I am worried about Pippin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Deb and Pippin

Member Since 2009
He has always had high sugars a lot of the time, I got used to dealing with his high numbers pretty well but the past 4 days he has presented me with a conundrum.
He started being too low to shoot, I thought great, his pancreas is starting to function, a couple of times he got close to 200 so I shot a small dose, I think twice since wed, the rest of the time his numbers were good so I didn't give him any.
This morning he woke up to a bg of 68 and has been under 90 all day so far which sounds good but and a big but, ferrets shouldn't be any lower than 90, this is indicative of insulinoma which is the opposite of diabetes, it is prevalent in ferrets his age and is small tumors of the beta cells that over produce insulin resulting in hypo situations. I have been feeding a high protein meal every couple of hours but this is new to me, I dont know what is best to do to keep his BG up and the vet is closed until tuesday due to the holiday weekend (why do they do this on holidays???)
Any advice or suggestions will be very much appreciated.
 
((((Deb)))) I'm sorry you're worried. Pippin's insulin needs do seem to vary a lot, so maybe ferrets just do more of the up and down thing than cats do. Sorry I don't know anything about insulinoma, but I hope he doesn't have that. I hope he is just wanting to go OTJ again and there is no scary reason for it.

If he was a cat, I would probably suggest shooting a micro dose when he gets above a certain number. It looks like you've been shooting 180, but maybe try a smaller dose. It's possible that he is hanging out low just because this dose is now too high. A Lantus overdose can go on for quite a while, and I think it's possible that he could still have some shed action from yesterday's dose.

Would a little higher carb food help? I know he can't have a lot of variety in his diet.
 
I actually gave him a real no no which is dried papaya, he loves it but cant have it but its the only thing I knew he might eat to give him some glucose, ferrets when they reach a bg of <50 can begin seizures so I was afraid to let him get too low, a high protein meal and the papaya only raised him 20 points.
If he stays low I will try to add some carbs to his soup somehow, I got some baby rice cereal to keep on hand for such an emergency, man I am not used to worrying about the opposite of diabetes!
I am hoping you are right and he is just responding to the token dose I gave yesterday morning but it seems unlikely as he has only had a couple of those spread out over 4 days, I would think his shed is pretty darn low by now.
I will check him every so often and let you know what he is doing now, man ferrets are such little enigmas.

http://www.ferret-universe.com/health/insulinoma.asp
 
I'm glad you were able to get his numbers up a little. My goodness, Pippin is a cutie. I know that's neither here nor there right now, but I don't believe I've visited one of your condos before. I hope you get some answers from the vet. In the meantime, I hope Pippin's numbers get higher and more steady.
 
I hate to see that you're worried. Can't add any useful information, but I can send some healing thoughts and vines your way! At least you know that the dried papaya is Pippin's gravy, and you can bring him up. :YMHUG:
 
After several hours sleeping on the bed with a worried daddy he had some supper and he was 140, wheeeeew.
 
Yes it doesnt take long actually, within an hour he should have gone up quite a bit, but if his pancreas is making insulin I thought that might trigger more insulin so I dont know! I am sticking with the protein food and not giving any lantus unless he goes up substantially.
 
I remember when he was having those scary high numbers...

Glad he came up to a safe place for you. (( Deb ))
 
(( (DEB))))--I saw your post & had to reply--You know Pippin better than anyone, so you need to rely on your knowledge of
my favorite ferret--Hope he stays in good numbers, dont know the number of carbs in papaya, but arent banana & oranges
higher carbs & sugars??--They always give orange juice for human diabetes, so maybe??
No er docs by you?-Sending Healing vines to Pippin & hope this is his next OTJ--Big HUgs!! From Us!!!
 
Likewise here, Deb...many ((((hugs))) to you and Pippin.
We know you will make the right decisions.
Keep us posted ok?
You're both always welcomed here in LL!
 
howdy, pippin...i'm a newbie but we love ferrets...hope you're feeling better! do ferrets ever hang out at the beach with cats, cuz we'd like to see you. My unclebean had one that used to love to go for rides in his convertible.

Binks
 
His bedtime check was not too bad, 104 which is not too low so thats good.
The papaya I give him is dried so yes it has a lot of sugar in it and normally one piece would bring him way up but today 3 pieces brought him up by 20.
He has been eating a protein meal every 3 hours or so all day trying to keep him as even as I can now he isnt so low I had to worry.
In researching today I did find an article on one ferret who actually went into remission a year after diagnosis so maybe.................I dont know, we are going one day and one test at a time and will see how it goes.
Binks yes he loves car rides, I took him with me to the gas station and post office yesterday, he stood on the seat and tried to look out the window the whole way. Most ferrets should be in a safe carrier in the car but I know him and how he is and dont feel worried taking him for a short drive on the seat, he loves it.
 
Hi Deb. I just stopped by to say "hi". Pippin's ss looks mighty impressive the past week or so. Keep it up Pippin
but no scaring your mommy, k?
 
Hi Deb! Nice to see a condo for Pippin today, even tho is started out as a worry condo. Glad Mr. Pips numbers came up for you today, looks like the papaya did work for him. I am going to keep my fingers crossed that he is looking to go OTJ!!! Have a great evening!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top