1/28 Buzz AMPS: 205

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Buzz

Member Since 2009
Yesterday's condo:http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=4231&sid=5fd63b40b50653a5f0c40667403d1e3e

WCR: too early to tell, nothing unusual. Sorry for the lackluster report, Ronnie. ;)

Going to try to get a little more sleep, but I will get a +3.
 
+5.5: 403

Thanks for fixing the link, Pat. :)

I wish I knew what is going on with these #s. I'm sure you all wished I knew too so I would shut up about it. ;)
 
I wish I knew what is going on with these #s. I'm sure you all wished I knew too so I would shut up about it. ;)

Noooo.....we're used to it with new Lantus users. ;-) It's one of the reasons we have to tell people to forget anything they learned about other insulins.

She's going through LTS (liver training school). With the high numbers she has been in, she doesn't recognize the blues and greens (and sometimes even yellows) as normal numbers. Her body says :shock: :o and creates glucose in her liver through the breakdown of glycogen via glycogenesis. Once her liver/body is exposed to enough normal numbers, she will stop bouncing. The bounces get lower and shorter (that's why I said yesterday it was a good sign that she was clearing the bounces so quickly) and eventually stop unless you get a really low number.

Lantus/Lev are worked differently than other insulins like Vetsulin and PZI because we hold though the bounces rather than decreasing the dose to let them even out. There is no rebound check used here - just waiting for her liver to train and adjusting the dose as called for based on nadir.

She'll get there. :smile:
 
As always, Cassandra, thanks for being the voice of knowledge and reason (yes, you can put that on your resume). :) Everyone here in LL is always great about moral support, cheerleading, and advice. Thanks a million. :D
 
+9.5: 501
PMPS: 465

After that +9.5, I wished I hadn't done a test, but I'm glad to see she came down a little on her own (although it is within the 20% meter variation, so it might just be the same). I'll be getting a +4 in a little over an hour. Fingers crossed! :)
 
I'm keeping the faith, Sienne, even though it's hard. I know you guys know what you're talking about. :) I try to shush the little voice who rears its ugly head occasionally and says, "What if Buzz is the 1 kitty it doesn't work for and you've wasted all this time?". I think I will know (I hope so!) when it's time to give up, but I'm not there yet. :)
 
PM +4: 383

Ele, thanks for stopping by to check on us. Buzz loves her rainbows on Lantus, too. :) She is just a colorful kitty, I guess.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top