6/30 Blackie +4 90 +6 103 +8 143 +11 210 pmps 249 +2 290

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ele & Blackie (GA)

Member Since 2009
Good Morning, LL
Blackie is doing better every day. Last night he ate some of his old Wellness Turkey. It's been easier to give him fluids too. His bg's were in the 90's overnight. Because we shot late last night, I was able to give him his fluids this morning an hour before his amps. His shot this morning was at +11.66 (20 minutes short of 12 hours). I cut back the Pepcid to once a day per his vet. We have an appt this morning for bloodwork. When I talked to my vet he didn't think it was a kidney infection. I'm going to talk to him more about this today and see what the pros & cons are for giving abs.

WCR: Blackie is feeling better and better. Yesterday he went outside several times and this morning too. His poops are normal again and he is purring and preening. I can tell just by looking at him that he feels better. He's eating much better - actually ate 2 Tb of food this morning at one time.

Yesterday: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=18499

I want to say thank you again for all your support, prayers and help. This board is so powerful and knowledgable, I couldn't imagine going through this alone.
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145

YAY!! I am so happy to read that Blackie is feeling better, doing better, and getting back to his old self. NICE!! Great amps too! Mannie wants to make sure that Blackie knows that there is another birthday party tomorrow for Tori - he hopes that Blackie can make it!
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145

Good WCR today--We want Blckie to be all better--Nice Amps there--Have a green day Blackie Boy!! HUGS
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145

Hi Blackie, So glad to hear that you're feeling like your old self again. Keep up the good work! We party again tomorrow!!

Stu

Hi Ele, Good luck today at the vet's. It's so encouraging that Blackie is feeling better. It looks like he may have just been "under the weather" for a few days. Keep us posted.

Ella
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145

Hi Blackie so great you are feeling better you had Do Lou and I very worried ((((HUGS)))
Ele be sure to let us know how it goes at the vet later thinking of you ((((more HUGS)))))
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145

ele, i am so happy for you and blackie. the improvement he's made since our time together in pzi is awesome. go blackie! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145

Ele-
I am so glad to read that Blackie is getting a little better each day. I hope the vet can give you some good advice/answers as to the AB question today. I have had you both in my thoughts and will continue to do so. And you are right about the power of this board; it's amazing.

(((Ele and Blackie)))
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145 +1 141 +2.5 117 +4 90

Vet visit went well. Creatinine went down from 3.9 on Monday to 3.3 today and BUN 60 on Monday to 54 today. My vet hoped that it would come down even more, so he is keeping Blackie on bid fluids through next Sunday, once/day after that and recheck blood next Thursday. He was a little reluctant to give Blackie abs with no positive results on the u/a, but we finally agreed to add Zenequin just in case he has a kidney infection. I do think an infection of some sort started all this, but of course there is no evidence except his rising bg's. We are to stop the Zenequin if his appetite decreases. And we are keeping the Cypro another couple of days and keeping the Pepcid.

I forgot to ask for a copy of the results, so I will update our bloodwork spreadsheet later today. I did ask about the fPL test and he didn't think it was necessary and pointed out some results on the bloodwork that showed this.

So I guess we are not out of the woods yet - I was a little disappointed that we still have to do fluids bid. But I am so happy to have my Blackie back, that I don't care. We'll do what we have to.
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145 +1 141 +2.5 117 +4 90 +6 103

Ele,

glad to read the good news today on Blackie. Coming around to his old self again - yai!!!! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145 +1 141 +2.5 117 +4 90 +6 103

Ele - I have been following your posts and am sooooo glad Blackie is feeling better. I know what it is like to have an older gent, but sometimes they simply amaze us. I hope he keeps getting better and better.

Judy & Jake :dizcat
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145 +1 141 +2.5 117 +4 90 +6 103

I am glad to see Blackie's numbers coming down, and hopefully they will do even more with the continued fluids. I know sub-q fluids are second nature to many people on here, but I admire the fact that you can give them at home. :smile:
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie amps 145 +1 141 +2.5 117 +4 90 +6 103 +8 143

I'm glad to hear that Blackie is feeling better. I'm sure you're relieved, as well.

I'd encourage you to add water to Blackie's food. I give Gabby several small meals and I always add water. Even during her recent bout of GI problems, the vet was fairly amazed that she wasn't dehydrated. While neither of my cats drink a great deal, I do have a fountain for them. From what I understand, the moving water encourages them to drink. It may be something to consider for Blackie if you don't have a fountain already. (I use a Drinkwell fountain.)
 
Re: 6/30 Blackie +2.5 117 +4 90 +6 103 +8 143 +11 210 pmps 249

I have to admit I've been ignoring the protocol for the last few days and I did it again tonight. I went up to 2.75, but I am going to stay here for 6 cycles as long as Blackie continues to eat well. And he did eat well today.

Sienne, I guess I've never said, but I have always added filtered water to Blackie's food. The last several days I was heating up the filtered water first to warm up his food. Also, I used to use a water fountain and still have it too. But Blackie has never liked flowing water. If you pour water into the water bowl whiile he's drinking, he'll walk away. But I do have water bowls all over the house and outside and he does drink quite a bit.

Question on fluids - Is it okay to give them around shot time? Carolyn said not to give them near nadir, and it kind of has to be close to shot time with our schedule.

Thanks again for all your support, information and love. My Blackie is back!

ETA: I forgot to say that I updated Blackie's Bloodwork spreadsheet.
 
Hi Ele,
Im so glad there is a brighter side showing in all this, especially that Blackie is feeling better!

Fluids are interesting. When Latte was first diagnosed with ARF, my vet was guided by the vet from Metacam (wierd, huh) as to how she should be treated. After a week here, and a week there...and another week somewhere down the line of IV fluids, we were told to give her 200ml/daily subq for eight weeks. At that point she was wavering just at 6lbs. Thats A LOT of fluids! Holy buckets, did she have the football player look. :shock: We have done fluids nearly every day since then (3.5yrs). Though they have decreased drastically for a variety of reasons, I seriously credit a good portion of her stability with the kidneys to the fluids. In fact, since I reduced a year ago is when she started slowly creeping up in her creatinine. Makes me wonder... :roll:

Anyway, I digress.

I think its good to keep track of when you give fluids and how it affects bg's an hour or so later by testing. I wrote a bit last night of what I see with Latte. ECID, though. I think giving at shot time sounds perfect! If blackie does not usually drop much between shot and +1, see if he does with the fluids. That will give you an idea what to expect if you ever had to change the time.

Im just thrilled he is doing so much better today....AND that you got in with the vet! What a relief that must have been.

I hope you guys have a great night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top