10/22 Weezer AMPS 238

Status
Not open for further replies.

Linda for Weezer

Member Since 2011
All is well in Weezer World.

Prayers of healing for all in need today.

Yesterday's Condo

Recap of yesterday:
AMPS 216
+3 200
+5 213
+7 232
+11 243
PMPS 245
+4 239
+10 217

Well, no official blue yesterday, but mighty close.

I can see a definite improvement in her eating pattern. She's not starving all of the time. She eats a healthy amount, then leaves food in her dish for later. She was a grazer before FD and it looks like she may be again, if permitted. Is grazing OK, as long as she eats with her shot, but not for the 2 hours before preshot testing?

Wish for a kitty Saturday for all, purrs, play, sunny spots and lots of love.
 
Good morning, guys!! My Willie is a grazer too. While it is best to get most food in before +4 or +5, as long as you're not feeding within those two hours, you should be okay. I actually walk in the door right about shot time, and it's just me and Willie, so I've got no control over when he eats during the daytime cycle, at least during the week. The reason you want to front load the cycle as much as possible is that food will raise numbers, so you want Weezer to get the bulk of his food intake when the insulin in his system is at its strongest to pull those numbers back down. The insulin's effect is weaker on the back half of the cycle, so if a large meal raises numbers, Weezer's pancreas may be less effective at pulling those numbers back down.

That said, I'm out the door by +2 in the morning most days and am walking in right around +12, and Willie typically does great. I see in your signature that you're transitioning to homemade... I hope it is going well! I find that Willie does best on homemade... the best part is that he is so fluffy that you just can't help but want to snuggle him all the time! Okay, good for me... maybe not so much for him?? :lol: :lol: :lol:

Hope you have a great weekend!
 
Hi Linda, that's great that Weezer is doing so well on the raw. Maggie is also a grazer, and you have some great advice from Christie on the front loading. I leave fuds out for Maggie when I'm gone, as when she gets low, she knows to self feed herself. I also try and not feed anything within the two hour slot before shot time, but admit I sometimes don't quite make it in the mornings, but it's close enough! Weezer looks like he may see some blues. Have a great day.
 
Sandy, on the does increase, since Weezer has made blue on most days on this dose (this morning was the 7th cycle) I was thinking we could hold for the 5-7 days specified on table 3A of the Queensland study. What would be the advantage of moving it up earlier?
 
Almost blue yesterday....hopefully, blue today! Glad things are good in Weezer's World ;-)

Have a good day, Linda! Hope it is not too chilly in your part of Florida..... ;-)
 
Well Weezer sounds like she's doing alot better with the eating. Leo is a grazer as well, i find i can feed him pretty much anytime in the front half of his cycle, then feed him a snack again at +8 and he will generally double dip and his BG comes back down for his PMPS. ECID i suppose, but you'll find out what works best for your Weezer.

Have a happy Caturday!
 
Glad Weezer is eating better for you! We feed Calistica every 3 hours. This schedule works better for her but I'm not sure how it will affect her BG tests.
 
Nice to hear that Weezer is eating better and back to her usual grazing. If Simon likes the food I put out, he scarfs it down in a second...no grazing for him! Of course, finding the food he likes is the problem. Have you tried an automatic feeder? That way you can just put a small amount in each compartment and set it to go off at certain times, with plenty of time before testing time. That way you have a little more control. It has been a lifesaver for me, especially in the wee hours of the morning.
 
FWIW, I agree with Sandy. If you have a cat that you know is a slow responder, I'd hold the dose a little longer but not for Weezer. The modified Tilly protocol that we use states:

if the cat is continuously producing moderately elevated BGs (nadir always >=200 mg/dl), increase the dose every 2-3 days by 0.25 IU ( if the cat is getting a low dose) or 0.5 IU (if the cat is getting a higher dose).

Gracie was also a grazer....whenever she was hungry, she'd tell us and we'd feed her....many, many small meals all day long. Now we have a schedule (unless she's really low like today and I have to feed to manage the curve). We try to avoid feeding her anything at/near/after her nadir (unless, again...she is low and I have to bring her up) unless she is absolutely starving. If she is, I give her about .1 oz of boiled chicken breast and that holds her over. And you are correct, best to not feed anything between +10-+12.

On the wine:

Trinitas 2009 Chardonnay, Proprietor's Reserve :-D
 
Linda,
Weezer is looking good! My kitties are also grazers. I just don't feed Missy those two hours prior to testing, but otherwise I feed them when they want to eat, making sure Missy doesn't exceed her calorie allotment.
It was her asking for more food that made me do a check on her, when I found she relapsed. :sad: Food was a lot lower priority when she was OTJ.
Hope Weezer keeps looking so good!
 
Linda for Weezer said:
Sandy, on the does increase, since Weezer has made blue on most days on this dose (this morning was the 7th cycle) I was thinking we could hold for the 5-7 days specified on table 3A of the Queensland study. What would be the advantage of moving it up earlier?

I see you did raise the dose, hope this one shows some action! And thanks to Majorie for the reference.

It's time to lose the yellow. Blue is trying to get it's foot in the door!
I could be wrong but I think 7 cycles at 2.5 showed all it was going to.
 
HI guys!! Good luck with the new dose - I hope it gets Weezer out of the yellows and down to the blues.

fwiw, Mannie is a scheduled feed... no grazing.. he'd eat it all right off the bat anyways, so scheduled feeds works best for him.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top