07/05 J.D. AMPS 345, PMPS 351, +3 227, +4 182

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dyana

Member Since 2009
Yesterday

Good morning.

I was so worried when I saw that 395 at +11, thinking what will his AMPS be?
I'm so tired of these pinks lately, but I don't want him to dive bomb either. Please go down nice and slowly, J.D.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345

Im wondering if J.D. Is ready for an increase. Looks like hes been on 3 units for awhile. Lets see what others have to say.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345

Morning Dyana,

Can't say much about dose but I hope you can get J.D. out of pink. Hope he is doing ok otherwise.

Have a good monday.

jan and sara
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345, +1 351

I have to get rid of those "appetite" columns. I used to record his appetite on a scale..and he has been "3" (normal appetite) for a long time. I'm just afraid of destroying my whole spreadsheet when I delete those colomns. Sorry to confuse.

I raised his dose from 2.25 to 2.50 units, yesterday. And I started a new cartridge (pen) the day before yesterday. And I am hoping to start him on Levemir this coming weekend.

Except for hiding under the deck yesterday, which I hope was just because he was hot, he seems and looks fine. He slept a lot yesterday, but he does that. His coat seems soft, and when I turned on my bedside light last night, I noticed how beautiful and regal he looked. Right now, he's sitting in his bed next to the screen of the open sliding glass door. It's supposed to be in the 100s today and all week, and this may be the last cool fresh air in this house for a week. :roll:
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345

Maybe you could just delete the heading and than the #'s one at a time. That should'nt do anything to the rest of his ss. You would just have a empty column. Than you could just record the # in the summary at the end of the day, putting the #at the end of the notes. That way at a glance you could see what they were. Keeping track of his appetite is a good idea. I'm not to good with this computer stuff so thats what I would do.
I tried to add more colors to the cells on [whick I had done a million times before] Sara's ss and I ended up with a white block that covers about a week. It jumbled up the dates too. So just the fact that it works is ok with me, I'm leaving it. I was without it for a few days and I felt lost.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345, +2 309

jan and sara said:
Maybe you could just delete the heading and than the #'s one at a time. That should'nt do anything to the rest of his ss. You would just have a empty column. Than you could just record the # in the summary at the end of the day, putting the #at the end of the notes. That way at a glance you could see what they were. Keeping track of his appetite is a good idea. I'm not to good with this computer stuff so thats what I would do.
I tried to add more colors to the cells on [whick I had done a million times before] Sara's ss and I ended up with a white block that covers about a week. It jumbled up the dates too. So just the fact that it works is ok with me, I'm leaving it. I was without it for a few days and I felt lost.
I would be lost and devistated, if I lost my spreadsheet.
I think I'll try to make copy first, as a back up, and then try to delete the columns,,,tonight, when I have time.

Off to tbp..
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345

Good luck with your new dose J.D. Sounds like you are in for some hot weather...Holy Moly!!!
Good luck with the SS Dyana...remember, you always have the "undo" button to go back right away....I think...LOL...but I know what you mean about loosing it....
I hope you can keep cool somehow today...
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345

It lo9oks like J.D.'s numbers were coming down a little at AMPS.

Please forgive me if you know this, but you know to reduce your dose when switching to Lev.
Rand Protocol said:
NB Mean median maximum dose in cats on detemir (Levemir) is about 30% less than for glargine (Lantus)
 
Levemir Dose Question

So I calculated 2.50 times .70 equals 1.75. (Or 30% of 2.50 is .75 and 2.50 minus .75 is 1.75). So I would start the Levemir at 1.75 units, correct?
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345 - Levemir Dose Question

Mornin' Dyana!
Your math sounds right to me. You could send Jill a PM and ask her to dbl check. Just make sure you will be home for at least the first full day and test regularly, as the first dose or so can have a big punch!

Are you having another relaxing day?
Its been hot here, too...all weekend. Actually its more the humidity...60-89% humidity, no matter what the actual temperature is quite miserable. Think my little air conditioner has had its workout for the summer!
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345 - Levemir Dose Question

I PM'd Jill. I'll let you know what she says.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345 - Levemir Dose Question

Dyana,when we start Lev - didn't have any reaction for long time (until we came to 5u)
But...ECID! I wish You best luck with Lev!
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345 - Levemir Dose Question

Dyana,
Looks like JD likes the pinks like Buddy does. :smile: Please post what Jill tells you would like to know myself.
Have a good day.
Jan and Buddy
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345 - Levemir Dose Question

1.75 sounds like a reasonable starting dose for Lev. Are you starting soon? Sorry, I've missed a few days and now I'm behind. :sad: You can always go up the dosing scale quickly if the dose isn't enough, but that is easier than starting at too high a dose. I hope J.D. can shake the pink.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345 - Levemir Dose Question

Hope the Levemir works better for J.D. so he doesnt get such big bouncys. Im still toying with the idea of changing because I know its used a lot for cats that have been diabetic for awhile.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345 - Levemir Dose Question

response copied and pasted from PM:

since you just started JD at 2.5u of lantus, i think i'd hold off on making a decision about the initial starting dose of lev until later in the week. if 2.5u of lantus doesn't produce the desired results, i think i'd be tempted to start with 2u as a starting dose for lev and adjust from there. if 2.5u does get JD where you want him, i'd start with 1.75u of lev when you make the switch.

just my thoughts...
good luck with the switch!
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345, PMPS 351 Panting from heat?

I don't like this panting I keep seeing. When I came home from work, I let the cats outside, and J.D. had to go to the end of the wooded section to go pee (ketones - negative), and then on his walk back home, I saw him panting. It is a hundred degrees outside, but it concerns me. Everytime I've seen it, it's been either in the car or outside and very hot, but still.
I don't see other cats panting because it's hot. I'll ask my vet about this at J.D.'s visit on Monday. Does anyone have concerns with this? He's back inside now with the air conditioning, because I forced him to come back inside. He's stopped panting since he came back in.

It's not new. I've seen him do it before in the car and walking outside. It just bothers me.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345, PMPS 351 Panting from heat?

Oh gosh Dyana, I'm not sure other than Luna got that way last summer on way to vets. He had been in his carrier for about an hour (this was a vet visit to our first old vet a bit outta the way) It was hot in the car and a hot day too, he was panting and his tongue was out.
I'm certain the travel didn't help, he doesn't travel well anywhere,,,but he snapped right out of it as soon as we got home.

I hope it's nothing serious, but it is worth asking vet about.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345, PMPS 351 Panting from heat?

Carolyn recently had an episode with Latte when she had her in the carrier enroute home from the vet (short trip). Adding ice packs to the carrier solved the problem. I'd definitely speak to your vet about it but if it stops when J.D. is back in the house, it's likely the heat and humidity. As long as you don't see other respiratory symptoms (e.g., an asthmatic cough, really weird breathing), I'd be inclined to think it's the heat but I'm not a vet!
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345, PMPS 351 Panting from heat?

Kasha used to do the open mouthed breathing and kind of a pant all the time when it was hot and she was younger. Especially if she were stressed about something, but sometimes just in the car. Or when it was hot and I was chasing her around playing and she'd turn on me, slap and yell (that's enough!!!) and then lie down, panting. Never amounted to anything.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345, PMPS 351, +1 348

He hasn't panted since we've been inside. He just finished his 1st dinner. I am going to the pool to cool off for a bit.
I gave him some R, because this insulin seems like I'm giving him water. I feel like there's no response. So frustrated.
bbl.
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345, PMPS 351, +3 227

Awwww poor JD...and you! I know how worrisome that is! Im glad he stopped panting when he got inside. Thats what indicated a heat related issue with Latte when she did it. As soon as she sat in the vet for a while, then got home she was fine. Never saw it again.

I suspect JD will need to stay inside during this heat wave, eh?

I know you are so frustrated Dyana. :YMHUG: I will be praying that levemir is a better catch for him. Are you starting over the next weekend?

Stay cool :cool: drinking09
 
Re: 07/05 J.D. +11 395, AMPS 345, PMPS 351, +3 227

carolynandlatte said:
I suspect JD will need to stay inside during this heat wave, eh?
I did let him out for a bit a little later and he didn't pant, and I forced the kitties inside early tonight. They want to go outside so bad, but, I guess if I don't want to be out in the heat, they should not go out there either. I wish I could put him in the pool (like the duck that flew down and was swimming around in it tonight). I have put him in my parent's ornamental cement pond (it's about 10 inches deep). I know, I'm so mean.

I know you are so frustrated Dyana. :YMHUG: I will be praying that levemir is a better catch for him. Are you starting over the next weekend?
That's the plan. I hope it arrives by then. I want to get a good head start on getting a good dose before we go away on vacation at the end of August.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top