3/8 Shadoe amps 326 pmps 308 +1~254

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday's recap:
376 - amps (13L & 1.25R)
346 - +1
302 - +2
304 - +3
313 - +4
311 - +6 (1uR @ +6.5)
292 - +8
315 - +10
358 - pmps (13L cycle 3 & 1.25R)
311 - +1
279 - +2
265 - +3
274 - +4
313 - +5
326 - today's amps (13L cycle 4)

This morning, Shadoe is in good spirits. She came to lie with me till I got up, and LB deposits had already been done. She ate some chicken cubes while waiting for her am test/shot, and had eaten 1/2 can of ff salmon feast already. She's light on foot, stretching and cleaning as if everything is perfectly fine.
To her, it is; she has won this battle and fought her way back to her comfy pinks, so of course SHE is happy. She is watching TV now and I have been dismissed for the day.

I know she watches TV because I tested her a few times. If I turn off the TV, she turns around and shoots dagger looks at me, seriously. She stares at me until I turn it back on. Then she looks away and is happy again. She is not staring at it constantly but she likes it on and sits in front of it. I leave it on during the day for her cuz she likes it.

No R given this morning or any work day, but I will try maybe a bit more tonite to see if we can get some sort of response from Shadoe.
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326

Good morning,Gayle!
What a nice am report! What a nice life Shadow has.
Breakfast,TV and nap! Uh,nice to be a cat with Gayle bean.
mama Bean You have a nice working day!
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326 +1~277

Sadly, I won't have a clue what happens as I am not at home during the day.
If I did not wait and leave late to catch a +1, I would not even see that one.

Maybe tonite, I'll see something decent.
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326 +1~277

Good Morning Gayle
Hope your day at work goes by quickly.
So Shadoe likes the tv. What channel do you leave on. Talk shoes, cooking, animals???
You have to wonder what goes on in their heads.
When I was away at Christmas, DPS borught a radio into the kitchen and she noticed that
the cats really liked it and noticed when it went off.
I guess they don't really like to be alone as people think they do.
I hope Shadoe enjoys hers shows today and gives you nice numbers later.
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326 +1~277

Randi,
I usually leave a good channel on, depending on the day of the week.
During the week, I leave on City TV cuz they have pretty good stuff she likes.
She has never been interested in any exercise shows, but her non-existent waist shows why.

On the weekend, I look for a hunting or fishing or an animal show; dunno if she likes it but I thought she may like to see the fish caught or something.

All I know is that her head swivels in my direction whenever the TV goes off.
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326 +1~277

I am laughing now. You better watch her on the talk shows you know.
That might be why she gives you good attitude. :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326 +1~277

Oh don't worry about the talk shows, or worse the call-in ones! I don't leave a phone out where she can get it, and no special treats are left for snacks.
She DOES have access to the remote, though.
If you look at her belly, you know she is a lazy couch potato.
I need to find her a kitty treadmill.
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326 +1~277

I was out yesterday and missed your post about your vet visit.

I think I would like to punch your vet in the forehead. Can you set up an appt for me to do that? Just let me know when.

What in the name of sam hell does she think is happening here? You've got a young cat not responding to literally massive doses of insulin. You have a test that came back positive for acro. Yes it is on the low side, which, as you know, made me immediately wonder if they mishandled the blood draw. The second thing I wondered is if it is low because she's young. Any cat over 92 is considered an acro. She needs to be looking at the responses of cats who test negative. They come in much lower, 40,50,60,70's. There is no information that she is going to find out about acrocats without coming here or catacromegaly.com. The studies are old, outdated and performed on cats who were not treated properly with insulin or diet.

Regardless of what she says, you have a cat that you now have to treat as if she is an acro. That means SHE has to treat you and Shadoe as if acromegaly is present, which means:

No jugular draws ever again.
No pilling of Shadoe. All meds must be liquid, injected or crushed.
Special precautions need to be taken when anesthetizing Shadoe, and small tubes must be present in case her airways are occluded by tissue growth.

Read what Jojo said to Holly and Pablo and print it out for future reference so you're armed: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=7529#p75378
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326 +1~277

Thanks Carolyn,
I informed her that we will be giving no pills anymore for Shadoe, and I also told her about the ET kitten sized tubes if needed, and caution on any anesthetics.
I did not know about the jugular draws, so that goes onto the list for my next visit.
I did read and also printed out jojo's post to Holly; everything on there was mentioned to this vet on Sunday.

I'll take her the catacromegaly.com site info - just to kinda help her along. I did tell her that I doubted her doubts, and said that I consider my knowledge greter and more current than hers in this area (snicker), but I would go along with further investigating. I told her that it could well be that Shadoe is a bit of an oddity: she is female, she is very young, and also diabetic. Man, Shadoe is as obstinate as I am. And she looks like a bowling ball on legs, and with battered ears.

And thanks for the offer to knock her lights out, but I am working out with my trainer 3 days a week, so I'll ask him to bump up the weights - I would like the pleasure myself, if it came down to a fisticuffs.

I don't think that she could have spelled the condition before I harrassed the crap out of them to test for it; remember, I had to bring the MSU test sheets to them so that they knew what to do and where to go. So her saying she has done lots of reading and does not think Shadoe is an acro cat, well, I just don't see her as any expert after 3 days reading on the net. I would like her to get me something in writing from MSU that says Shadoe status is merely 'highly suspicious'.

I would like to grab the u/s person before they get going, so I wondered if there was anything I should say that I wanted paid special attention to - like look closely in this area or at that organ. You know how if you have an u/s on your abdomen, if it's related to the liver, you expect them to be focusing in the URQ area, not down by your belly button.
I don't trust this vet to ask for the right thing, so any suggestions or things I should say at the start would be most appreciated.

And yes, I intend to be at the office just waiting the whole time. I don't think I have the balls to watch it all, but I do want to get her out ASAP and back home.
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326 +1~277

Does Shadoe snore? And don't say you have an acrocat with no physical signs. :-D "Bowling ball on legs". That's classic. Potbelly is pretty much in the top 5 physical characteristics. Go read the acrotracker, look at what people have reported in their cats. All of them are different, and some actually never developed any external signs, but potbelly is way up there LOL

Also while in the acrotracker, notice how many females there are. I'd bet it's almost a 50-50 split.

u/s... never did that for any diagnois of leo except when he had hepatitis, so have Jojo confirm, but you're looking for enlarged organs, particularly heart, kidneys and liver. That was all quite clear on the xrays I had done on him when I got him. And def get baseline xrays, they will come in handy later, esp on organ size changes.
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326 +1~277

Yup, bowling ball on legs, that's my chunky monkey.
Here, I just thought she was eating too much :lol:
I will have to get a picture of her; she truly looks and feels like a pregnant female kitty ready to give birth any minute.
That's why I said I tried a flank shot only once, she is so taut. Pinch an inch? I can't even get a mm on a loose day!

No, she does not snore, but then maybe I just don't hear her cuz my hearing is not the best!
Yeah, I figured that the Xrays would be good to have for sizes, so I will arrange for them as well.
We will see what the u/s shows up and go from there.
 
Re: 3/8 Shadoe amps 326 pmps 308

Despite the pink start to the evening, Shadoe seems to be feeling pretty good.
Maybe this dose is starting to work, and maybe the R is helping a bit.
Whatever the reason, she's looking more relaxed.

We'll see what the R can do tonite to bring her down a bit; maybe a nice yellow surf again?
 
I will have to get a picture of her; she truly looks and feels like a pregnant female kitty ready to give birth any minute.

Shadoe just called Six...she is insisting you stop spreading false rumors of her pregnancy in LL immediately!!!!!!

As I was reading your earlier posts, I thought snickering to myself if only Shadoe were pregnant and then you mentioned it!

Really interesting to learn the potbelly can be a feature of an acro kitty.
 
Shadoe's on her way back up; the yellows are done.
It's +4 and I am going to bed.

Tomorrow nite, we increase to I guess 14u, unless something thinks we should increase by more than just 1u.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top