8/24 Meadow AMPS 225, +10.5 46, PMBG 196

Status
Not open for further replies.

Amber & Meadow

Member Since 2010
It didn't look like Meadow ate anything while I was at work. I checked her BG at +10.5 and it was 46!! I got the HC canned food out and she refused. I put some in her mouth thinking the taste would make her want it, but she spit it out. I put dry food in a bowl with water in it, and she drank the water but left the food. Got LC canned food out, wouldn't eat it. Put milk in the dry food, ignored it. Gave her a hand full of treats, and she ate about 5. After racking my brain, I got the hairball gel and gave her some of that. It has high fructose corn syrup in it. I even gave her some of my country fried steak & gravy, but she turned her nose up. At +12, she was 196. Now I'm wondering if the +10.5 was wrong. Guess I should have checked again, but it was a good blood draw. I don't know what I'm going to do with her. The vet thinks it is time I put her to sleep. She needs to knock it off. I don't have time for her finicky ways.
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=23132
 
it might have been right, especially if Meadow isn't eating. Hairball gel was smart thinking!

I wonder if she needs an even larger dose reduction if she's not eating. I'm not sure how much, sorry. Safety is the most important thing.
 
I guess I won't shoot tonight, and in the morning, as long as it isn't low, shoot about 10u.
 
Good thought with the hairball gel! I don't think I would have thought of that. I don't have dosing advice, but wanted to say hi and that you should have *real* attachments in your e-mail. Sorry about that! Can you get some before bed (bean bed time) numbers? I wish I could help more. Chin up, Amber. It's tough when you feel like you don't have any control.
 
Posting again...I read through your post again and really feel your heavy heart. I'm not yet good at interpreting charts, but Meadow seems to have some prettier colors lately. I hope you can find some footing together.
 
Please smack your vet for me. Or find a new vet.

I don't recall if you've tried any of these on top of food:
Fortiflora
Crumbling freeze dried chicken or salmon treats
Parmesan cheese
tuna/bonito flakes
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top