be tomorrow Thursday) PM shot or wait a few more cycles until the dog is gone?

Freckles is used to dogs (we have two) but she is not that used to this little one.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!
 
Last Post

Happy New Year Everyone!

Today we started dog sitting my sister's miniature dachshund and we will have him until Monday, January 6 - Freckles has not seen him for 1 year and they primarily ignore each other. I'm not sure if Freckles is stressed over this dog being in the house or not and I'm wondering if I should go ahead with the dose increase after her 6th cycle (which will be tomorrow Thursday) PM shot or wait a few more cycles until the dog is gone?

Freckles is used to dogs (we have two) but she is not that used to this little one.

Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!


Likely someone with TR experience will reply in the AM :) She didn't seem to spike any higer than she had been on the 31st but ...I'm sure she could be stressed a bit.
I thought with TR if nadirs were below 200...you could for up to 5 days, but I'm not 100% sure what would be best practices.

Just reread the parameters for holding doses
Increasing the dose:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
 
All you are seeing at this dose is high blue. I would increase after the sixth cycle, unless you see mid blue or lower before then.
 
All you are seeing at this dose is high blue. I would increase after the sixth cycle, unless you see mid blue or lower before then.

So, the mentioned 3-5 days for holding a dose is for values closer to 150 and below and not so much just numbers less than 200 in general? Or do you generally only hold for 3 days with TR

Just clarifying for next time
 
It’s not quite that cut and dried. You also consider whether the cat has seen blue before, or even green and past responses. Greens you would generally hold for 10 cycles, maybe more if new to green and where in green the nadirs are. Freckles has been flirting with high blues for a while now, so she needs a push. She also has one cycle tomorrow to show us that she’s open to lower blues. Sometimes cats wait until that sixth cycle to show you what a dose can do.
 
Back
Top