Info Lantus, Levemir & Biosimilars ISG Slang Dictionary

Monique & Spooky

Member Since 2009
The Official
Lantus & Levemir & Biosimilars ISG
Slang Dictionary


~ Created by lynn and bear (ga) with a little help from her friends, circa 2008 ~

This document was originally called the "Lantus Land Slang Dictionary".
It's been updated and edited numerous times over the years from suggestions made by Lantus, Levemir, and Biosimilars ISG members.


​
For a list of common abbreviations & definitions used throughout the FDMB see the FDMB Glossary.


ABs - abbreviation for antibiotics
AKA - also known as
AMBG - morning blood glucose number when not on insulin
AMPS - morning preshot number
Abort the cycle - an attempt to stop the insulin's action by feeding high carb food

BCS Dose - big chicken sh*t dose
Bean - human: caretaker, companion (you)
The Beach - when BGs are in the low 100s aka as "on shore"
BG - Blood Glucose
BIC - bean in charge
BIPO - Big Insulin Poop Out; not generally seen with Lantus when getting close to an optium dose, but common with other faster acting insulins
Blue number - BG number between 100-199
BOS - Ballz of Steel is a humorous award given for shooting a green preshot number (greater than 50 mg/dL, but less than 100 mg/dL) for the first time
Bounce - high BG numbers seen in response to a number lower than the body is used to; may last up to six cycles, sometimes more
Bump (a post) - aka bumpnitude, bumpity, etc.; what threads (condos) do in L & L Land when a new post is added to them. The post will then move (bump) to the top of the page.
Breffis - breakfast
BTB - Back to Bed
Bup or Bupe - Buprenorphine / Buprenex, pain med

Cart - short for cartridge
Cartridge – (Lantus or Levemir) 3 mL insulin pen refill which fits into an insulin pen, but can be used with or without the pen (no longer available in the USA)
Caturday - Saturday, a day to hang out with cat
C & S - Culture and Sensitivity test
CG - Caregiver
Chicken dust - ground up freeze dried chicken used as an enticement to get kitty to eat; sprinkle on kitty's food
Civvie - non-diabetic kitty that lives in same household
Condo - daily thread (one condo a day per cat in the L/L/B ISG), because a condo is where your cat lives every day
Cone of shame - Elizabethan collar
CP - chronic pancreatitis
CPC - Clean plate club; when kitty eats all his/her meal.

DBF - Dear boyfriend or Dear Best Friend
DH - Dear (or anything else that begins with D) husband
Depot - One's subcutaneous "spare tank" of insulin, which has yet to be used by the body
DKA - diabetic ketoacidosis; a dangerous and often quickly fatal condition caused by low insulin levels combined with other systemic stresses (http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/)
Dosecrease - a change in dose (can be either an increase or decrease)
Double dip - when BG goes down a bit at end of cycle (after a clear nadir earlier, not the same as slidage)
Drooler - dog
Dx - diagnosis

Ear Worm - tune in your head that you cannot get rid of no matter what you do
ECID - Every Cat is Different
ETA – Edited to Add

Falls - refers to Niagara Falls - that longtime favorite honeymoon destination. Also, see honeymoon.
Fat Dose - a slightly larger dose
Five Ps - peeing, pooping, preening, playing, purring
Floors (First, Second, etc) - Corresponds to the blood glucose level of the cat (first floor = 100's, second floor = 200's, etc)
Fur shot - when not all of the insulin gets into the cat and instead lands on kitty's fur
FWIW – For What It’s Worth

GA - Guardian Angel or Gone Ahead - referring to a kitty (or anyone) that has crossed the Rainbow Bridge
Green number - BG number under 100

Handcuffs - frivolously given to caregivers requiring more patience at a certain dose
HC - High carb canned food (usually 16 - 24% carbs, depending on the cat)
Honeymoon (H*n*ym**n) - when a cat no longer requires insulin and is OTJ, it is commonly referred to as a honeymoon. No one knows how long the honeymoon will last, but many choose to try not to jinx it by not spelling it completely out.
((hugs)) - hugs
Hx - medical history

IMHO - In My Humble Opinion
ISGs - Insulin Support Groups
ITD - in the door; grab a BG test the minute you get home
ITF – Itchy trigger finger; when the caregiver is becoming impatient and is considering a dose increase

JMO – Just My Opinion
Juice - Insulin

Ketones - toxic acids that are the by-product of fat metabolism and build up in the bloodstream (http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...oacidosis-dka-and-blood-ketone-meters.135952/)
KWIM? - know what I mean?

the L's - refers to the long acting insulins Lantus and Levemir
L & L Land - (now retired since adding Basaglar to our group) Lantus & Levemir Land aka the Lantus & Levemir Insulin Insulin Support Group
Lagoon - kitty's in BG numbers under 100
Lather, rinse, repeat - feed, test, post (repeat as often as needed to bring up a low number).
LC - low carb aka reg canned food (usually 10% carbs or less, depending on the carb sensitivity of the cat)
Lev - abbreviation commonly used for Levemir insulin
Liquipoo - diarrhea
Liver training school (LTS) - training a cat not to bounce from good numbers
Liver training boot camp - for those cats that need more than school
Loose Lips - A single daily thread for everyone to post off topic conversations/news. Anyone can start the thread. Everyone can post in it!

MC – Medium carb food (usually 11 - 15% carbs, depending on the carb sensitivity of the cat)
Mr. L - respectfully refers to kitty's liver
Mr. P - respectfully refers to kitty's pancreas

NDW aka New Dose Wonkiness - "Many cats will occasionally react to an increased dose with increased BGs - within the first 2 to 3 days after an increase, usually lasting for less than 24 hours. Nobody really knows what the reason for this phenomenon is (perhaps a "panicky liver"?) - hold the dose and ignore the fluctuations."
http://www.tillydiabetes.net/en_6_protocol2.htm
Nadir – lowest point blood glucose reaches during an insulin cycle
Nanners - catnip bananas
Nappus - nap
ni-ni - goodnight
Normapoo - normal poop

OP - Original poster (person who started the thread)
OT - Off Topic
OTD - refers to a BG test taken immediately prior to leaving the house
OTJ - Off the Juice, in remission, diet controlled
OTOH - On the other hand

P-titis – Pancreatitis
Patience Pants - Silly pants kindly given to those who need help exercising patience while waiting to determine what a certain dose is capable of doing
Pen - (in the L & L ISG) a 3 mL Lantus Solostar Pen or a 3 mL Levemir FlexTouch Pen
Pink number - BG numbers 300 - 399
PJ Party - (Pajama) party to stay awake when kitty decides to go into low numbers at night
PMPS - Evening/night time preshot number
Poke - to test BG
Pred - Prednisolone
Prezzies - presents left in the litter box, also known as poop
PS - preshot
Puddingpoo - poop level between normapoo and liquipoo

R - (Humulin Regular or Novolin Regular) a fast-acting insulin *usually* out of kitty's system within 4 - 6 hours. Sometimes used as a bolus insulin with Lantus or Levemir.
Red number - BG numbers 400 - 499
Reducie - a dose reduction
Rx - prescription

Shed - slang term for the insulin depot
SHOOOOOOOOOOT! - get some insulin into that cat!
Skeerd - scared
Skinny Dose - a dose that is slightly less
Sleepus - time for bed
Slidage - when BG level goes down after +6 until PS
Slurp - eat
Slurpus - eat
Snackus - snack; small amount of food
Spot Cheek - spot check
Squids - subcutaneous (sub-q) fluids
SS - spreadsheet
Surfing - when BG levels remains under 100 for most of the cycle
Swimming with the sharks - BG numbers less than 50

Tank - "be the tank" - just keep going (cause tanks always get where they are going)
Tanya’s Site – A website geared toward CKD (Chronic Kidney Disease) kitties that contains a lot of valuable info for any cat owner, and food charts. http://www.felinecrf.org/
Trampoline - bouncing (mini tramopline - small bounce)
TBP - Place of employment ("The Bad Place")
Toof - tooth, teeth
Toofus - tooth, teeth
TOR - Touch of R (a very small amount of "Regular" insulin)
Tx - treatment

URI - upper respiratory infection
UTI - urinary tract inflammation or urinary tract infection; a Culture & Sensitivity test must be done to determine if a urinary tract infection actually does exist

Verramuch - very much
Vines – Vibes (a typo that caught on); usually good wishes sent to someone who needs them

WCR - whole cat report (your cat is not just about BG numbers)
Wonky - blood glucose numbers that suddenly don't make sense; a series of wonky numbers means something has changed and needs to be addressed; a single wonky number usually isn't cause for worry.

Yeller - yellow
Yellow number - BG numbers 200 - 299

Zoom - when BG numbers rise rapidly




 
Last edited by a moderator:
Back
Top