4/25 Tommy+8 292,+10 242, PMPS 229,+2 264,+5.5 101

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lauren&Tommy (GA)

Member Since 2010
Yesterdays Condo
Well, not so good last night. I'm thinking upping his R to .25u. I know it could be a lot of things why his numbers skyrocketed last night.
He's acting good, playing, being Tommy!
Have a Happy Monday LL :smile:
 
Re: 4/25 Tommy +11 504, AMPS 519

Libby, I'm sorry i didn't see your 4/24 post until after i gave .25R this a.m. I hope i didn't make a mistake by doing that.
The thought process behind the black numbers is Weird to say the least, but completely understandable @-) .
I will be around to monitor today.
As for you being at "work", I know nothing!! :lol:
Thank you for trying to make sense of the madness :-D
 
Re: 4/25 Tommy +11 504, AMPS 519

Hi guys .. sorry to see tommy so high this morning .. I hope the extra R brings him down some .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 4/25 Tommy +11 504, AMPS 519, +1R 439

Thanks for dropping in you guys, just took a look at Mocha's SS... She is doing awesome. I hope she's still enjoying her time at the falls!
Sure does give us kitties that are struggling with high doses and high numbers something to at least work for.
I hope you all have a wonderful day as well ;-)
 
Re: 4/25 Tommy+6 317~0.1R,+7 281,+8 292,+10 242

Doing my best to figure this out. I sure hope i'm on the right path.
 
Re: 4/25 Tommy+6 317~0.1R,+7 281,+8 292,+10 242

you're doing good. :smile: Right now we're trying to figure out about how many points drop Tommy gets from each dose of R, also taking into consideration what time in the cycle it is (they can often handle a little bit more R at the end of the cycle than at the beginning, because there is less Lantus action, but Tommy seems to like to clear his bounces in the last half of the cycle so he might not be one of those cats who can handle more). Then we can build a sliding scale with a plan for how much R to shoot at certain numbers (and then, because Tommy is a cat, he will immediately force us to change whatever plans we think we have made).

He has been bouncing off yellow, and he dropped fairly fast today so unfortunately he will probably bounce again. I have a couple of thoughts. One is that it is time to increase his lantus dose again, unless he keeps dropping into PMPS - we don't want to have so much fun experimenting with R that we forget about the basal dose increases. My second thought is that I still don't really understand what Tommy's black numbers mean. :lol: The goal should be to try to prevent him from going there - give the R *before* he gets that high. Last night, though, he really didn't give us a hint that your next test would be 503. This is also the first time he has stayed up there that long. I almost wonder if he dropped from black to yellow/blue and bounced back up to black again overnight. That seems crazy, but Tommy has had patterns like that before (4/22).
 
Re: 4/25 Tommy+8 292,+10 242, PMPS 229

I didn't see your post until i was done with his pmps , test, feed. I made the decision to not give R this evening because of the pretty Yellow number although i know he will go up no doubt before the Lantus starts to work. If i'm able to test at +3 and he's over 300 could i go ahead and give 0.1R or even .25R.
I don't know if you saw that i gave him .25R this morning since his numbers were really up there and backed it off to 0.1 at +6 since he was still at 317. I hope you're wrong about another bounce :razz: although i'm sure you're not.
As for increasing his dose yet again, at what point does one stop increasing and look for other problems. I'm wondering if i should just find a way to get those 2 tests done and the dental so we can rule them out. I'm going through pens like there's no tomorrow.
If having those tests done will shed some light on things, and i'm sure it will, then i will find a way to make it happen. I feel like we're so close!
I know what you mean about experimenting with R (trust me, this is anything but fun :-| ) I believe you said the goal is to not have to use R eventually and have the lantus do it's thing.
I wish i didn't have to use it at all on Tommy and his body would just accept the Lantus and behave like a good boy! :-D
 
Just to be sure of the +5.5 reading, I tested twice. The second reading was 99.
Also fed 1 1/2oz at this time to be safe. Tommy seems to be just fine with this number. He's not
behaving any differently. Greeted me with a "Meep" may i please have more food, and some loves. Oh, I'm sure
there will be a bounce, but for now, Happy Tommy, :smile: Happy Bean!!
I'll test again before his a.m. shot.
One last thing, I did not give R at p.m.
Sleep well LL.. I-)
 
The two tests:

IAA Test
IGF-1 (Acro) Test

I don't know if anyone has mentioned to you already - Lantus is said to sting at higher doses, and many switch to Levemir because it is more gentle and avoids the sting. I have noticed that Shadoe prefers Lev and does better on Lev.

While the two insulins may be handled/considered almost the same, there are differences, including guaranteed for 42days for Lev and some cats needing less Lev than Lantus. When switching from Lantus to Lev, it is advised to give less Lev and work up to the ideal dose.
Lantus & Levemir: What’s the Difference?

You may want to look into the cost and the arrangements for having the two tests done. Take prints of the two above sheets to your vet and ask to get an estimate of the cost for draw and shipping; the actual test costs may be negligible, but all the other costs add up.

Getting the tests done will let you know if you are dealing with a healthy pancreas or not. Until you have the tests done, you may want to keep BG above 100 because it is not easy to bring up the BG with food like normal DM kitties - some kitties will get even lower numbers by feeding because of the functioning pancreas.

You will not treat any differently after the tests, but you will have a reason for the resistance. If IAA is positive, you can be more aggressive and aim for green numbers, but if acro is positive, you need to stick above 100. You will still use your two insulins as needed.

ETA: You may think about switching to vials instead of pens; the vials may be cheaper for you now.
Also, seeing to the dental is more important than the tests because dental problems can cause a higher dose. Shadoe's dose dropped from 14u down to 2.75u after her dental.
 
Gayle, Thank you, I know about the costs of the two tests, have already printed everything out, just waiting until It can be afforded. Yeah, it sucks i know.
I have 5 pens already being shipped, but thank you for the thought since Tommy is taking so much right now, I understand what you're saying.
I am very happy with the Lantus for now.
I will keep a close eye on Tommy
Thank you for checking in and giving us input.
Tommy and Squirrel
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top