1/30 Morris AMPS 235, +8~35 and Updates

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brenda and Morris

Active Member
Good Morning LLanders ~O)
Happy Caturday & Happy Old Timers Day too! I wonder if I'm an Old Timer....I joined FDMB back in 2000 when Morris was first diagnosed, got him regulated on Humulin N and then dropped off. Only to return sporadically when I had a problem....my bad, didn't stay to help the newbies...not much good at it anyway. Then came back for what I thought was another round of regulation in August of last year, when I had to change insulin because Humulin was no longer working for Morris. We're still searching for that elusive "regulation", but he's much improved BG wise anyway.

Each day Morris is getting better...today he is eating a bit, but most importantly, he played with 3 toys during the night! :dizcat That is HUGE! He stopped playing a couple months ago when he started getting sick but I didn't notice until the explosive diarrhea started on Jan 3rd. So far today, we haven't seen the magical poo...can't wait to see it cuz the last one was about 18 hours ago and it was only semi-formed. But before that he was having 4-5 times a day total liqui- and pudding-poo. Sorry, it seems I've become obsessed with his BMs. :o

Hope everyone enjoys this lovely Caturday...beautiful and sunny here in Florida, a bit chilly but it'll warm up later. :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/30 Morris AMPS 235 Old Timer Me??

Well, that's just plain WEIRD...I'm right here across the bay from you and it is totally overcast and windy. Not very nice at all. Watch out...it's heading your way!
So nice to check in for the BM report of the day.... :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:
Only kidding...I know how awful things have been for you lately. And I am SO happy that Morris is playing with
his toys again and feeling so much better. I guess his eating is ok too?

You have been through so much with him over the past few months and it is so great to hear the good report.... :YMHUG:
(you gonna update when he goes? ;-) )
speaking of which...mine have changed their habits and now go later in the day...sometimes not at all. Just wondering if the
canned food does not have as much waste as the dry? Seems to me they go less with the canned....which is ok by me but I was
just wondering if it normal for kitties to skip a day...any ideas?
 
Re: 1/30 Morris AMPS 235 Old Timer Me??

Well, ahem, as you know, ECID. :razz: But before Morris started with the liquipoos on Jan 3rd, he gave me a prezzie every morning right after his breffus...and it was nice and hard like a tootsie roll. It seemed to me he poo'd less on the canned food, which was weird because when I first started feeding that SciDieLite many many moons ago I thought he was pooing less. But he never ate canned food, always dry until last year. I add a LOT of water to his food and, if he eats any dry at all, like now he is getting EVO low carb dry free fed, he will drink a ton of water on his own with it.

The vet that I saw last Saturday just had the tech call me to check on Morris for the second time this week...he might be a keeper after all...and after I told her that he hasn't poo'd yet in about 18 hours and that he is still not eating enough, she says he will be calling me a bit later to discuss.

Of course, you will get a complete update when the magic happens * * * ~~~~ * * * (that's supposed to be magic dust...LOL)
 
Re: 1/30 Morris AMPS 235 Old Timer Me??

Good morning Brenda ~O) ~O)

What a great WRC for Morris this morning!! Extra play time is sure a sign of a kitty feeling good & such an encouraging thing to see. :thumbup You deserve some good news after all you've been through with poor Morris.

Now if you could just get that poo situation straightened out. Come on Morris...give your bean a nice prezzie!

P.S. I've always appreciated your encouragement & will never forget your offer to help me get those dreaded tests on Bee. Don't ever feel like you don't help out the newbies! ;-)
 
Re: 1/30 Morris AMPS 235 Old Timer Me??

Could it be that he is working on firming it up still & that's why he hasn't gone yet? I sure hope that is the case!!! I think that's it's GREAT your new vet is checking up on Morris so much! Definately a keeper!! And wonderful news that Morris is playing with his toys so much right now!!!

You are a terrific help to us newbies! I totally value the opinions/advice/insight you have given me over the past couple of months since I started Morris on Lantus!

Sending magic poo vibes your way!!!
 
Re: 1/30 Morris AMPS 235 Old Timer Me??

Great news about Morris--When he leaves you a nice prezzie I will feel happy!
Hope you had a great time yesterday! Full moon party too--
Nice amps there Morris too!! Sending Hugs & positive poo vibes!! Happy Caturday! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:
 
Re: 1/30 Morris AMPS 235, +8~35, +8.5~59

Couple of updates:

Forget about the vet being a keeper...he never called me back :evil: ...good thing I didn't really need him, just wanted to know if I could/should do anything to bring on a magical poo. Monday I am calling the new vet office and scheduling him for a checkup and dental.

Regarding that magical poo...the magic still hasn't happened. :? I am SO hoping that it is because it is being firmed and prepped to perfection before it is delivered. He is eating pretty well now so anytime ....

Last but not least, gave him his +8 test (nadir time) and got a 35! :o :shock: Fed medium carb FF and rechecked in 1/2 hour, got a 59...crisis averted. :cool: Probably went that low yesterday when I wasn't home too. ohmygod_smile I think, depending on his PMPS, I will give one more .75 to help with the rebound and reduce back to .50. Before I know it, he will be back at .10. haha_smiley haha_smiley

Thanks for all the poopy vines, etc. Keep 'em coming! :YMHUG:
 
:idea:


flip_cat dancing_cat angry(2)_cat grumpy_cat Luna's Magical Pooh workout. :lol:

Nice catch at +8 Brenda!!!
 
maybe it's a good thing there was no magical poo, if Morris went to 35 even without it... Or does the magic go either way, depending on what you need it to do?

Dosecrease!
 
Re: 1/30 Morris AMPS 235, PMPS 137

I decided to go with the dosecrease after getting the 137 PMPS....so his new dose is fat .50u.

No magic yet...he ate some fresh shrimp for dinner and a little rotisserie chicken.
 
10:45 p.m. The Magic Happened - it was mostly liquipoo with three little solid pieces. Not bloody and not quite as stinky as before....I'm hopeful. party_cat
 
hey what was the panacur for on SS i see last week? guess i'll have to stop by tomorrow to see answer to that, you're prolly sleepus'ing by now.
oh yeah dosecrease time has started, now that whatever he had is clearing up insulin needs should go back down. did good, just as one should, raise dose when a diabetic cat is throwing 'is not well' higher numbers (it is when people do not do that they run into ketones, they look at how little cat is eating when not well and chicken out on raising dose even though numbers are screaming to and hence are giving themselves parts of the DKA formula!) and then it is usually a series of quick reductions when illness passes.
glad he is feeling better...think it will be time to phase out the dry soon if he is eating enough of what he should be? that would be good. would love to see him on 100% raw.

and yes in answer to the questions above~ stools are much larger (and stinkier) when a cat is eating dry. smaller on canned and tiny on raw. and the raw stool has no odor and has like no weight to it either. however on raw because they use so much of it and there is so little waste you might have a cat that pooped every 12 hours on dry that poos once every 24-36 hours on raw.
also a cat that drinks plenty of water on dry can totally ignore water bowl on canned or raw. my diabetic cat does not even know where water bowl is, i have never seen him drink (well once when he was flaring bad). none of my cats drink water except my hyper-t/CKD cat, before his kidneys got bad i would forget to change water and it literally would have dust on top.

coming up on 10 years huh? :mrgreen: me likey. bunny would love to have more company in the double digits of years on insulin.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top