1/29 Shadoe amps 464 pmps 373

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo

Yesterday's recap:
445 - amps
434 - +1
373 - pmps
412 - +1 (100ml SQuids at +1.5)
306 - +3
238 - +4
185 - +5
211 - +6
481 - +11 (I should have stayed awake!)

I am developing a complex; I go to sleep and Shadoe jumps onto some kinda trampoline and tries to jump through the numbers roof. :YMSIGH: She plays really nice, giving me nice slow dropping numbers, but only when I am watching cat(2)_steam I think she is just running outta juice too soon, what do you think?

This morning, Shadoe is fine; I am not. I KNOW she did not eat anything because Booboo's dry was covered, and I forgot to put a bit of something out for the few hours I was asleep. Maybe we have hi carb tap water in her water bowl :lol:

Shadoe woke me nicely just before her +11 time. After we got that sobering number, she was grateful for some chicken cubes while I got ready for work. I have been tracking her meals, the exact food types, carbs and calories; I just have to attach the info to her ss doc or maybe make a separaate one on the weekend.
Shadoe is now sitting all regal on one of her rugs, happy with some food in the belly and juice in the scruff. Life is good. :-D

Depending on how long it takes me to get ready, I may still be home at the top of the hour, so maybe I'll take a +1 and see if there is any movement. Eventually, I will want to take more +1 and even +2 before leaving for work for the day, that's if Shadoe ever decides that she is done with all pinks.
:YMSIGH: maybe next year.
 
Re: 1/29 Shadoe amps 464 dose tonite?

if u had stayed awake, u would of been a walking zombie this morning, perfect for full moon day!! fll_moon

is that a little double dip at +11/+12 today? awww....Shadoe did a little double dip!

When do u stop fluids anyway?

If ur around, I would get a +1, ya never know :-D
 
Re: 1/29 Shadoe amps 464 dose tonite?

Ok, Shadow boy is a close second behind Shadoe girl...he is 414...both wanting to wear red for the parties today?
hmmmm...
I hate the way they look in Red.... :sad:
Hang in there Gayle....as long as she is acting ok, there's nothing much we can do but hold on for the ride.....
 
Re: 1/29 Shadoe amps 464 dose tonite?

I am starting to think that Shadoe is a double dip girl, but I don't know exactly what would be classified as a dip and what is just a surfing meander through a color.
It's quite often that her +11 in the morn is higher than her amps, so I tell myself she is just happy that I am finally awake again and waiting on her hand and foot :lol:
Because of the red, I did stick around to get a +1 and it was going in the right direction. :-D

I waited last nite until I saw a number higher because it would not be good after seeing her go through all the colors, then go to bed a miss a chance to see her 2nd :mrgreen: but it was just the one blue then up into yellow, so it seemed like a good time to get a short bean nap.

For the fluids, I am not too sure. She seems to be happier after getting them, and I have seen the odd lick-the-lip thing, so who knows if her p-titus is cleared or just getting better or what. We are half way through the 2nd bag, and I am having troubles really telling when I have reached the 100ml mark for some reason. I stop and roll down the empty part at the top to get an idea of what's left below. Not sure why this bag is giving me problems at judging.

Shadoe is eating, but not lots. One day she chews the bowls clean, the next day, she leaves half in each bowl. I can't figure it out at all.

Either way, she seems to be acting fine, and I am getting better at reading when she is annoyed with me and does not want to play the test game. Too bad for her; there is no 'not playing' option.

Tell Shadow to get out his hottest tux, even if it's a red one, and Shadoe will be ready for the fll_moon dance.
 
Re: 1/29 Shadoe amps 464 dose tonite?

I tend to think what you may be seeing is the influence of the squids on Shadoe's PM numbers. Until you are able to discontinue the squids, I'm not sure how to best address lower numbers at night and high numbers during the day, especially since you're at work and can't tell whether it is just the squids or if Shadoe does really have lows during the AM cycle, as well. More spot checks over the weekend may help to sort this out.

For the purpose of trying to sort this out, could you also indicate in the +time units, when you are giving squids. I know you have listed the real time but it's hard to know what that means in relation to the PM cycle.

Do you know when you can stop the squids yet?
 
Re: 1/29 Shadoe amps 464 dose tonite?

Hi Gayle
I cannot comment on the fluids or her numbers other than to see, ughhh.
Some expert has to sit down and study the pattern to Shadoe's no-pattern.
The weekend is upon on. Maybe she will move the other way with you around more.
Tell Booboo to keep an eye on her.
 
Re: 1/29 Shadoe amps 464 dose tonite?

Thanks Sienne, so what do you think I can do though?

Even if I stop or continue SQuids in the eve, I still will have no visibility of BG numbers during the day.
I can test much more during the day hours on this weekend, similar to evening testing or even more if needed.

Now if the vet says OK stop the SQuids, then do I need to wait a length of time before deciding on a dose change? I would imagine that we would need to see some numbers that are not influenced by SQuids at all before deciding. If I stopped before tonite's SQuids, then would testing over the weekend be sufficient to make a decision for Monday?

The other possibility is that the vet says let's continue the SQuids, and then they would be a constant factor in the situation so decisions on dose would have to include the effects of the SQuids.

I will stop at the vets on the way home and see if I can have an answer before pmps tonite.

Shadoe's first SQuids were on 1/15/10 on 5.25u, and the next weekend on 5.5 then 5.75u, so there are recent numbers to show Shadoe's reaction to receiving SQuids at nite and the effects on the following weekend day times. Do we need to do yet another weekend at this dose, 5.75u, but with SQuids removed to be able to make a decision?

OK the nerve under my right eye is starting to twitch just thinking about the variables :lol:

Thus, the reason I asked others who would have the ability to see things more clearly.
I was thinking that we could go to 6u tonite, and I would have the entire weekend to see the effects with everything settled by Monday, factor out the fll_moon ohmygod_smile

UGH.
 
Shadoe's fine. She ate only half her food in the auto feeder today.
I am waiting to hear back from the vet on duty if we should continue giving fluids.
I am also moving Shadoe's shot times by 15min to get to 6am and 6pm so that I will be able to test +1 if needed.
 
Vet called.
She says it's OK to stop the fluids if Shadoe is doing fine, no seeming nausea or pain and eating OK and all LB is good as well. We will try it off fluids for the weekend and see how it affects her numbers.

This vet seems to think that feeding only their DM diet will magically cure Shadoe. Saying that the ingredients of DM are poor and carbs aren't better than what I am feeding Shadoe now made no difference. Apparently, this vet has also been seeing another person whose cat is diabetic and that cat's numbers drastically improved with just the change to DM. This vet is the same one who thought that this diet change would be a good treatment for p-titis! No fluids, no pain meds, no nausea meds, just feed the cat a DM diet!

Whatever, I'll stop by the vet's office tomorrow and see if the better vet is on duty.

So, no fluids for the weekend, and we will see how Shadoe's numbers change.
I foresee a ton of pinks and reds. :sad:
 
This vet seems to think that feeding only their DM diet will magically cure Shadoe


Is that like if we bottle Magical Pooh it will magically drop BG's? :lol: Man, we could be making a fortune by now with all the LL kitties that have learned to magically pooh!!


Now now, no negative thoughts....think positive, stay positive, I hate those terms, but they do wonders.
You can vent and whine - we are here to listen and lend a hug, always remember, Shadoe is doing so much better today than months ago! And all because of u Gayle.
((((( :YMHUG: )))))
 
Yes Gayle
The weekend is here and maybe its the time for something to click with Shadoe.
You know I was feeling the same with Max and we finally had our first ray of hope. Going nowhere fast for the past 2 months.
We are thinking of you and sending lots of yellowover to Shadoe.
 
what i see is a bad day. maybe a moon kitty. maybe SQ effecting, but you saw some decent numbers last night and you have got to remember what those feel like. and of course, i agree with everyone else that 1. shadoe is doing so much better and 2. you are an incredible bean mama. i think looking for a pattern when shadoe had p-titis might be a futile effort - can others respond to this?

now about that crazy vet... :lol: i hope you are able to touch base with the other one tomorrow.
 
I'd like to have Cassandra and Libby weigh in with some suggestions. If you've stopped the squids tonight, I'm thinking that 24 hrs of good spot checks may be enough to sort out if there are AM lows at this dose or if the lows in the PMs were only due to the squids.

Now that you've stopped the fluids, as a precaution, please test for ketones as much as you can.
 
Gayle and Shadoe said:
This vet seems to think that feeding only their DM diet will magically cure Shadoe. Saying that the ingredients of DM are poor and carbs aren't better than what I am feeding Shadoe now made no difference. Apparently, this vet has also been seeing another person whose cat is diabetic and that cat's numbers drastically improved with just the change to DM. This vet is the same one who thought that this diet change would be a good treatment for p-titis! No fluids, no pain meds, no nausea meds, just feed the cat a DM diet!

You can tell the vet that the vet that developed the DM canned food doesn't recommend it and wouldn't feed it to her cats - maybe that will get through to them. Yes, it is relatively LC and some cats can do well on it, but the ingredients are total crap. Liver as the first ingredient.....sigh.

I agree with Cheryl that you should be able to tell within 24 hours what the lack of SQuids will do to Shadoe's numbers. Do test frequently for ketones. I would increase to 6u tomorrow based on her numbers. Even with the blue in there, you have held the 5.75u for plenty of cycles. Really have to get more insulin in to bring those numbers down.
 
This post will complete yesterday's condo.

As expected, no good numbers, and Shadoe's actions reflected them. I fell asleep but she woke me for her +7 and kept walking all over me this morn to get up.
373 - pmps (645pm)
338 - +2
418 - +7
401 - +11
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top