7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh* UPDATE

Status
Not open for further replies.
That's why I've been off the boards again. Like I've said before, I just can't share when things are depressing for me.

Saturday morning he was fine. I thought he was a little whiny and maybe his thyroid was a little off and when I got home from work at about 12:30he was hungry and wanted a snack. I went to Pet Smart at about 2:00PM and got back at around 3:30 and when Alex didn't greet me at the door I thought something was wrong. I called him and he came over but it still wasn't right. He didn't have much interest in what was in the bags and after I unpacked them and tested him he didn't have much interest in a snack which is crazy unusual for him.

When it came time for dinner I had to call him several times (he's usually calling me) and just when I was getting ready to open the cans he bolted into the living room and threw up where I saw that it wasn't the first time that day. I called vet who told me to take temp and it was 103.2. I gave hm fluids and an AB per vet's instructions and Alex ate some but also had mushy stools twice that evening and was feeling like crap.

Sunday morning he didn't want to eat at all. He had no fever though. I got him to vet and he gave him more fluids, centrine shot and flagyl. he told me to give him small amounts of food during the day and to only give him a small amount of insulin because he's empty. THAT scared me because of his "look at me wrong and I'll throw some ketones" issues so I gave him some baby food and when he was 196 I gave him his full dose of levemir. Within 2 hours he was down to 99 and at +4 he was at 25. (add to this that he injured his leg badly somehow. He still has quite a bat of neuropathy and his legs slip easily. I think he jumped an sprained his back left leg and was in obvious pain. He growled when i got anywhere near the leg and wouldn't let me pick him up. I gave him bupe twice yesterday and it seems to be getting better). So I was on phone with Carolyn and we started feeding him Karo and Nutrical. I ran out to get kitten chow..anything he would eat(but he wouldn't eat it). Finally I thought of ff appetizers(he loves them) and he did eat that. And then I gave him some high carb and some bumble bee for dinner and he seemed hungry. And when I woke up this morning he was in the same condition he was in yesterday morning..threw up twice and had been to the LB several times and nothing was formed. he looked pathetic.

He hasn't eaten anything. I gave him fluids, his centrine and flagyl and now I don't have a clue as to what I should dose him. I don't want to go through yesterday again. for him or me and I don't want him to get ketones either. As I'm writing this he just had more diarrhea so I guess i can't give his full dose. Over feeding is out of the question.

I have no idea what my gut feeling is toward dosing him. I would know what to do if insulin wasn't involved. I would leave him alone until he was hungry and let the flagyl work. I am totally stuck now. I wouldn't want to eat anything if I felt like him. How can i force him to eat?

Fri. July 9
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

I'm sorry to read this Carly. Have you talked to Carolyn about what you should dose?
I so hope the new meds help. I'm going to look at SS now but I understand you guys have a special plan going on, how much help I can be I don't know.
You have my prayers and snowflakes. BRB
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Does this make sense for you guys?
See what PS is, then let's calculate food intake into it, possibly reduce Lantus shot and then use R to keep numbers down if the reduced Lantus doesn't work out. My thinking is you don't want Alex going to low but you don't want to mess with the ketone issue either. R is in and out quick so if numbers went too high you could hit them with R.
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

I can only offer More vines and snowflakes coming from us.
I hope he feels better by the end of the day, today.
(((Caryl & Alex)))
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

I'm so sorry Alex isn't feeling well, I hope he's better as the day goes on. Will he eat some baby food?
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

I just went through something similar with Gabby. The Flagyl seemed to help although we ended up keeping her on it for over a month. What about Pepsid to settle his stomach. I don't know if it will interact with the Centrine, so you may want to ask your vet about it. It seemed like once I got the Pepsid into Gabby and her stomach quieted down, her appetite was back. It took about 2 doses (12 hrs.)
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

D and Noisy said:
Does this make sense for you guys?
See what PS is, then let's calculate food intake into it, possibly reduce Lantus shot and then use R to keep numbers down if the reduced Lantus doesn't work out. My thinking is you don't want Alex going to low but you don't want to mess with the ketone issue either. R is in and out quick so if numbers went too high you could hit them with R.

Hi D

I was at vet to pick up fluids and bupe and texted Carolyn...
vet wants me to give him only fingers of baby food or whatever he will eat at a time, which is good because he won't eat anything on his own. I just got two fingers of beechnut stage one turkey into his mouth. Then he went to LB and had a little more runs which he also had when I was out. He feels awful. His PS is 355 and he has no ketones YET. Vet said I should give as little insulin as possible to avoid what happened yesterday and he can't really suggest a dose because he knows nothing about levemir or lantus. He's treating his symptoms NOW..not what may happen. Carolyn said to go with my gut and she is of course thinking about how easily Alex throws the tones. I have had a migraine for over 24 hours because I don't know what to do. I think maybe the reduced dose with r sounds like a good idea...? Maybe 2 units of lev instead of 3????
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Sienne and Gabby said:
I just went through something similar with Gabby. The Flagyl seemed to help although we ended up keeping her on it for over a month. What about Pepsid to settle his stomach. I don't know if it will interact with the Centrine, so you may want to ask your vet about it. It seemed like once I got the Pepsid into Gabby and her stomach quieted down, her appetite was back. It took about 2 doses (12 hrs.)

Hi Cheryl,
I don't know how it will interact with the centrine either and I have never heard him recommend pepcid to anyone....I was shaking when I asked him if I could give bupe with centrine last night(for his leg) and his said yes but was clearly annoyed because of all the meds he's on including thyroid and heart medication. I think adding pepcid to the mix is pushing the envelope. I think maybe it does the same thing though

"Centrine is the brand name of aminopentamide hydrogen sulfen and is an FDA-approved drug for treating spasms in the gastrointestinal tract of cats and dogs. It reduces the strength and length of contractions along the GI tract, while also relaxing the surrounding smooth muscle. It also reduces the gastric secretions, acidity, and motility that contribute to and accompany GI contractions".

I can't believe that Alex has been in LB again since he got the baby food....this is 2 times :(
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Nina and KB said:
I'm so sorry Alex isn't feeling well, I hope he's better as the day goes on. Will he eat some baby food?

no he can't keep anything in him today. I guess his stomach is too irritated at this point.
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Hang in there. I hope this resolves soon and Alex feels better quickly. It is hard on you too. Hugs to both of you.
 
Alex is going to vet tonight

he is vomiting again and it was pure yellow and not watery and he went into the pan angain and it was watery and a rust color. I am terrified now.

vet told me not to give him medicine or food and to just watch is blood sugar. I am scared he has a tumor or something awful :cry:
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

I see you shot 2u. That's good you got some insulin in. Hoping for a quick change for the better.

I know nothing about your vet so take this as me caring about you and Alex, not a criticism about vet. You know Alex better than anyone else -- I'd be cautious following vet advice to the letter IF you have feelings that you should do something else then do it. Or, if someone here has a similar experience, info, etc. maybe they can help.

Note: I have had a several really bad vet situations so I became cautious about vet advice.
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

D and Noisy said:
I see you shot 2u. That's good you got some insulin in. Hoping for a quick change for the better.

I know nothing about your vet so take this as me caring about you and Alex, not a criticism about vet. You know Alex better than anyone else -- I'd be cautious following vet advice to the letter IF you have feelings that you should do something else then do it. Or, if someone here has a similar experience, info, etc. maybe they can help.

Note: I have had a several really bad vet situations so I became cautious about vet advice.

He just called me and told me to give him some pepcid. I just gave him some. That's what Carolyn and Cheryl said too. That was the only feeling I had. He's going to vet at 545.

As far as criticism goes..there are days when I feel that he has been doing this for too long. He just said to me "Stop freaking out I told you this day would come". I said "what day, he's NOT dying" (God forbid, unjinx, unjinx) vet answered "you never know".

Niiiiiice :-| I realize he is my 'friend' but this level of familiarity is obscene, IMO.
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Caryl, I'm sorry for all you and Alex are going through. Sending many positive thoughts your way...
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

You can be a great friend and not a great vet.

Hoping the next BG is a little lower.
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

(((Caryl & Alex))) Hoping vet visit tells you something. Sending good vettie bean vines and feel better vines your way.
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Glad you are going to the vet anyway....
I am sending healing vines to Alex....I do hope he feels better soon. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

At first I thought you meant he's going to vet if his BG is 545 -- hit forehead with hand. He's going at 5:45.
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Whew! I thought Alex had a BG of 545 too. So glad I read it wrong. Much nicer to see the 190.
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Hope Jamie-vet can help Alex feel better Caryl.
I can only imagine how scary this must be. You're in my thoughts. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Ronnie & Luna said:
Hope Jamie-vet can help Alex feel better Caryl.
I can only imagine how scary this must be. You're in my thoughts. :YMHUG:
every time he goes to the LB my heart sinks..and he just did. he ties to squeeze a little more out and nothing is coming anymore and the whole time he is licking his lips so I know he's going to vomit and he just did again..more bile. I don't know how this cat is standing. I was going to give him a heart pill early but he would only vomit it up.

I haven't been this scared in 13 years.
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

HEALING GREEN VINES TO ALEX --Hope you feel better real soon!
Hugs to Caryl! Hope things improve by tomorrow~!
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Vines and Snowflakes being sent from us for wisdom for your vet to help Alex to feel better. (((BIG HUGS)))
 
Re: 7/12 Alex AM 268 Alex is sick *sigh*

Oh, Caryl, hugs and more hugs. I wish you could not be fearful, on top of the stress of caring for Alex, but that's not realistic. I'm glad you're taking him in. Sending powerful loads of white light your way.
 
Got back from vet

Alex had 105.5 fever and was like a little rag-doll (but not looking very cute). Vet said it could be pancreatitis but he feels it's probably viral due to the high fever. I realize there are going to be different thoughts on this but I have to put my faith somewhere tonight.
He took blood and also gave Alex an injection of AB (I forgot what it's called .Genta something and he wanted to teach me to give it intra muscularly but here I draw the line) and gave me Orbax to give him because of his high fever. He also got fluids and an injection of Reglan, which I also brought home in pill form.
We've been home for over an hour and Alex hasn't had a problem yet (unjinx unjinx). His bg is down to 64 though and I just called vet and he told me to give him a little Nutrical and if he holds that down give a little more in a half hour (it's a supplement that is mainly corn syrup). If he starts to go too low in spite of this I guess he'll need IV glucose but I hope this will bring him up enough.

I had to hold his bad leg up when he had blood taken and now it's all hurty again. Vet tried to get it from front leg but vein not very good. My little boy is a mess and I'm not much better. I started crying at the vet and I've been crying on and off all day . This little guy (both of them) mean the world to me and i just can't stand it when either one is this sick and all that that implies... I know I need to shape up..but that's a whole other story. What can I say I love them both so much.

Anyway, Alex is home and hopefully will not need to go back tonight and hopefully I can get his heart and thyroid meds in him when I give him his Nutrical.

I thank you and Alex thanks you (so does Jackson) for the support and caring. I would have gone nuts today without all of you ♥
 
You are a fiercely strong mamabean. No one could do better for Alex. everything that is in your control to do, you're doing. For the things not under control, there are vines, and snowflakes, and hugs. Will be thinking of you tonight.
 
Kathy and Kitty said:
You are a fiercely strong mamabean. No one could do better for Alex. everything that is in your control to do, you're doing. For the things not under control, there are vines, and snowflakes, and hugs. Will be thinking of you tonight.

♥♥♥
 
Awww no, I'm so sorry he is sick. I saw this earlier today and was hoping when I came back to check things would be better. Hey, it's okay to cry and worry and feel bad. That's the way it is when one of our kitties get sick. I for one, am quite known as being a mess sometimes even over little things. Your doing a great job and I'm sure Alex knows your doing everything to help him.
I hope the ab's help get him feeling better real soon. I'm really so sorry this is all going on I know it's so hard to take.
Take care, Sandy

Send super sized vines and snowflakes. :YMHUG:
 
Caryl,
Sorry to hear your baby is sick. You are doing the best u can. Hope he starts feeling better soon.
Jan and Buddy
 
Thank you again everyone for your concern

Alex still hasn't eaten anything except for the few ''fingers'' of food that I got down him and all over me tonight....but he hasn't vomited tonight yet either. He had the runs again a little but I guess that should be expected. I don't know what I'm going to do about his insulin tonight but I guess it will be a very token dose considering that he isn't eating and in case he should get diarrhea or start vomiting again. It 's what I can live with I think..since I was told ABSOLUTELY NOT to give him more than a little tiny bit of food tonight. I guess I'll decide in an hour..sh*t I hate this.

Ni ni everyone..we thank you again and will update tomorrow ....♥
 
make sure you give him lots of water too - even if you need to syringe it - not sure if he should get more sub q,(hate the thought of more pokes and discomfort from that) between the gack and diarrhea he may be dehydrated -

you are doing the very best you can for him. remember that and keep telling yourself that - i know this is hard, but you will all get through this and be an even stronger and fiercer momma bean!

hugs....
 
caryl, just wanted to say how sorry i am that alex has been feeling sick. hoping the meds he got today do the trick and he's already starting to feel better (((HUGS)))

[damn sorry about vet. my vet did something similar to me 3 years ago in saying cleo is just a cat and i shouldn't get so upset. i stopped going to her. something is wrong with a person like that who is supposed to love and care for animals. burnout or whatever, but they shouldn't take it out on the client.]
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top