2/3 Mally PMBG 88, +2 60

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & Mally

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

Good Morning!

Mally is doing great this morning and she is starting the day with the lowest AMPS she's had yet. She ate a good breakfast and is following her normal routine of a bath after eating. I've been able to catch her in the LB several times over the last few days and everything is perfect in that area.

The other day I caught her sitting at the sliding glass door staring out onto the deck. It was sunny out and I know she really wanted to go out and lay in the sun. In the warmer months she spends a great deal of time out there sleeping on a lounge chair. The deck is connected to the top level of the house and doesn't have any stairs leading down to ground level, so when the cats go out, they're confined to the deck. As soon as it warms up, Mally can get back to her sun baths. :smile:
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89

Chris I am so happy for you and Mally. She is doing so good!!! :thumbup Great job Chris. Glad to see you got some sleepus last night.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89

Thanks, Paige! :smile:

Mally was impatient to get to bed last night. She kept watching me and waiting until I was ready. Once everyone was situated in bed and I turned out the light, she snuggled up right next to me.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89

Very nice AMPS for Mally this morning...even with the recent dosecrease! No wonder she feels so good. :thumbup

Hope you get a pretty green surf throughout the day! :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89, +1 68

Thank you, Nancy! :smile:

Down a little bit at +1. She ate a really good breakfast and I expected to see a spike at +1 but then again, I know all too well to always expect the unexpected. :smile:
 
2/3 Mally AMPS 89, +1 68, +3 40 EYES Please

At +3 Mally is at 40. I gave her some 10% FF to help bring her numbers up a bit.

Where do we go from here as far as insulin goes??????
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89, +1 68, +3 40 EYES Please

I dare say you are about to be initiated into the "2 drop Club".
It's a blast!
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89, +1 68, +3 40 EYES Please

She's on .1 now, which is two drops. This morning I measured her .1 dose and shot it into the air and it was just two drops. New syringe - measured again and did the same thing - two drops. The third time around, with a new syringe, I gave her the shot.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89, +1 68, +3 40 EYES Please

I just saw your post. How long do you have until PM shot?
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89, +1 68, +3 40 EYES Please

I'm sure Jill/Libby/Heather/Cassandra or one of the others will be by before PM shot time, but you may be to the final dose after .1 :-D

Great job!!
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89, +1 68, +3 40 EYES Please

ah, ok. I never attempted to see what 0.1U looked like drop-wise. I did try to measure 0.05U a.k.a. 1 drop, and discovered that nothing comes out of the syringe. Now I'm using my old U40 syringes from Donovan's Vetsulin days, and the "compress plunger, insert into cartridge, release plunger" seems to deliver that ONE precious drop reliably.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89, +1 68, +3 40, +3.5 53 EYES Please

I have 8 1/2 hours until her PM shot. Plenty of time.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS 89, +1 68, +3 40, +3.5 53 EYES Please

Wow! I knew from the beginning that Mally was going to do great!! You worked hard! Let's see what the others say, but Mally maybe the next party!! :mrgreen: Paws & fingers crossed!!
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57

She's up a little bit and I gave her a little more food to keep her surfing. It's funny, there's plenty of food out for her, but she doesn't go to the bowls to eat - I have to bring the food to her. I put it in front of her and she eats just fine.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57

Mally is doing fantasic. Not sure about the dose, but it looks promising that she will go OTJ.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57

Wow Chris Mally is doing fanstatic. I don't know how you can go any lower than 0.1 FOr that matter I don't even know how you can measure that :shock:

Go Mally Go!!! party_cat
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57

Ha, Paige, the way Webber is going, you're going to get to that .1 sooner than you think! Libby supplied me with a picture of the .1 dose - bless her soul. I practiced with colored water and then some milk. That dose is the lowest I could possibly measure!!! :smile:
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57

I wonder if people will suggest a dose of fat zero... I know that it sounds absurd, but it's been done!
The purpose would be to help Mally a little while longer.
Let's see what other people have to say.... otherwise, it's the 'spirment'.... :-D
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64

A fat zero????? Someone is going to have to measure those out in syringes and send them to me. :lol:
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64

index.php

just in case u need it, its in this stickie, scroll down, u may have to zoom in - start practicing!!

awesome day for Mally - nice work!! :thumbup
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64

Trying to measure one single drop is just not going to happen. As it is, the .1 dose is only two drops and it's difficult to measure. I know people measure one drop all the time, but I really don't see it happening with me. As it is, with just two drops in her today, Mally went into the 40's again.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64

Fantastic! I'm showing this to Basil, so he'll get the idea. Keep going, Basil. Keep going.

I know how you feel about the one drop. I'll be interested to see how this plays out.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64

Chris & Mally said:
Trying to measure one single drop is just not going to happen. As it is, the .1 dose is only two drops and it's difficult to measure. I know people measure one drop all the time, but I really don't see it happening with me. As it is, with just two drops in her today, Mally went into the 40's again.

Well, maybe it is time to try OTJ and just see how it goes.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64, +10 93

I am giving serious thought to not shooting tonight. I'll do her PMPS in 45 minutes but it's highly likely that I won't shoot.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64, +10 93

I'd vote with Helene.

How about practicing what MJ suggested -- depress the plunger as hard as you can, insert into cartridge, release and pull out. Use a paper towel (whatever) to see if there's any insulin in the syringe.

Mally has been here for not even a month. Whatever support we can give your kitty's pancreas to make sure the OTJ trial sticks, we should try. Of course, it's your decision.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64, +10 93

I went ahead and tried MJ's suggestion - twice. Both times there was only a tiny drop and the only way I could get the drop to come out was to push really hard on the plunger. That would mean I would have to push the needle really hard into Mally to get the drop into her.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64, +10 93

Hi Chris, another exciting day for you and Mally I see.

It sounds like you are leaning towards no shot tonight.
The 'official' protocol says to reduce under these circumstances:
BG between 40-50 on three different days
BG within normal range 50-100 for a every day for a week
BG drops below 40 - just once.

Sooooo.... you are right on the line here and because of this you could do one of two things.
1. Try to shoot a drop
2. Start your OTJ trial

If Mally starts to lose these pretty numbers you can go back to the 0.1 dose as soon as needed.

This is your kitty and you are the one with the syringe. :lol: What is your vote?
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64, +10 93

Trying to get one drop into her would mean really pushing the plunger hard to get that one drop to release from the tip of the needle.

My vote for tonight is no shot.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64, +10 93

I think that all you do is inject as you usually do...not harder...
but when you depress the plunger, hold it in and then slowly extract the syringe...
(if you inject and then release the plunger, you might be sucking that little drop back into the needle.)
so don't press any harder into her...just keep the plunger depressed...
did I explain that properly?
the little insulin drop will go into her system as you are pulling out the syringe...
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64, +10 93

Chris & Mally said:
Trying to get one drop into her would mean really pushing the plunger hard to get that one drop to release from the tip of the needle.

My vote for tonight is no shot.
:lol: Ok, now everyone support her decision! Trials are meant to be just that... trials. If it doesn't work, it is no different than a decreased dose that didn't hold.

Many of us didn't shoot less than 0.1unit and let's just hope Mally is ready. Some kitties go quickly to remission and Mally very well could be one of them. Wooohooo! :lol:
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64, +10 93

Thanks, CD. :smile:
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64, +10 93

I support! lol

(I thought Chris was a "he" :lol: )

Good luck Chris and Mally!! AMBG's here we come!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT :RAHCAT
 
Re: 2/3 Mally PMBG 88 - No shot tonight

I totally support your decision Chris. Mally lets give it a try ok? dancing_cat

You are gonna sleep tonigh Chris :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 2/3 Mally PMBG 88 - No shot tonight

LOL Ronnie! You thought I was a guy? :lol: You did not read my profile cause I just knew that with the name "Chris" people might think I was a guy so I made sure to put in the profile that I'm a woman. :lol: I have "boob-a-bees (as my 4 1/2 year old grandson calls them) to prove it. :lol:
 
Re: 2/3 Mally PMBG 88 - No shot tonight

:roll: lol, ok, I saw it now...lol!! Hey - no kiddin'? I get that all the time :lol: Luna too!

Your pet family is gorgeous by the way.
This is so exciting!
 
Re: 2/3 Mally PMBG 88 - No shot tonight

Ok. So now you test at the preshot times... only no shot. :-D Feed small meals throughout the day so the pancreas won't be over taxed. Don't panic if you see a blue number... re-test in about 3 hours after a small meal to see how the pancreas handled the job.

You are looking for numbers to be in the 'normal range' pretty much all day, for this to be successful. Mally hasn't spent a lot of time on the micro doses so this may not hold. But we can be optimistic, right?
 
Re: 2/3 Mally PMBG 88 - No shot tonight

Drum roll........ The gum chewing begins. I hope the journey, the otj trial is a success. We will be looking for those numbers!
 
Re: 2/3 Mally AMPS +3 40, +3.5 53, +4 47, +5 57, +8 64, +10 93

Chris & Mally said:
Trying to get one drop into her would mean really pushing the plunger hard to get that one drop to release from the tip of the needle.

My vote for tonight is no shot.

I am totally with you on not wanting to press the plunger harder. I have done this a few times thinking I needed to get every drop into Sami and it only hurts her. I would rather do a trial run on OTJ before I hurt her with every shot.
 
Re: 2/3 Mally PMBG 88 - No shot tonight

whhheeeee!!! this is so exciting!! good luck!

don't get discouraged if you get some bloo numbers in there; sometimes it happens... nailbite_smile .... let the countdown begin!!!!
 
Re: 2/3 Mally PMBG 88 - No shot tonight

Good luck!! I'll be watching, and telling Esse to please hurry up and read these condos...

Best-
Michele
 
Thank you, everyone, for wishing Mally well. I really do appreciate it!!!

We'll see how this goes and I will continue to test her and get several numbers throughout the day. If it turns out that her body needs a little help again, then we'll give her the help she needs. We're just going to take this one day at a time. :smile:
 
FWIW, I was unable to get The Magic Drop with U100 syringes. I tried it with some leftover U40 syringes and it works well. Maybe it's dependent on the brand of syringe - dunno. All I know is I squished the bejeebus out of the U100s and got nothing. I didn't realize this until a couple of days of injecting that way and his numbers started to creep up because he was just getting insulin "air" :roll:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top