6/3 Kasha AMPS 469, 123 @ +5.4, PMPS 263

Status
Not open for further replies.

kryskat

Member Since 2010
Is this yet another bounce? How low did she go last night, anyway (no, really - I fell asleep)? How depressing would this be if I weren't checking numbers mid-cycle? The preshots are looking kind of grim.

Anyway - appetite pretty good, ate her full (2 Tbsp FF) breakfast (with a little chicken on dust to speed her up on the last half of it). She was hungry at 4:30 am when I woke up on the couch and I put down a tiny, tiny tsp of FF so she wouldn't get sick (if she is really hungry and doesn't have any food, she will often throw up).

Ok - time to clean the litter, take a shower and get ready for work...

Yesterday
 
Re: 6/3 Kasha AMPS 469

Hi Krys,
Yes, she really drops at night when you would like to sleep, so it's good you check. Are you a coffee drinker, as you mentioned getting ready for work? You must be so sleep deprived. At least I can catch a nap. Are you getting used to the 1/2" needle?
 
Re: 6/3 Kasha AMPS 469

Not even a peep out of her today when I shot using the 1/2" needle - I think she was actually purring. So, maybe I'm getting better at it. My new approach is to insert the needle very slowly and deliberately and that seems to work - at least for now!

Yes - seriously sleep deprived. And no - not really a coffee drinker. I mean, I like coffee, but somewhere around my 20s, it started to make me jittery and prone to anxiety attacks... so I don't drink it very often. Not even decaf. I do drink tea most every day, but it doesn't do anything to wake me up! Guess I'll just have to rely on my fascinating job to keep me alert (fat chance)...
 
Re: 6/3 Kasha AMPS 469

kryskat said:
Not even a peep out of her today when I shot using the 1/2" needle - I think she was actually purring. So, maybe I'm getting better at it. My new approach is to insert the needle very slowly and deliberately and that seems to work - at least for now!

Yes - seriously sleep deprived. And no - not really a coffee drinker. I mean, I like coffee, but somewhere around my 20s, it started to make me jittery and prone to anxiety attacks... so I don't drink it very often. Not even decaf. I do drink tea most every day, but it doesn't do anything to wake me up! Guess I'll just have to rely on my fascinating job to keep me alert (fat chance)...

That's great! I also insert it slow making sure I don't do a fur shot. Certain areas on Maggie seem more sensitive, as in the sides. Wow, no coffee, seriouslyl! If I drink coffee after 12 Noon, I can't sleep at night. Sometimes a shot of Espresso does more for me than cups and cups f coffee. Good luck at work today and staying alert.
 
Re: 6/3 Kasha AMPS 469

Ann and Maggie11 said:
That's great! I also insert it slow making sure I don't do a fur shot. Certain areas on Maggie seem more sensitive, as in the sides. Wow, no coffee, seriouslyl! If I drink coffee after 12 Noon, I can't sleep at night. Sometimes a shot of Espresso does more for me than cups and cups f coffee. Good luck at work today and staying alert.

Yeah, I'm still trying to figure out which areas on Kasha are the most sensitive. So far, it seems to vary day by day!

It's funny. I know that if I drink too much caffeine, about 12 hours later I will often have heart palpitations, anxiety, etc. Not sure why it takes so long, but it does. That can't be good.
 
Re: 6/3 Kasha AMPS 469

Come on down Kasha!!! Hope we see some lower numbers soon....glad her appetite is good!
~O) was the topic yesterday kids...didn't you bet the memo? LMHO!! We talked about it all day long!
Well, glad to have this info for the records Krys....tea, not coffee. Got it! :thumbup :thumbup
 
Re: 6/3 Kasha AMPS 469

Kasha's probably cruising the blues by now - too bad I'm not at home to check her :-(

Yes - tea, not coffee. And don't you forget it!!!! Well, except for the occasional cafe mocha or some other yummy chocolate/whipped cream/coffee drink! And coffee ice cream... yum... Is it lunch time yet?
 
Re: 6/3 Kasha AMPS 469, 123 @ +5.4

Lately my posts contain a lot of food info - LOL...

Anyway - I ran home at lunch to check on Kasha and she was 123 @ +5.4. Not bad... My dad was at my house earlier and when he called me at work, I asked if he'd try to test her BG but she wouldn't let him. He used to be able to test her for me, but not since my vacation (or, as Kasha thinks of it, the "week-of-vet-tech-hell-and-no-strangers-are-ever-going-to-get-near-me-again").

...And then I picked up Mexican food ;-)
 
I'm in a really, really bad mood, so I'm going to keep this short.

She ate her dinner but would not come out from under the papason chair - I had to put the food under there with her. Ate full amount - I finally added chicken dust to get things moving a little faster (again). Then she went behind couch before I could test and shoot. I tried to bribe her with greenies, but no. So, I had to force her out and then pounce on her a bit - which she wasn't thrilled about.

While measuring insulin, I accidentally squirted some on my hands, so I washed them thoroughly before shooting. I put her on my lap, tested, and then tried to shoot. Everything seemed to go well - she cried out a little bit at the end of the shot, but that was it. I put my face in her fur - did not smell insulin. Then I gave her a treat and put her back on the floor. At some point, I smelled Lantus and realized my hands smelled like it (again). Huh? Then I smelled her fur - Lantus. So, I don't know what happened. I don't know if I somehow got some more on my hands from the syringe after shooting? Or if I somehow shot thru her skin onto my hands when I shot.

What the hell?

And that's just the icing on the cake. I was already in a bad mood when I got home.
 
hey krys, fur shots happen... if indeed it was a fur shot. don't beat yourself up over it.
although, i'm with carolyn. it's looking much like the kasha bounce to me...
 
Well, I respectfully disagree with both of you. When she bounces, she's usually high at preshot and then goes lower or stays around the same as preshot by her +3. This time she went up a lot. So, if there was a bounce involved, there was also a furshot involved. Because this doesn't look like her bounce pattern to me at all. Once the infection started to clear, even during a bounce she would still curve down. I'm having an incompetent day all around, so it's not a surprise really.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top