3/2 Shadoe pmps 374 +5 148 IAA = 7 / negative

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday's recap:
409 - amps (11uL only)
365 - +1
225 - +6 (came home sick)
392 - +10
461 - pmps (11uL & .5uR)
441 - +1
376 - +2
385 - +3
395 - +4
400 - +5 (shot .5uR)
302 - +6
313 - +7
371 - today's amps (11uL only)

If you looked at Shadoe, you would not see the stubbornness and fight she is putting up lately. I commented earlier that it's getting like a tug of war - I think I am winning, only to be yanked back by Shadoe - with steps forward followed by stumbles backwards. There are some good things so I have to say that it's much better than at dx, but still...

Yesterday, I was glad to come home sick and catch what would turn out to be the only yellow of the day. Nice. :-D Unfortunately, it was downhill or up the color ladder from that point on. She went up and up, and even her pm shot seemed to do nothing. Only the R at pm shot and +5 seemed to kick her numbers down a bit but otherwise, she refused to recognize the Lantus. I just stared at the meter with each test, wondering if the insulin was bad or the meter was broken. I kept thinking how can you shoot 11u and have nothing happen? :shock:
Shadoe ate less that two 3oz cans of food yesterday plus her snacks after each test, and LB action was fine, if a bit stinky. She just was not feeling anything from the Lantus. Only when she got some R did she purr. Shadoe likes the feel from that teensy bits of R.

So, this morning was cycle 4 at 11u Lantus; tomorrow nite we will increase to 12u.
Tonite, at pm shot we will go with .75u R and see what that little increase does for Shadoe's numbers.

That's about it for this morning. The AM test, shoot, feed is done, and Shadoe is off to sleep again, on Booboo's sunshine chair. oh oh, I don't want to be around when Booboo sees that! I imagine it will be like HALT, stare, then run off in a huff to hide. Booboo knows there is not a chance of getting Shadoe to budge from whatever spot she's chosen to sleep.
There is one little padded stool in the hallway that is ONLY Booboo's, and even Shadoe does not go near it. If I see Shadoe on that stool, I chase her off. Booboo likes that there's at least one or two things around here that are just hers.

The ciprodex is working well on my ear, so it's off to tbp for me and a rest for Shadoe's ears till tonite.

Lots of scratches, pats and cuddles for the kitties today and better than expected numbers for tests for the beans.
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371

Good Morning Gayle
Glad to hear you are feeling a bit better. Too bad you can't stay home snuggled
with the kitties.
Gayle and Shadoe said:
If you looked at Shadoe, you would not see the stubbornness and fight she is putting up lately. I commented earlier that it's getting like a tug of war - I think I am winning, only to be yanked back by Shadoe - with steps forward followed by stumbles backwards. There are some good things so I have to say that it's much better than at dx, but still...
You are going to keep up with that tug of war and win.
Shadoe has met her match in you.
Can't wait to hear what goes on at the vet today and hopefully some results
will be available.
Have a good day.
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371

I was just wondering if there is such a thing as oral insulin; I could just stick a straw in the top and teach shadoe to suck out enough to feel better haha_smiley

Yeah, I am trying to keep my mind off the vet visit tonite; I don't want to get hostile too early and burn myself out haha_smiley

I sure hope Max can find it in his tiny feline heart to give you a break on all his nose dives.
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371

Well, you sound very relaxed Gayle. I am going to tune in again later hopefully...after the 4pm showdown. :lol:
Until then, hope you have a nice day!!
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371

Wow. I missed the whole vet drama! I absolutely love that you lost it! That's always what I'm THINKING but can't bring myself to say when they give me the run around.

What day exactly did you send the blood out? Because I drew Pablo's on Tuesday, Feb. 16. It arrived Thursday AM but the lab didn't do anything with it until that afternoon (I called to ask!). I had the IAA results on Monday, Feb. 22 and the IGF on Friday, Feb. 26 by 3:00pm. Of course, I called them myself as an employee of my animal hospital, not the owner of the cat. But it seems like you've been waiting a long time to get no results at all. If you can get your vet to give you their client number (it's six digits, I think), you can call the lab personally. It's worth asking!

Also, regarding if Shadoe IS an acrocat (crossing my fingers not)...I don't know if you've thought about SRS, but I emailed Dr. Lunn yesterday to inquire about Pablo having it done this summer. I can keep you updated about Pablo's progress too, since he's officially an acrocat now. We can learn together! :-D I haven't started R yet, but that's to come soon, I suppose.

Good luck giving the vet a piece of your mind!
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371

Thanks Holly,
I am not thinking that far ahead; I think that SRS would be out of my price range, but that's for later consideration.

I took Shadoe to the vet's on Sunday morn Mar21/10 for the blood draw after fasting all Sat nite.
They KNEW that the samples had to be at the MSU lab, and NOT the mail room in plenty of time for the Wednesday tests. The vet claimed that she called at noon on Friday for the status of the results, but was told they were not available.
I paid the overnite cost for the Fedex so those samples sure better have been in MSU's hot little lab hands by Tuesday at the latest.
The notes from the protocol sheet, which I printed and gave to the vet, said "Assays are set-up on Wednesdays, with results available on Fridays. Turnaround time is dependent on the date when the sample is received." That info tells me I should have the results on Friday, but which Friday? The vet should have had the smarts to have asked OK when, what date will the results be available.
It could very well be that this turnaround is according to the protocol, but my vet should have provided me with the dates to expect results.

As for the R, it is interesting, to be sure. Yesterday was a perfect example between the two insulins. I gave .5uR and 11uL at 6pm. The R kicked in nicely and brought Shadoe down a bit as expected. When the R fizzled out, and I expected that lantus to kick in .... nothing. Her numbers just went up. Gave a bit more R and down she came a bit, but the L, it was like it never even registered with her :YMSIGH:
So what they say about even just a tiny bit getting results, that's very true.

I'll know about the IAA tonite, then the acro on this Friday.
How it all pans out from there should be very interesting indeed!
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371

Hi Gayle,
I dont know if I have said this before. If so, its warranted to be said many more times.... You are a WONDERFUL advocate for Shadoe! I know it is frustrating for you, but hopefully people are learning both on the board and in the vet clinic from your persistence.

Anyway, just wanted to say!

Have a good day...and give them heck this afternoon (after 4...or maybe before 4...or at 4, lol)
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 +10.5 351 and IAA = 7 / negative

So far, so good. IAA is negative.

I showed up at the vets at 4pm and asked for the results.
The printed out the results sheet from MSU and it showed 7 - no range and under units was %.
I showed the vet tech that happened to be there and he made the same comment, so what's the range? I told him that he should familiarize himself with this test, and others, including the ranges and indications.
When I said I want meaningful info like a range and exactly what that number "7" means.
I told him I'll wait. It's a good thing he volunteered to call MSU and get more info.

While I was waiting, I said I want the Fedex info so that I can see the path and routing and dates as the package travelled from here to there. Apparently that info is in Shadoe's file which is locked away in the back haha_smiley Are they nuts? Whatever; that young dr is in tomorrow so I have to wait to talk to her about it. I intend to make it crystal clear that Shadoe is a patient of the establishment, not with just one dr. And if it has to be just one dr, I want the other dr; the nice one.

The vet tech came back and said that he first spoke to someone at MSU who really did not know anything helpful, but then he talked to a dr there and he was advised that anything between 10 and 20 would be significant, so we can consider this result, the 7, as a negative. I would still like to know what the 7 represents. What is this measurement, really? Could it be as mentioned before, that the 7 is sort of a runoff, a side issue related to something else, like acro?

So that is good for today; now I wait for the IGF-1 results on Friday.
We will go with 11uL and 1uR in about 30min.
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 +10.5 351 and IAA = 7 / negative

happy to hear shadoe's negative for IAA!
all i know (which is very little), a result greater than 20% is considered positive for IAA.
i'm sure high dose moms will be by with more information...
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 +10.5 351 and IAA = 7 / negative

Jill,
I am not done yet; I want more info from my vet's office about this test and it's not just for me, but for them. I want to force them to learn and understand what seems to be foreign to them.
I want that young vet or even better, the nice older vet to call back and get some more meaningful explanation for me. I need to know how come I got a 7 and not a 3 or something. What exactly is being measured and how come the range of 10-20 was given over the phone.
You know what would be awesome? I would love to have them provide some kind of scale, similar to those ranges on our ss. Like green is great, bloo not bad, yellow iffy, and pink and up is UGH. I am sure they MUST have some sort of scale there, and I want my vets to get it.
I also want to know if the number fluctuates or if that 7 is a stable number that's Shadoes, sort of like a constant type of value.

I am sure they are going to hate me soon and suggest I take Shadoe someplace else haha_smiley
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 +10.5 351 and IAA = 7 / negative

lol! gayle, i love how you're forcing them to learn! the next caregiver who walks into their office with a high dose kitty will definitely benefit. heck, kitties will benefit for the rest of those vet's careers...
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 +10.5 351 and IAA = 7 / negative

Great news to hear today finally.
I think a change in profession is in order.
You really are remarkable in sticking to your guns and getting them to wake up
to such an important issue.

One test done, one to go.
Paws crossed!!!!
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 +10.5 351 and IAA = 7 / negative

That's good new Gayle! Keep the faith that the R will start helping more. I see that Shadoe did see some BLUE! Maybe it was full moon madness...maybe not. And good for you to make people learn. Sheesh. This is stuff they should already know.
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 +10.5 351 and IAA = 7 / negative

I am glad that you have some answers for now although it took a lot of hard work on your part to get them. You probably could have hand delivered the blood in the time it is taking to get the results.

I think what you are doing with your vet is great and the benefit of what you are trying to do will certainly help other kitties.
I hope Friday comes quickly for you.....I know waiting is the hardest part. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 pmps 374 and IAA = 7 / negative

Shadoe seems quite happy now, shots done, 11uL and 1uR.
Let's see if the R can keep her a bit lower till the Lantus kicks in.

Jill,
I forgot to mention - I took some printouts with info about SRS for them. I am pretty sure they don't know about that since they did not know about the tests :-D
I'll get them educated whether they want it or not.
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 pmps 374 and IAA = 7 / negative

goooooo Gayle!!!! I'm glad the IAA came back negative, at least that narrows things down quite a bit. You're doing great and you're learning a lot, quickly.
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 pmps 374 and IAA = 7 / negative

You are incredible. The vets and staff at that clinic will be forced to learn in spite of themselves!
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 pmps 374 and IAA = 7 / negative

Congrats on the good news, so far. I would hate to be on your bad side .........
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 pmps 374 and IAA = 7 / negative

You go, Gayle! So happy the IAA is negative!!! One down, one to go. Good for you giving them the what for! I am on the verge of going to vet school myself...unbelievable how these experts don't know a whole lot and don't seem very willing to learn.
 
Re: 3/2 Shadoe amps 371 pmps 374 and IAA = 7 / negative

What Kelly said! I totally agree... :razz:
Good results so far...you are a WARRIOR!!! :thumbup
One down, one to go....so far this is good...!!! Good going Gayle! :-D
 
Re: 3/2 Shado pmps 374 +1~338 +2~265 +3~223 IAA = 7 / negative

I see the yellow. Getting close to Blue.
Thinking of you Gayle. Hoping for good results, as always.
 
Re: 3/2 Shado pmps 374 +1~338 +2~265 +3~223 IAA = 7 / negative

And we have blooo!
Let`s see what we get for a +5 now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top