0/04/22 MICIO: AMBG 61 stalling

MISSY + Simone&MICIO (GA)

Member Since 2021
Yesterday:AMPS 138 / 78@ +3.25 / 105@ +9.25 / PMPS 108 / 62@ +3.25 / 62@ +5.5 / 61@ +5 / 61@ +11.25

BG 77 after he pooped + vomit some bile, numbers probably raised a bit cause of stress?!
 
Last edited:
What do you think would be causing the stress?

I think I'd try 7.0 units tonight.

Stress caused by some straining, then he pooped a bit but wasn't finished yet and in the mean time he got sick and vomited some acid/bile; then he pooped a bit more and laid on the ground, his eyes/ pupils were huge. Then he got exited because I was purposely slowly preparing the meal (wanted to give some time for his tummy to set after giving him some SEB-slippery elm bark w/aloe).
I've increased the amount of fiber lately and even give him some Miralax last night; his stomach is big. He's not vomiting food (as he's used to years ago) but just bile after straining. Luckily no more seizures though.
Spent another night monitoring him last night, his numbers stayed pretty flat.

This morning I was able to find an AAHA Holistic clinic that accept new patients and I made an appointment for this Friday, although just realized the Dr. that will see Micio graduated just in 2018. I probably wouldn't care if it was for a pet that doesn't have particular issues but, with Micio's particular situation, should I wait for the more experienced doctors? First app would be in May though.....Micio has been having clear eye discharge for last couple of days and yesterday morning he started sneezing all of a sudden and not sure what's going on so, I may have to take him in anyway. What would you do?
BTW, this morning I called the "current" vet clinic and ask to have Micio's Dr. to call me back and find out what explanation he has regarding the clinic behavior from my last week call on the meds during his absence...still waiting for an answer.

I will reduce to 7u tonight, unless his numbers are too low to shot
 
It might be interesting to see what the newish vet says. Might be more up on the latest research too. Just make sure you let them know ahead of tie that he's acro with his other issues and medications too. That'll give the new vet time to be prepared. Hopefully the new vet also has classic vet training too. And I'd keep after the current vet clinic for answers.

Neko had clear eye discharge in one eye, but acro can cause soft tissue growth in the tear ducts, meaning the tears can't drain normally. If he's sneezing, have you ever tried giving l-lysine?
 
It might be interesting to see what the newish vet says. Might be more up on the latest research too. Just make sure you let them know ahead of tie that he's acro with his other issues and medications too. That'll give the new vet time to be prepared. Hopefully the new vet also has classic vet training too. And I'd keep after the current vet clinic for answers.

Neko had clear eye discharge in one eye, but acro can cause soft tissue growth in the tear ducts, meaning the tears can't drain normally. If he's sneezing, have you ever tried giving l-lysine?

I did tell the new clinic about Micio's deseases and especially Acromegaly, all the vets at the clinic do integrative medicine ; going to send them all recent records so the Dr. has enough time to look into it.
Never tried l-lysine before, although I mentioned that to my old vet but she said no need for MIcio.
How would I know if the sneezing is caused by an allergy, upper respiratory infecton or acromegaly?
 
I haven't seen sneezing as an acro symptom. I have heard of people giving Zyrtec for allergies, maybe if you tried that and it went away it would be an allergy. Search on here you may find dosing. Has Micio been anywhere or been in contact with other cats that could cause a URI? If still sniffling, you could put him in the bathroom with a steamy shower for a while and see if that clears him up.
 
I haven't seen sneezing as an acro symptom. I have heard of people giving Zyrtec for allergies, maybe if you tried that and it went away it would be an allergy. Search on here you may find dosing. Has Micio been anywhere or been in contact with other cats that could cause a URI? If still sniffling, you could put him in the bathroom with a steamy shower for a while and see if that clears him up.

I have used ChlorTabs before, no Zyrtec though. Micio hasn't been in contact with anyone, my cats are 24/7 indoor only, unless he cought something at the vet on 16 March at the first visit..today's not sneezing as much, but still...
 
I'm trying to catch up. So Micio's regular vet is back in town and you are trying to reach him about what happened last week when none of the other vets there would see him. And you are not taking him back there? You will go to see the new vet on Friday? Is all this correct?

Has Micio ever been x-rayed for constipation?
 
I'm trying to catch up. So Micio's regular vet is back in town and you are trying to reach him about what happened last week when none of the other vets there would see him. And you are not taking him back there? You will go to see the new vet on Friday? Is all this correct?

Has Micio ever been x-rayed for constipation?

Was just writing an UPDATE on this :) ( @Wendy&Neko ) : so, the current vet finally called me today and had a pretty nice and "honest" conversation: he was out of town for a week and just today got to know what happened with Micio last week and somehow agreed I should have gotten helped better with that situation. He agrees that taking care of Micio kidneys/proteinuria/ heart is more important so Benazepril should be resume asap: he wants me to give 1/4 of a 5mg tablet every 24 hours for 2 weeks, then (if all goes well) increase and give 1/2 tablet every 24 hours. As for the constipation, advised me to add either Miralax or Lactulose. For the new sneeze issue, I'll try some Chlortabs to rule out if it is an allergy first, then I can try some l-lysine too...this afternoon he hasn't sneeze quite as much though so, fingers crossed.
Dr. wants me to give him an update by tomorrow sometimes and already set a check up appointment for the 18th April unless other problems will rise before then and, in that case, he said they'll have to adjust their schedule in order to get Micio asap.
Also, after I told him about Micio's BG's, he suggested to "possibly temporarly stop/skip insulin cause sometimes cats can go in remission"; well, I think that would have to be determine based on Micio's BG reading, right? I think he's doing pretty well despite all of his issues.

Doctor seemed to understand my worries and disappointment from last week and really tried to fix it . I'll give it another try and ended up cancelled the appointment with the newly found clinic for now.

I'm supposed to resume the Benazepril tomorrow morning and pretty scared to do so ....what do you guys think about this?

@Suzanne & Darcy , Micio never got an x-ray for that matter. I did increase fibers with meals and also start with a bit of Miralax, will just have to wait and see.
BTW, how's your furry kid?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top