01/01 Baby G AMPS 142 +1 182 PMPS 328

babyg

Member Since 2019
Previous
Happy new year!

Her preshot is lower than normal again, but it's below even the 150 so thinking to reduce. She didn't eat all her food last night so that could be part of it too. I mean it, every time I post announcing that she's eating her wet food, that same day she starts to give me problems again eating it. :banghead: I don't know whether to keep pushing for it or whether it's better she's consistent with her eating even if it's all dry; it's frustrating. :arghh:
 
It's been about a half hour later. Tested again and she's now 172. Not sure if she'll go back down or if she's finallyr rising. What would you guys do? Full dose 4.5 or reduced dose? I never gave her a full dose that low so wanted to check.
 
If I give her full dose it would be cycle 6, btw. That depot will be building more and might be more powerful. Last time she had a similar preshot I gave her half dose but she started rising and probably could have gotten away with the full after all. I don't know, I suck at reading the data.
 
177. I don't think anyone's up yet and her shot is late as is, so I have to decide. I think I'll do the 25% reduction (10-25% SLGS instructions between 150 and 200). It's still better than halving the dose like I normally do when under 200. Baby steps. I dont have the balls yet lolol. I'll see how she does with 3.25.
 
Well, here’s a bit of food for thought for next time. The SLGS guideline on how to handle lower than normal preshots also does say “until you collect enough data to know how your cat will react” and “if you don’t have data on how your cat responds to insulin” and “let personal experience be your guide”. We certainly don’t want brand new members who haven’t collected enough data to shoot under 150 for those caregivers who are here on the Lantus/Lev/biosimilar sub forum, but you’ve been at this a good while, and have some good data behind you.

This wasn’t really a new lower preshot number for Baby G and you had some good tests through yesterday evening to see how that preshot relates and also stalled a little to get an idea that indeed she wasn’t dropping. I appreciate in the past you’ve gone the reduced dose option, but if you are around to monitor, you may take that into consideration as well.
 
Thanks! My nerves are just so bad. I think going from a 50% reduction to 25%--if all goes well--will give me more courage next time to either do the full dose or maybe only 10% reduction and if that goes well, then full dose the time after that. I may have to work my way up to it to see that yes, she will be fine. I bet we wouldn't have had any issues this morning, though, had she eaten her full meal. She only ate maybe half her canned and all the dry, of course. But it's so nice seeing all these blue numbers and steady cycles for her and I want to keep the train rolling.
 
Good job stalling. It’s very stressful in the moment. I’m sorry you didn’t get immediate help this morning. Hoping the next time is easier :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Safe surfing Baby!!
 
Back
Top