3/9 Shadoe pmps 288 +1~209 +2~140 +3~151 +4~158

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday's recap:
326 - amps 13uL
277 - +1
311 - +11
308 - pmps (13ul & 1.5uR)
254 - +1
236 - +2
263 - +3
306 - +4
338 - today's amps 13uL

Now how sad it that! I thought I could sneak in a bit more R and get her down to a nice color to surf, but the Lantus decided it was not going along with the plan, and I think the Lantus never even showed up. I am hoping that it was the Lantus was crap since it was the last draw from this cart. There was a bit left in it, but nowhere near a single Shadoe dose.
And since the Lantus may have been crap- scrapping the bottom of the cart so to speak, and I could not stay up later to test more, I did not bother with some R at mid cycle. I have never gotten to the end of any cart; usually, it's past the 28 days or her numbers were slipping back up. Way back then, acro did not exist in my mind, so her numbers being stubborn meant try fresh juice.
No rush since Shadoe is happy, happy lately and was feeling fine last nite too.

So this morning, we cracked open a nice, fresh cart. I'll stay for a +1, but that's it till tonite.

Shadoe is getting quite pushy to get her shots, so I am feeling good to know she must feel better after her shots if she is getting up on the table beside my chair and meowing close enough to my right ear that I can feel her whiskers on my skin. So we tested and shot 5min early to shut her up. Seriously, she plunks down in her meatloaf, shot-accepting pose, and I know it's time. And it was not food or treats that she wanted because I had given her some pre-shoot chicken cubes of which she had just a few, and she did not go to the snack dispensing location after her shot! She must have been so happy to get her shot that she just stretched and jumped up onto the pillow on the sofa. She is now happily purring and waiting for her L buzz to come on.

I am not feeling as chatty as I once was, rather I find myself ever more focused on how Shadoe is doing and what can be done for her. I don't get around much to visit other condos lately, and there have been times I have stopped mid-post to tend to a complaining Shadoe. She has never been much of a talker, but she's getting better at it and I usually figure she doesn't talk at me for no reason.

I think that once you get to a certain dose, things change in the bean's brain and how the situation is seen and approached. Before, I would think whoa, 6u is so high! Now, sitting at 13u and intending to go to 14u tonite, I look back and think boy, it will be great if one day we can get down to a dose like 6u. Now, I look ahead and think that 20 or 25u are high doses. Everything is relative I suppose.

There's not much else to say right now; time to finish getting ready for work then catch a +1 before I head out the door. Maybe things will settle down soon, once we have a good plan in place, once the u/s is done, once we know how Shadoe is handling and utilizing R, once all of these and many other things get happening, I can think of a life for me again.

Sometimes, beans fall into a rabbithole and lose sight of themselves and their lives, I think.
Sometimes, beans need to be reminded that an unhappy and tensed up bean can't be good, because kitties know stuff and they sense the negative, making some efforts all for naught if the help and the tensions cancel each other out.
Sometimes, we beans need to step back and enjoy what is.

Be strong. Keep positive. :cool:
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338

An inspiring and I think thought provoking post.
Aren't cats smart (er than some humans)!

Have a good day.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338 +1~347

Morning Gayle!

You are right about all of it. I've learned a lot and changed a lot in my year and almost a half with an acro. The first thing I learned is, it doesn't matter how much insulin you're shooting. The only thing that matters is how they feel. Sounds like she is starting to feel great! Me and Lorna talk about our acrobrainfreeze when we're acrobitching together sometimes. We got to certain doses and thought "I'm not shooting that." For me it happened at 10u, 17u, 29u.. and several other doses. But you do. The kitty needs the insulin, the bean gives the insulin.

Once you get the toxicity broken and your days start to relax, sometimes you go a whole cycle without testing. I now only test if he's running low or looks funny and some nadir checks just to verify a dose is working. I can tell by looking at him where he is in cycle. You will be able to do that too. And I can definitely tell when he's running low because he gets very upset and agitated.

For instance I just took a break while typing your post bc Leo came over and started pawing my hand playfully and flicking his ear. He looked obviously happy. Obviously happy for Leo means he's in the 150-200 range (his fav) and he wants to show off. So we went and got the meter and the Delishus Chicken Treats and he's 166 at +8. 24u is probably too much cuz that was the first dose and he never shows on the first dose. We're in pick-a-dose mode waiting to figure out what number between 20 (too low) and 24 (too high) is Leo's number.

I used to think 24 was insane. Then I shot it. Then I got all the way up to 40u. Then back down to 21u. Then up to 31u. Now back in limbo at 20-24. All you can do is chase the hormone production and you get damn good at it. Lorna and I both change our shot amounts on the fly based on preshots, low numbers and cat behavior.

Leo is now sitting next to me, which he always does, washing his nether regions, purring his beautiful head off. He doesn't care. So neither do I. All I care about is Happy Cat. Not happy? I fix. Happy? I revel in it. :)

So I want you to know that not only is there light at the end of this tunnel, but it's a brilliant white light. (((hugs)))
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338 pmps 288

Shadoe ate under 2 cans today, but is eating fine tonite.
We increased her dose to 14uL and stayed with 1.5uR

She is always super happy after her shots. When I get home, she is always anxious to get tested. Now, after her test and shots, she has had a bit to eat and is now rolling around on the floor licking her paws super clean. Without fail, she rolls around like crazy and cleans every part of herself that she can reach around the big belly. She also spreads her toes really wide and spends lots of attention to cleaning each to and chewing on each nail.
And then she is done, jumps onto the pillow and closes her eyes to enjoy her buzz.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338 pmps 288

Gayle and Shadoe said:
Sometimes, beans fall into a rabbithole and lose sight of themselves and their lives, I think.
Sometimes, beans need to be reminded that an unhappy and tensed up bean can't be good, because kitties know stuff and they sense the negative, making some efforts all for naught if the help and the tensions cancel each other out.
Sometimes, we beans need to step back and enjoy what is.

Be strong. Keep positive.

Words of wisdom, Gayle. I'm a couple of years into the journey with Bear's diabetes, and some days the emotional caregiver fatigue is overwhelming. Good for you for keeping your perspective.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338 pmps 288 +1~209

Linda,
I have seen the odd post with words that ooze a weariness, the same as I feel from time to time. I think it is important to give support, even if indirectly, hoping that others will read and understand they are not alone. Words do not have to be directed at a single person to be received, and if left general, words can help more people.

I think Shadoe is feeling pretty good tonite, and she must have had some nice numbers today since her pmps was a nice yellow. I am hoping we will see more yellow and if we are really lucky, some blues!

I have a feeling that maybe the new cart we started this morn is showing that the old cart was pretty much spent. Maybe now, we will see some action with the fresh juice; I was wondering how come the R was bringing her down, then nothing much happened after that.

Time will tell.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338 pmps 288 +1~209 +2~140

Nice! We have blue!

Ok now let's see how long we can keep it; the little stinker can barely hold on till +4 before heading up. But, I'll take this blue, even if it's the only one.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338 pmps 288 +1~209 +2~140

nailbite_smile oh boy this is very good!!!

very very good!!!

bcatrun_gif go Shadoe!!!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338 pmps 288 +1~209 +2~140

ooooh, could Shadoe be considering GREEN? :shock:

I know green isn't the goal, but it sure looks like she's thinking about it.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338 pmps 288 +1~209

Gayle and Shadoe said:
I think it is important to give support, even if indirectly, hoping that others will read and understand they are not alone.

Your posts are inspirational to many people, I think, simply because of your general attitude toward this. It must be your attitude toward life. I sometimes wish I were more like that, instead of the frequently-pessimistic person I usually am. It's a good thing that we have a supportive community like this.

And hooray for Shadoe's bloooooo!
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338 pmps 288 +1~209 +2~140

Libby,
Shadoe does not go much farther past +4; she has a good day and then she goes back up, then a good day and back. Even with a bit of R at +6, she still refuses to stay low.
I am watching her closely and testing every hour. I will see what happens in another 30min; right now, she's sprawled out on her pillow, resting and purring and grooming her already groomed paws; if I were to rattle the snack container, mz tubby moves really fast to the treat rug.

We will see what happens; I'll post her +3.
 
Re: 3/9 Shadoe amps 338 pmps 288 +1~209 +2~140

Hooray for blue Shadoe!!!!

Sounds like she's handling the blue well.
 
Ah well, slowly but surely, she will claw her way back up to her comfy numbers.

I do think the R dose looked ok, but the Lantus is still not enough to carry on once the R fizzles. Still, this pm shot was just cycle 1, so there's still time once we top up that shed.

We are done now for the nite and heading to sleep.
Tomorrow we'll see if she lasts longer after the R runs out.
 
Hi Gayle
Sorry I missed the blue action tonight while you were awake.
Need to finish packing to get home to Mr. Max.
Happy to see that you had a good combo of the R and Lantus tonight.
Sleep well and tomorrow is another day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top