1/2 Pearl..a concern

Status
Not open for further replies.

Karen & Pearl

Member Since 2009
Well, not much to report the last couple of days. I think I'll eek up again tomorrow to 3.25u. However, I am concerned because I think her teeth are really bothering her. Of course, she can manage to eat some dry if offered. Or treats, but she is just not eating right. I think she eventually gets enough (I'll break out the baby scale and keep track of weight) but here's the thing. There is no doubt she has *awful* teeth. But with heart trouble, asthma (after all, last time we looked she only had 4 lung lobes left that work) and the diabetes, our vet is extremely leary of anesthetizing her and so am I. I think that would just be it. No less because now when we go to the vet she gets so upset she pukes and poops. I don't really expect any suggestions, but if someone did have a bright idea, I'd listen. I seriously cannot say that she is anywhere near ready to go, but I can't seem to do anything to really help her be her best concerning her teeth. That probably contributes to her difficulty to regulate. I guess I am just rambling and venting to people who might understand my dilemma. Should I look into some antibiotics? (yeesh, wish always give her the runs). Or just trudge along as best possible. ANywho, below are the last two days. Pretty unspectacular, although she is still doing better than she has sometimes in the past and her pu/pd is definitely better - maybe even contributing to less or at least less enthusiastic eating.

12/30/09
AMPS 323 3.00 U
+6 282
PMPS 347 3.00U
+5 194

12/31/09
AMPS 282 3.00U
+6 233
PMPS 296 3.00U

01/01/10
AMPS 297 3.00U
PMPS 316 3.00U
+5 216

01/02/10
AMPS 286 3.00U
+3 299
PMPS 292 3.00U
+3 258
 
i think steph's cuddles was on a/b pulse therapy b/c cuddles couldn't have a dental b/c of her age or some other health issue.
 
WCF and Meowzi said:
i think steph's cuddles was on a/b pulse therapy b/c cuddles couldn't have a dental b/c of her age or some other health issue.

Hmm. Pulse therapy. I'll PM her and see what that was.
 
Well, she was prone to UTI's.. which would up her BG's until we put her on antibiotics, and got the UTI cleared up. She had HORRIBLE teeth, but vet nor I wanted to put her under at her age & health. She was getting fluids for CRF, and on a honeymoon. BUT.. she had a really bad hypo one time (well, the only time) and I think it kind of did something to her brain. She started having seizures after that, and it seemed to be because she was on amoxi for a URI. I don't know if anyone remembers, but they were set off by any kind of 'crinkling' noise. I'd try to unwrap something (cookies or chip bag, etc..) and her pupils would dilate, and she'd get this head twitch going until i stopped crinkling the bag. The first one that actually set it off was opening the bag of LRS! :shock:

So anyway (yes, this does have a point) we were limited with what AB we could use with her, because of that. Clavamox was so hard on her stomach, I could actually HEAR the sounds coming out of it, from feet away! So the vet put her on injectable Baytril. We figured the UTI's were most likely because of her horrid teeth, so any time she started acting 'punky' (we all know our cats VERY well) - I'd give her a few shots of the Baytril. (1 shot SID) She'd start acting normal again, and it seemed to work for her!

So definitely ask your vet about it.. see if it's maybe something that would benefit Pearl? I'm not talking about the Baytril per se, but maybe clav or amoxi even. Not necessarily for the teeth, but ours was because we figured the teeth/bacteria was causing the UTI's in Cuddles. If it's just that her teeth are HURTING her.. I dunno. :sad: Maybe some kind of pain med instead?

I hope all this makes sense. I know Cuddles was DEFINITELY marching to her own drum... so not sure how much her experiences could help other cats.
 
have you checked into consulting w/ board cert. vet. dental specialist?
I took my 18 1/2 year old he had dental this fall.
4 teeth extracted.
they were a mess. he has hbp, crd, cp and more.
they had a very special protocol for seniors.
they did card. work up before proceedure. and monitors.
no not cheap.
but for him the teeth were such an issue i felt it was worth the risk. i would not of done it w/ a reg vet.

and even if you /they didn't want to put under for a dental maybe they could recommend something?
help you w/ ABs and pain med. do an exam best they can , etc...

eat pearl eat.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top