6/27 Lanky AMBG 162, PMPS 481

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by sehjak (Susan & Lanky), Jun 27, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Yesterday's Condo

    Morning & here we go again -- putting our heads together for determining today's AM dose...
     
  2. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +10 146, AMPS xxx

    I'm off to study some acro SSs be back soon.
    Not definite at all but I am thinking 7u.
    Can we get a shed-o-meter installed on Lanky?
     
  3. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +10 146, AMPS xxx

    Bet your tired.
    Let's see what the next tests bring.
    Presently, thinking we back off and shoot less than 7u for the morning shot (how much? TBD) and then return to 7u tonight.
     
  4. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +10 146, AMPS xxx

    Something to consider: vet tech shot 6/26 PM -- had trouble with the meter & could not get a BG but said she shot 8u right at 6PM. I was thinking her 8u could be different than my 8u. We did go over Lantus handling & syringes but that is still a variable.
     
  5. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

    Hard to imagine that VT's 8u would be that different than yours, it has a tick line (anything is possible though).
     
  6. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

    Did you see on Gayle & Oliver's SS -- how often they have skipped shots? She certainly has a challenge there but Ollie seems to be coming around. I noticed on FB, Carolyn was seeing a reduction coming.
     
  7. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

    I'm thinking about Lanky's bounce durations.
    IF he was still in a bounce (yesterday) from the 6/24 green, then I suggested 8u to quickly.
    It "feels" like we are dealing with is a combination of balancing the shed, calculating the bounce durations AND insulin needs changing.
    The last two trips to green where on the later side of the cycle --is that because the bounce cleared at the same time the shed filled up again?

    Since we'll like be repeating the bounce scenario from last night's greens. Let's try letting the dust settle longer this time before moving up.

    ETA: just seeing your post -- I'll put this one out there and then write about Ollie's
     
  8. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

    Was Carolyn seeing a reduction coming for Lanky or Oliver?
    I agree, Lanky needs a reduction.

    ETA: yes, I have been reading Oliver's SS often -- tough stuff.
     
  9. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

    Carolyn was commenting on Ollie (& Shadoe).

    I'll catch the AMPS here in 10 minutes, then we can decide on AM dose. Regarding bounce duration, I had not thought about that too much. I'll go look at SS. Does the bounce duration change alot in kitties or do they typically have the same over time?
     
  10. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS xxx

    Personally, I think everything can change in kitties. What once was, can change overnight. We are always on the lookout for them to change up on us.
     
  11. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    I just remembered something I think I read somewhere, does this sound familiar -- acro kitties tend to nadir later in the cycle?
     
  12. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    Yes, I do recall that.
     
  13. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    I'm thinking skip shot, how about you?
    Let's talk it out.
     
  14. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    IMO, that +9 BG 60 is too low to screw around with.
     
  15. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    Honestly, I am too tired to think straight. If we skip, I could get some sleep but that is not a very good reason for making a decision. I am going to go with your gut instincts. So the final call is:_____________.
     
  16. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    Skip.
     
  17. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    Had I fed 18% at +8 we might not be seeing that +9...
     
  18. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    OK - it is skip.

    ETA: I read so much about all of this, I forget sources, but I recall about hypo -- it was Jezabel I think, worried about OTJ low BGs -- and the point was -- if you are not giving insulin they can't go hypo. But for us, we have that dang shed to worry about. With a skip though -- much less worry.
     
  19. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    Maybe, maybe not -- the 77 did warrant HC.
    I'm looking at the +10 BG 451, 10 hours later BG 77. Not a comfy ride.
     
  20. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    SLEEP SLEEP SLEEP.
     
  21. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    or AMBG 162
     
  22. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

    In looking at Lanky's SS, my impression is that 8.0u is too much. Even after depleting the shed, 8u still brought Lanky into the greens. I don't know what the preferred method here is -- to start at a lower dose (e.g., 6.0u) and work up or start a little higher (e.g., 7.0u) and work down.
     
  23. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

    Shed may not have been depleted. Tricky sheds in acros -- I'm beginning to see they have garages not sheds.
     
  24. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

    S, have you visited the "high dose" group here on the board?
    viewforum.php?f=12
     
  25. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

    I'm headed out to visit my father -- hope you got some good rest today.
    Presently thinking 7u for tonight but you know the drill -- numbers will need to be looked at.
    Grab a couple of tests between now and then.
     
  26. paige

    paige Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

    (((Susan))) Hope you get some sleep and I hope this evening is easier to read and make a decision. I know that Oliver was having late nadirs before.
     
  27. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

    Saw the +9 516. Sorry Lanky, I'm sure that doesn't feel good.
    Do you want to go with 7u? You could easily shoot 1/2 hour early if you want.
     
  28. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

    Yes, let's go with 7 units, 30 minutes early. And then, I'll catch +2 BG to see how we are doing.
     
  29. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMBG 162, skip shot

    sounds good
    grab more sleep tonight too
     
  30. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    How can I possibly be glad to see a 481? I really don't like those blacks -- it made the red look good. :roll:
    I think he'll be back in nice numbers soon.
     
  31. sehjak (Susan & Lanky)

    sehjak (Susan & Lanky) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2010
    LOL I had the EXACT same reaction. I even hollered "Good Boy, Lanky! Gettin' down!"
     
  32. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I was just over in high dose scouring SSs.
    Saw you guys posted. :D

    Bed time for me. See you guys in the morning.
     
  33. OptOut

    OptOut Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Re: 6/27 Lanky +11 156, AMPS 162

    I think it all depends. Boo was a nice even +6, and was pretty consistent about it. Ollie of course is WAY late. I'm not sure about the others...

    D, I spent a lot of time looking at the other acro spreadsheets when I was shooting. Bonnie and Porscha's was my favorite, because Boo seemed to react in a similar manner. Have you found another acro-kitty that might mimic Lanky? Another comment...I purposely did shoot at lower numbers when I could watch, because I needed to have the data to safely go to work. When dealing with scary doses and numbers, your meter and ss are you best friends!
     
  34. Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA)

    Ella & Rusty & Stu(GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2010
    Hi Susan & Lanky, we hope that you will both get some sleep tonight!!! What a day you had! Ni Ni! See you tomorrow.

    Ella & Stu
     
  35. D and Noisy

    D and Noisy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Thanks Heather. I have been studying other acro SSs and learning more each day.
    Today I shall study Porscha and Boo's.

    Nice night S+L. 7u for AM sounds good to me -- providing numbers come in to match that thought.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page