1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 We rose

Status
Not open for further replies.

Randi & Max (GA)

Member Since 2009
Happy Old Timer's Day Everyone
6th cycle 5.75u

+2 402??

Max has had very nice numbers and curves these past 2 days. I just find it strange that he keeps starting in the 400's when he has not done so in along time.
When do these high AMPS #'s start coming down after really nice 12 hours?
Very odd that his +2 has not moved. It did not look or feel like a fur shot. How disappointing that would be after such wonderful momentum.

I guess I am staying on this dose for the 10 cycles based on his beautiful blue and green?

WCR: Ate a nice breakfast. Ketone test neagtive. I was finally able to get a sample.
No urine on the kitchen floor this morning. I placed a new litter box in the most unprivate place, right at the kitchen door and DH saw him in the litter urinating. No straining. I hope it is just a matter of retraining him becasue I cannot leave this box where it is for too long. Well some progress for now.

Have a great day!!

Yesterday's Condo
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401

Good morning Randi and Max!

that +2 is ok, often similar to preshot, plus u gotta food in there too.
if it was a furshot, u'll know it soon enuff!

glad to hear neg on ketones and no peepee mess yet! Paws crossed for that.

have a good day and hang in there ok? :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401

Max is still bouncing from blues. This is LTS. He's bringing his numbers back down -- which is very good. This is the part of the dance that takes patience!
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401

Morning Randi...just wondering too if he goes in the kitchen again, maybe spray a paper towel with some perfume or Febreeze or something and leave it on the floor so that might deter him from going anywhere near the area. Removing the fountain might do the trick anyway. Does he go anywhere else in the house?

His numbers today are just barely into the red...so considering it's just the 4th day on this dose, maybe a little waiting is in order.
All things considered, it is never as easy or as quick as we would like it....you are doing everything you can and doing it RIGHT...and it will pay off eventually! :YMHUG:
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401

I hope Max's new dose settles in soon. I'm sorry to laugh, but the image of the litter box in the kitchen doorway is one of those only-an-animal-lover-would-understand things! Made me flash back to when we were training a puppy and had newspaper trays in every room. My (non-animal-loving) parents came by and you should have seen the looks on their faces!
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401

:lol: Isn't that the truth Lydia....
You should see some non-animal lovers' faces when I say I am giving my kitty insulin injections....
one of them actually said "But they ARE only CATS, right?" as if they didn't have the right to be healthy....
or to have any added attention given to them. (My Raja is now OTJ which would not have happened if I had done nothing.)
Some people just cannot understand...."Just pardon the litter box in the kitchen...my kitty pees in inappropriate places on the kitchen floor and we are trying to get him out of the habit." :lol: :lol: :lol:
We ALL understand HERE...that is part of the beauty of this board....
:lol: :lol: but OTHER people...uh...No..... :roll:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

BTW...I have that plastic runner for the rug by my small bathroom door...I have put all sorts of products on the rug itself to get out the lingering smell of accidents....and the plastic runner eliminates the rug so they don't make mistakes anymore...but who would understand that? Only US here, right? :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401

Pat+Raja+Shadow said:
Morning Randi...just wondering too if he goes in the kitchen again, maybe spray a paper towel with some perfume or Febreeze or something and leave it on the floor so that might deter him from going anywhere near the area. Removing the fountain might do the trick anyway. Does he go anywhere else in the house?

I am going to clean the kitchen floor again and pulled out the Febreeze. He used to go in one spot on my basement carpet, I don't know why the kitchen started to get his attention.
I sent a shopping list to my mom in florida to send home with my dad a feliway difuser for the kitchen and the cat attract sprinkles for the boxes. I'll have them monday. Crossing fingers until then.
Lydia and Basil said:
I hope Max's new dose settles in soon. I'm sorry to laugh, but the image of the litter box in the kitchen doorway is one of those only-an-animal-lover-would-understand things! Made me flash back to when we were training a puppy and had newspaper trays in every room. My (non-animal-loving) parents came by and you should have seen the looks on their faces
Well DH the pet lover is not happy about that, especially that there are 3 cats in the house so now they are all checking it out. I will move it slightly to my dining room. This is now in prime knapsack real estate (kids)
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401

I feel your pain. I have litter boxes all over my bedroom, as well as cheap throw rugs and puppy pee pads to catch the stuff where he really pees and poops. I never in a million years thought I could live with an IE problem cat. I remember back when my house was pretty, not decorated in kennel chic.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401

Hi Randi,

If it comforts you some, I would have put a little box in the kitchen too if I had to! :-D
Looks like Max is going for the rainbow award! I hope the bounce clears soon.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401

Well I moved the litter box just out of the kitchen and into the dining room, (right around the corner) I found Max in it earlier.
We were out this afternoon. Based on Max's morning numbers and his bouncing I figured he would be okay.
Just got home and found Max sniffing around the kitchen area where he has been urinating on the floor.

Thank you Pat for the Febreeze on the paper towels idea!!!. I had lilac scent I think which cats don't like. He was sniffing and sniffing and he sat down on a towel. I picked him up, put him in the newly postitioned litter box and one big long pee.
Glad I caught that one. Looks like I need to do some retraining and teach him again that the litter box is where to go.
Now I have to stock up on febreeze until I get him trained and imported from the states cat attract!
Ronnie & Luna said:
hows Max doing?
Clearing the bouncee's I hope!!
No poking fest for him today. He was happy when we got home though. 1/2 hour to test time.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394

Libby and Lucy said:
time for more blue tonight, Max?
time for more blue tonight, Max? :mrgreen:

I hope Max listens to you Libby.The last 2 days were so exciting for us.
It would be so nice to see a dose start to settle on him soon, at least for a while.
I'll be testing him to see if maybe he will start to come down.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270

Finally Max broke through the pinks today. 120 point drop in 2 hours.
Interesting. Maybe Mr. Liver realized that it was okay to come down.

Funny how you know they are feeling better. For the first time in a while Max came to sit on my lap on the couch to watch tv, then laid down next to me and let me give him a good rubbing.
He even came to the kitchen after his test to eat his dinner instead of being served on the throne.
Crossing fingers that tomorrow looks better than today!
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270

Good job Max, glad to see you are out of the pink. Let's see some blue now.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97 *Help please*

Okay so it is +4 PMPS and Max dropped almost 200 points ins 2 hours. I still have another
2 hours to go before he usually goes the lowest.

I need to work on a low numbe instruction list so I guess i will have on hands experience.
This is a first for me. What do I do?

ETA: he had 1/4 FF an hour ago, in addition thp the 1/2 at PMPS.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97 *Help please*

97 is a safe number. No worries. "Low" is in the 40s so you have plenty of time to think this through and have a plan.

You will want to test in anywhere from 30 to 60 min. Since this is new territory for you, test in 30 min. so you get a feel for how quickly (or not) Max's numbers move. When you test, if his numbers are above 50, and I expect they will be, feed Max a few bites of LC (1 - 2 teaspoons or about 1/8 can of FF). Your goal is to keep him surfing as long as possible in the 50 - 60 -70 range.

If his numbers are in the 40s, I would try MC food and test in 15 min.
If his numbers are less than 40, feed HC.

You've seen lots of beans steer numbers. You are in control of this. You have strips and a meter and you have food. It's really all you need.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97 *Help please*

you can feed 2 tsp of LC food to see if that slows the drop. Then test again in an hour (or 30 minutes if you're Ronnie!).
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97 *Help please*

Libby and Lucy said:
you can feed 2 tsp of LC food to see if that slows the drop. Then test again in an hour (or 30 minutes if you're Ronnie!).

2tsp now and test in 30, or wait to 30 and then give tsp. I'll proxy test for Ronnie.
Sienne and Gabby said:
If his numbers are in the 40s, I would try MC food and test in 15 min.
If his numbers are less than 40, feed HC.

What do you consider MC. All I have is regular FF and marinate chicken feast FF.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97 *Help please*

No food given since by the times I tested, posted and answers 1/2 gone

Now he is at 76
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97 *Help please*

feed now, then test in 30 to see if the food slowed the drop.

Does the marinated chicken feast have gravy? I know the Grilled Chicken Feast does.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Libby and Lucy said:
Does the marinated chicken feast have gravy? I know the Grilled Chicken Feast does

Yes it does have gravy. What would a can of MC be. I don't want to start looking through J&B list. Guess I will need to do better shpping tomorrow.
I have some contraband cans downstairs I was going to donate to a shelter. I will go see if there is something medium range.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

If you mix HC + LC you have MC. I give Gabs 1/8 can of FF plus some gravy and that will bump up her numbers nicely.

MC is anything above 10% but below 18%. I generally just mix the HC + LC. Some beans add Karo or honey (a few drops) to LC.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you mix HC + LC you have MC. I give Gabs 1/8 can of FF plus some gravy and that will bump up her numbers nicely.

Okay, I have the gravy. He ate up the 2tsp. He seems very fine but he knows something is up.
And the best is he went to the LB.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Another 30 minutes and he is now at 72 - slow drop.

Now what. Wait another 30 minutes with no food and test or do I give him another 2 tsp now and test in 30 minutes?
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

I would probably go with a little more LC to try to bump him onto a surfboard. Then test in 30.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Libby and Lucy said:
I would probably go with a little more LC to try to bump him onto a surfboard. Then test in 30.

I gave him a tsp while I waited for an answer. I can give him another tsp and will test again, countdown 20 minutes from last test or from when I gave food?
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Your SS looks like you are at +6. Take a look at Gabby's SS to see one way of handling times that are not on the hour or if you are testing more than once per hour.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

I just wanted to pip in to give you some support. Looks like you have everything under control and I hope whenever I get to these numbers that I can handle it just as well as you have. Great work Randi.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Sienne and Gabby said:
Your SS looks like you are at +6. Take a look at Gabby's SS to see one way of handling times that are not on the hour or if you are testing more than once per hour.
Thanks Sienne, I think I fixed it. I was counting on my fingers. Great for an accountant.
Let me know if it looks better know.

Dillan420 said:
I just wanted to pip in to give you some support. Looks like you have everything under control and I hope whenever I get to these numbers that I can handle it just as well as you have. Great work Randi.
Thank you Dillan. That is very kind of you. I have been waiting for 2 months and know it happens at night. No complaints for me. Better get the coffee going. Max is doing great!
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Hey Randi, why not make it 25 minutes instead of 20 minutes so you can see effect of the food. Not that 5 minutes is a big deal, but you asked and I figured you could split the difference between the test due in 20 minutes or testing 30 minutes from food. I'm babbling. Ha, ha!

Nobody has a stopwatch, at least I don't think so. This is exciting huh? GREEN!!!
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

I'm good to wait. We are both under control. I'd rather wait the extra 5 minutes and save food if we will really need it.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

SS looks good Randi.

What a great green surf! The numbers are just perfect!
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Just gave another 2 tsp of LC. Wait to test at 30 minutes.
I can't believe I took a teaspoon out of my kitchen drawer.
I wanted to be precise!!

Now he is fighting me with his ear but he seems to know to go between the living room for his
test and back to the kitchen for his food. His poor sisters. I am feeding them on the counter so there is no uncontrolled food lying around.

Thanks for staying up with me, even though I know Chicago is an hour behind me here, lol!
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

59 at +6.
Just gave another 2 tsp of LC. When am I checking again, same 30 minutes?
He's getting close to 50.
Am I still good with LC or should mix some gravy? We are at his typical nadir but cats are not typical.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Gee this is like having a newborn except their feedings were spread out longer than this.
Am I waiting 30 minutes again or 15?
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

30 minutes should be fine.

If you want to give a slurp of gravy, that will get him out of the 50's and get you to bed a little earlier (but won't earn him a dose reduction yet).
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Libby and Lucy said:
If you want to give a slurp of gravy, that will get him out of the 50's and get you to bed a little earlier (but won't earn him a dose reduction yet).
30 minutes should be fine.

If you want to give a slurp of gravy, that will get him out of the 50's and get you to bed a little earlier (but won't earn him a dose reduction yet).

I'm sticking this one out. Max a dose reduction?? I've been waiting for this.
He is being so good, full of beans and playing, go figure!
See you at the 30 minute mark with no gravy yet.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Randi & Max said:
I'm sticking this one out. Max a dose reduction?? I've been waiting for this.
He is being so good, full of beans and playing, go figure!
See you at the 30 minute mark with no gravy yet.

lol! the idea is to hold onto the dose for as long as you possibly can. :-D
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Jill & Alex said:
lol! the idea is to hold onto the dose for as long as you possibly can

Which dose, the 5.75. I want to keep him at this dose longer? I have no problem with that either. Whetever you think is best in the long run.

I'm not sure I understand.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Randi & Max said:
Jill & Alex said:
lol! the idea is to hold onto the dose for as long as you possibly can

Which dose, the 5.75. I want to keep him at this dose longer? I have no problem with that either. Whetever you think is best in the long run.

I'm not sure I understand.

lantus and levemir are known to have trouble pulling down higher numbers (pinks and reds). this is why you want to hang onto the dose as log as possible before reducing when you have a cat who is not yet tightly regulated. kwim?
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Jill & Alex said:
lantus and levemir are known to have trouble pulling down higher numbers (pinks and reds). this is why you want to hang onto the dose as log as possible before reducing when you have a cat who is not yet tightly regulated. kwim?

Learnt something new. Thanks Jill. I had a feeling that he should be staying on this dose as he is not even on this for 10 cycles yet so I am glad we have success the way you described.

Max turned the corner and we are back rising to 73!!!
This is terrific, IMHO.
So now what?
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

this is FANTABULOUS!!!
since this is new for him, i'd retest in 30 minutes to make sure he's continuing upwards.
if he is... leave some food out for him to nibble on before you got to bed.

awesome cycle! do it again, max!
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 *Help please*

Thanks so much Jill. I hope rebound will be short and swett after this.
I'm glad I was planning on doing as you suggested, just to make sure he did not go down again.
Good thing I have my daughter's FV to play while I am waiting this one out, lol.

And to think Sienne advised me this week to get my "low number instructions list" ready for my DPS during the days, I did not think I would have the actual hand's on experience.
I was so worried how I was going to figure the "rules" out and not bother everyone.

Well it went from Siennes' mouth to Gods ears because Max wanted to make sure I understood this and did it on my time!! I think I could do it now.
This was an amazing experience.

Thanks you so much again.
 
Re: 1/30 Max AMPS 401~PMPS 394~+2 270~+4 97+4.5 76 No rise yet?

Okay so I thought we were done.
he is at 69 now, which is the same as the 73.
Feed his regukar food and test again, when? or how much
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top