0.25 TO 0.50???

Status
Not open for further replies.
You're doing awesome! Mom-Mom certainly responds pretty "wildly" to the juice, but you are doing a great job steering her numbers!! Surf safely for MamaBean tonight, Mom-Mom!!
 
Laura! FANTASTIC job today! way to go - you brought up her blood sugar and kept her safe. I'm so glad you stuck with the 0.25u dose. thank you for listening to our suggestions. it's so hard when you are new to this, and we're all trying to help you.

You're going to stay with this dose unless you see a number less than 50, regardless of how high she goes. As you can see, she's going to go up and down, but to keep her safe, we're going to keep her at this dose for now.

well done. i'm so glad everyone stepped in and gave you good advice.

and yes, pancake syrup is MUCH better than orange juice for her. just stick with that.

Here's what i would suggest next. You've got enough strips for about a month if you're testing 5 times per day, so you may want to plan ahead and find some inexpensive ones to order online so that you can get them in time. Low numbers can make a person run through strips incredibly quickly.

I would take this bounce as a "save a strip" opportunity. She lasted 2 days on her last bounce, which doesn't guarantee that she'll do it the same this time, but we can guess that she'll be high tonight and probably tomorrow daytime.

what i'd do is to get a +2 tonight. If it's the same as her preshot (484) or higher, i wouldn't test anymore tonight.

If it's lower by more than say, 50 points, you'll want to test again tonight, maybe at +5 or so.

You always want to get a preshot test to make sure it's safe for you to shoot. If she's still high in the morning, get the preshot & a +2 again. Same drill as tonight. You might want to get a late afternoon test tomorrow to see if she's still holding high.

Then tomorrow night, i think we have to be starting to watch to see if she's going to clear the bounce. get a preshot and we'll see where she is then and decide on when to test next.

ordinarily i wouldn't plan it out like this - we usually decide with one test when to test next, but i'm very aware you're limited on the strips and i want to make sure you have enough to handle anything coming up.

how does that all sound to you?
 
Good job today.

One of our sayings: Better too high for a day, than too low for a moment. Why? Because going to low can harm the cat quickly; going too high generally takes a long time to cause harm, although we do suggest testing the urine for ketones when the numbers are over 300 or so. There are some tips in my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools on how to do that.
 
julie & punkin (ga) said:
...You always want to get a preshot test to make sure it's safe for you to shoot.

Hi Laura,

I see Mom-Mom's numbers are starting to come down again.
Given what happened yesterday it's very likely that at some point you're going to be faced with a low pre-shot number again.

I think it would be helpful if we could work with you to devise a strategy for dealing with lower pre-shots; especially since there may sometimes be nobody around to advise you at the time when you need to give a shot.

To get the conversation started my suggestions would be these:

1) Don't give a shot on a 'falling number' (ie. if the blood glucose is still dropping.)
Wait until the BG is rising before giving a shot.
2) Don't give a shot if the pre-shot BG is less than 200.

So, in a nutshell, my advice at this stage would be:
Only give a shot if the numbers are rising and over 200.

What do others think?

Eliz
 
at +. She was 283 at +5 last night and +10 she was 224. Now this morning she is at 224 still so AI gave her 0.25 @ 8:45. I think she is doing pretty good so far ?? Anyone agree with me ???
 
Mom-Mom said:
at +. She was 283 at +5 last night and +10 she was 224. Now this morning she is at 224 still so AI gave her 0.25 @ 8:45. I think she is doing pretty good so far ?? Anyone agree with me ???

Looking great, Laura! :-D
Will be interesting to see how Mom-Mom drops during this cycle. I'm guessing you'll be keeping a close eye on her. (And I do so hope your hand is better now.)

Eliz
 
Hi, Laura.

I wonder if I may ask a favor. Most of us open a new thread (aka "condo") for the day that we're posting. This thread has gotten quite long and now covers several days. If you need to backtrack to find information, it's going to be challenging to do so. As a result, we open a new condo for the day that you're posting and link the condos together.

We also use a convention for the subject line: date your cat's name AMPS-#, +time-#, etc.

The subject line format helps us to see what's going on with your cat and if we spot something amiss, we'll be able to stop by and offer input.
 
70 to 336 in 6 hours?

Mom-mom was at 70 this morning. She looked real good and ate her breakfast. I skipped the insulin. Its now +6 and shes at 336. Am I doing the right thing here by just testing every few hours, I mean she looks great and she is presently having her lunch so everything seems fine. Is it normal to keep rising?
 
Laura,

Would you please start a new "condo" (a new topic) like I gave you instructions for the other night? Sienne mentioned (in your other thread) that she would be happy to help you once you started a new "condo." It's too hard for our dose advisors to navigate these lengthy threads. They're so busy trying to help so many of us that they need each day's information "at a glance." That way they have time to help all of us.

Thanks,
Shelly
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top