01/07: Esse 9.5=105 +11.5=175 PMPS=198 +1=234 +3.5=218

Status
Not open for further replies.

Michele and Esse

Member Since 2009
**********NEW PART OF POST HERE: NUMBERS CONSOLIDATION****************
Amps: 432 Wellness Beef and Chicken, 2.75U
+6.25=48 Friskies Poultry Platter (as much as she wanted)
+6.5=56
+7=65
+7.75=91
+8.25=74 Fed teaspoon of FF Chix.
+8.75=52 Fed another teaspoon FF Chix
+9=62
+9.5=80
+10=105
+11.5=175
PMPS=198 Wellness Beef and Chicken, 2.5 units.
+1=234
+3.5=218

Hope this helps to see all the numbers at a glance. Will update throughout the evening.
***********************************************************************************************


Morning, all.

Yesterday's condo: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1476

WCR: Fine. Hanging out in the kitty bowl, wanting breakfast. No issues overnight, except she was a bit more cuddly than normal...

WBR: Frustrated, hoping the dose change does some good. I know I need to give the new dose some time, but still...I had hoped for something a little less...red...this morning. I will be at school from 7am-2, and then home. Still frustrated, but today is a whole day for changes to happen.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse PMPS +10.5=435

Hang in there Michele. NDW could be another day or two. Some are more difficult than others. She will get it eventually. Have a good day at school.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432

I'm hanging, Barbara...I really am. And I hope to have a good day at school - we'll see. Lots of administrative stuff to tend to, and some work in the skills lab, and then lunch with my best friend...so at least lunch will be good. LOL.

Esse's AMPS: 432. She dropped, but then ate something left over from the night feeding, and now just ate a big ol' breffis. Just used the box, but didn't catch ketones. She's now wandering around, wondering which bowl has tastier food in it (it's all the same, but they play musical food bowls on a regular basis...).

Shot 2.75. Hopefully, when I come home, she'll have a better set of numbers.

See you all later...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432

Here's hoping the new dose will be to Miss Esse's liking! Does she like the color red? It makes me nervous..red, that is. The color itself...
Of course, I hate to see it on SSs.... because of what it stands for....I personally think that Esse would look much nicer in green...or maybe blue...either would look great with her coloring... ;-) but that's my humble opinion....
Hope you have a good day toady!
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432

I can't believe I am saying this but just hang in there, for real. It's coming, but when Esse is good and ready! :lol:

Seriously, I have found that I am more comfy with the slow and steady. Watch for those signs about Esse being more relaxed and casual, more like the old Esse, because those are the important first signs. Cuddly? Awesome! Purring? Excellent! Eating? Great that's better than NOT eating.

I can't believe how many times I feel Ugh, come on, Shadoe! Let's get cracking here! All I get is back talk and demands for better food, brushing and belly scratches.

Like a good bean, I do as demanded, and practise being more patient.

Let the dose settle down some and maybe Esse will be so kind as to give you some better numbers. Esse, are you listening? Pink is nice, but yellow is nicer and blue is even nicer. Don't be getting fancy now, just start on down into those nicer colors please.

Michele, I hope we get to see a bit more results soon, even if it's horribly slow and zigzagging, or just flat. Day by day, it will get better and you will see it.

Have a great day at school and maybe Esse will greet you home with some yellows.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432

Gayle's right - this often a slow dance and Esse is in the lead. And sometimes it's a dance that's 3 steps forward and 2 steps back. She'll get there. And when she does, it will probably be at a point that is totally inconvenient for you. (Just like a cat!)
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

Shoot time is 6:30 am (give or take 5 minutes)
12:45pm = 48.
Put down some Friskies Poultry Platter. She's ravenous.
1:05pm= 56
Still thinking about more food.

WCR: Currently grooming and bright eyed, sitting on the camera case. Malachi came by, thought about pouncing, and she cheerfully walloped him before he got airborne. He just looked confused...she's not scared of anything...I'm the weenie.

I chose the "lc" Friskies instead of the Whiskas pouch, because I'm hoping to not have sky high numbers in rebound city to contend with. But I have plenty of HC, so...say the word, and it gets tossed down. I will test in 15 minutes.

This is freaking me right out. When I left for school, she was 432. Home at 12:45 and she's dropped close to 400 points. It's a good thing lunch got cancelled...the what-if's are upsetting me.

What to do about tonight? Let's start talking now, because I'm scared to shoot the whole 2.75 if she's low(ish). I was concerned about this dose in the first place, but I didn't think it would do this much this fast...I guess Wellness and the new dose has worked wonders...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +5.75=48 EYES please...

You are getting action! Retest in 20 minutes. You have HC. If necessary just use the gravy, If she is responding to the LC stay with that. Lots here to help you. BREATHE
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +5.75=48 EYES please...

Re-test in 15 min. so you have some idea where this is going.

At a 48, I would have used LC, too.

As far as rebound, it's gonna happen no matter what you feed. You have a drop of almost 400 points in about 6 hours. The LC won't add to the excitement, though. (Nice number!)
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +5.75=48 EYES please...

Jill & Alex said:
retest in 30 minutes, please...
Was planning at retesting at 1:30. Good enough? 10 minutes from now.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +5.75=48 EYES please...

That is quite a drop. Does Esse have access to food while you are out? Just wondering if she would eat on her own if her numbers were dropping.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +5.75=48 EYES please...

Correcting info: +6.15=48, 6.5=56

Sorry. I apparently forgot how to count there for a moment. Will correct title.

Sienne, not nice number if Bean looses mind...

What happened to the "slow dance?" "the zig, zag"? The 'Lantus has a flat curve...' AURRRRRRRRRRGGGGGGGGGGGGGGH. This was so surprising, I stared at the 48 waiting for that last number to appear. Like, 481 or something. :?: It never appeared. Goodness gracious, this cat is giving me conniptions. And she just walks around, tail in the air, bright eyed and walloping the kitten.

Esse didn't get the memo, people. We just have to work on our communications, mkay? ohmygod_smile :smile:

Good grief. I was going to the barn, but not anymore...

I'm correcting first posting now...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

Miriam and Putty said:
That is quite a drop. Does Esse have access to food while you are out? Just wondering if she would eat on her own if her numbers were dropping.
I think, but I could be wrong, that this is the fastest drop she's had (that I know of, anyway). When I left, there was still breakfast in the dishes; enough so that I didn't think I should supplement (there is usually food left at snacktime from breakfast). But the dishes were wiped clean when I walked in the door, so she'd apparently been eating (or one of the others had...or all of them...).

Back with new numbers.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +5.75=48 EYES please...

Holy moly Esse, I said nice and slow, not a mad print / dash down to the greens! And no freaking mammoth roller coasters either, Esse!

I tell you, when kitties decide to do something, you almost need to hang onto your hat for the ride, because with or without you, off they go.

Shadoe never did much in crazy drops but the first made me run to get another strip because SURELY the reading was WRONG! Right? Nope.

Best wishes on what follows here; they can be so naughty with what they do, oblivious to our freaking.

On the next memo, make sure she acknowledges receipt!
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

Amps+7=65.

Better. Better by a wee bit, but better. And she's in the kitty bowl next to me, just happy as a clam; full belly, lots of lovies from me...yeah, she's happy. I'm a lunatic, but she's fine. These are such scary numbers to me...I know they shouldn't be, but they are.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

Hee, hee.... you don't think this is fun? When you have a few minutes, look at Gabby's SS. She loves the drama.

Just think how well prepared you will be for all of the excitement when a patient codes! That will probably seem way easier than Esse with dropping numbers!!
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

A whole hour? Should I put on some old Beach Boys music for her, and take a chill pill for me? Should we hope for a surf, or should I expect 480 tonight? Gah...I just don't know what to think.

Thanks, Jill, for thinking I'm handling this fine. I can't believe how much of a weenie I am when it comes to her numbers. People dying on me at the hospital? Been there, handled that without even a thought. Blood up to my elbows at an accident scene? Chest compressions while giving directions on the phone to 911 at the same scene? No prob. easy-peasy.

Esse at 48? the SKY IS FALLING!!!!!!!!!!!!! ohmigoodness whaddoido findlc-wait-shouldbehc-no-lcbetterbecauseofrebound-whocaresjustfeedthecatNOWand duck from the skypieces falling on my head!

I crack myself up. I'm a such a weenie.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

The Calm Police is here...lol

stay calm, breath...focus...ur doing great Michele!! Keep updating ok?
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

Sienne and Gabby said:
Hee, hee.... you don't think this is fun? When you have a few minutes, look at Gabby's SS. She loves the drama.

Just think how well prepared you will be for all of the excitement when a patient codes! That will probably seem way easier than Esse with dropping numbers!!
I've already called a blue, and participated in two others. That's actually no big deal. None survived (not because of me...), but I'm really good at chest compressions now.

I think it's because Esse is mine, and I can't push a button and call other people to help me.

Wait.

Huh.

Isn't that what I'm doing now?

ohmygod_smile I'm just a weenie...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

hot-dog-ecopy.jpg


Hee, hee!!
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

Now see, CD, that cracked me up.

Yes, folks, I am a weenie. And if anyone can make that my avatar, I'll put it up as a public proclamation of my weenie-ness.

I want to test her right now...no reason, just me not being patient.

And does anyone want to start talking to me about tonight's dose??

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

She's at 91 at AMPS+7.75. I am much more relaxed at this number.

(Sorry, Jill, I just couldn't wait...)

Now, Esse dear...if it's not too much to ask, gimme some low 100s please...but don't go skyrocketing into the blackness of space. I'll keep giving you Wellness, and you keep giving me decent (not scary!!!) numbers, and life will be just grand. Deal??

Oy gevalt. I'm breathing again, and I know that the Calm Police are on patrol (Ronni, that was perfect!). I think I'll get myself a bite to eat now...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

ESSE!!!!!!!!! Listen up, ya hear?

Cut this crap out! Good golly Miss Molly...that was a drop. This ain't no amusement park!

Michele, hopefully you were drinking some vino while Esse was eating some LC.

P.S. Didn't drop off the planet...stoopid work network won't allow me reliable access to FDMB coupled with being exhausted at having to work again :YMSIGH: and bad weather (early dismissal today - paws crossed for a snow day tomorrow)

Can't wait to see the PMPS.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please...

Amy and Six said:
ESSE!!!!!!!!! Listen up, ya hear?

Cut this crap out! Good golly Miss Molly...that was a drop. This ain't no amusement park!

Michele, hopefully you were drinking some vino while Esse was eating some LC.

P.S. Didn't drop off the planet...stoopid work network won't allow me reliable access to FDMB coupled with being exhausted at having to work again :YMSIGH: and bad weather (early dismissal today - paws crossed for a snow day tomorrow)

Can't wait to see the PMPS.
No vino...not even a happy orange. Just coffee...for now.

As to where she will be at PMPS, it's anyone's guess...she could be right back up in the 400s...and the network at school won't let me on the site, either...and yes, I hope you get a snow day tomorrow; I am going to be at the barn holding horses (I think I'm set for 8?) for a vaccination clinic...and then I've got 2 horses to ride, and 4 more to take care of (owners on vacation or it's a "trade day" from when I was on vacation). So I hope we don't have a snow day...but I think you could use one.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse AMPS=432 +6.25=48 EYES please dropped to 74

O.K., at 8.25, she's dropped back down to 74.

Still on the dratted rollercoaster...anything I should do? Or just ride this one through?

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +6.25 48, +7 65, +7.75 91, +8.25 74 (dropping)

Sienne, done. Thanks. I didn't want to just ride it down, but I didn't want to do anything without others' input.

I'll check again at the halfhour, and we'll go from there. She's eating now...but wasn't terribly interested...she wanted to sleep, so I brought it to her in bed (yes, she's spoiled). I gave her 1 teaspoon of Fancy Feast Chicken (the low carb one) and she's eatihng just fine.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +6.25 48, +7 65, +7.75 91, +8.25 74 (dropping)

Good catch Michele! Keep posting no matter how nutty it gets here, lots of eyes here tonight!
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +6.25 48, +7 65, +7.75 91, +8.25 74 (dropping)

I agree with Sienne. 74 is very nice and surfing is what you want. It is hard to say what will happen at PMPS... but we'll see. Esse may start to go up and up as a bounce reaction from her low today. Or the bounce may be delayed. Many cats have an immediate bounce, but some do not and just when you get used to those blue/greens- boom... a bounce back to red. Since my crystal ball is on loan to the weather men, lets keep Esse surfing and see where she goes from here.

This dose is new to her and it was expected she'd drop... just not this much! Goodness. But hanging out in the reds/pinks was not helping her so you had to do something. Now you may think right now that you want to return to the old dose, but keep an open mind. A lot can change in a few hours. (As you saw today. :-D )
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +6.25 48, +7 65, +7.75 91, +8.25 74 (dropping)

She went from eating (and finishing) "in bed", and started lurking the kitchen. So I tested...52. I gave her another teaspoon of FF Chix., so maybe she'll hold here for a little while.

I will keep posting...the panic has left (have you ever noticed that you can't continue panicking for a long time? It's weird).

CD, I know things can happen, but boy howdy...that was/is a wild ride...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +6.25 48, +7 65, +7.75 91, +8.25 74 (dropping)

Classic answer.... lots can happen in a few hours!

You're going great Michelle. It will flatten out.... so they say. Mr. L is a little pissy that's all.
Hang in there.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +6.25 48, +7 65, +7.75 91, +8.25 74 8.75 52

Michele - You're doing great! Can't believe this wild ride tonight...Are you sure you're not drinking? :lol:
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +6.25 48, +7 65, +7.75 91, +8.25 74 8.75 52

Amy and Six said:
Michele - You're doing great! Can't believe this wild ride tonight...Are you sure you're not drinking? :lol:
You know - I recall Michele mentioning something about injecting oranges with vodka and placing in freezer for a lovely snack. Hmmmm????
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +6.25 48, +7 65, +7.75 91, +8.25 74 8.75 52

you're doing great, Michele, and it's great that Esse is learning to surf! I know you're ready for her bounce to start now, so you can get a break, but she's doing well and so are you!
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +6.25 48, +7 65, +7.75 91, +8.25 74 8.75 52

No Amy, just coffee. And yes, CD, there are such things as happy oranges (and you can use Tequila, too, I've found...), but I haven't eaten any today at least.

Mr. Toad's Wild Ride...and it's continuing.

I know right now I am not going to be comfortable shooting 2.75 if she's under 150...I really think that changing her diet back to Wellness was an important step, and increasing her dose at the same time was hard for me to do. I really, really don't know what I should do; part of me agrees with shoot low, stay low; and the other part of me says 'you need to get sleep tonight,' and still a third part says 'shoot low dose and get highish numbers tomorrow, but that's safer than what's happening now..."

So I'm in a quandry. I really expected her to be bouncing a bit by now, but she's not...I just don't know what to think.

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +8.25 74 8.75 52 +9 62 +9.5 80

You do realize that Esse earned a reduction with that 48, right?

I'd get some input with Libby re. what to shoot.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +8.25 74 8.75 52 +9 62 +9.5 80

Sienne and Gabby said:
You do realize that Esse earned a reduction with that 48, right?

I'd get some input with Libby re. what to shoot.
Libby's looking right now. But Esse has been diabetic since Aug 2008, correct?
Sooooo, not sure if it qualifies as low enough for a longer term FD kitty. Maybe.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +8.25 74 8.75 52 +9 62 +9.5 80

WOW! Where did this come from Esse?!?!?! :thumbup

I'd get those oranges ready for yourself later tonight!
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +8.25 74 8.75 52 +9 62 +9.5 80

looks like she is on the rise now, you can wait an hour (or even til +11) to test if you want. Looking at ss.....
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +8.25 74 8.75 52 +9 62 +9.5 80

CD & Big Mac said:
Libby's looking right now. But Esse has been diabetic since Aug 2008, correct? Sooooo, not sure if it qualifies as low enough for a longer term FD kitty. Maybe.

Michele - could you clarify the date of Esse's diagnosis? I thought it was August 2009.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +8.25 74 8.75 52 +9 62 +9.5 80

because Esse went to 48 and it took a good bit of food to keep her surfing, it looks like you should be ok to try a reduction. Hopefully this was the jump start Esse needed to get her into green more often.

If it were my cat, I would probably go with the fat 2.5, since the regular 2.5 did nothing for her. However, the protocol does reductions by 0.25 at a time, so that is ok too. If any reduction doesn't work, we always have the option of going back up again. Thoughts?
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +8.25 74 8.75 52 +9 62 +9.5 80

Sienne and Gabby said:
Michele - could you clarify the date of Esse's diagnosis? I thought it was August 2009.

Oops, could be I have a typo in my notes. Sorry. That makes a big difference.
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +8.25 74 8.75 52 +9 62 +9.5 80

Didn't mean to leave you all hanging...had to bring Dad's dinner over, and he needed some things fixed; so got waylaid for a bit.

Clarification: Esse was diagnosed late late August 09...started insulin in early September.

Current numbers:
+10=105
+11.5=175

I'd like to do a dose reduction to, oh, say, I dunno...2U. Of course, I don't think I can get away with that. So I'll shoot 2.5 and see what happens...

And yes, I'm trying to find where I stuck that orange I did the other day...that would give me vitamin C as well as a shot of...ahem, an adult bev. But I think I'll stick with some adulterated Egg Nog...and then switch to regular low fat milk.

WCR: sitting in the bowl next me me, staring at me, trying to convince me that foooooooooooodddddd nnnnnnnoooooooooowwwwwwwwwwww. LOL. Bright eyed, although she's trying to mind-meld me and hypnotize me with those golden sweet eyes. I'm feeding in 15 minutes...

So. Do I go to 2.5 or can I shoot 2, or ??? To be honest, I'm thinking she was lower than when I caught her at 12:45. Don't ask me why, other than I don't think that my timing is good enough to have caught the lowest number...but I think she was lower.

I'm scared to shoot 2.5...

Best-
Michele
 
Re: 01/07: Esse +8.25 74 8.75 52 +9 62 +9.5 80

carolynandlatte said:
WOW! Where did this come from Esse?!?!?! :thumbup

I'd get those oranges ready for yourself later tonight!
Someone gave her a day pass to Greenland. I tried to tell her it was too cold this time of year, but she didn't care...just packed her bags and bailed.

Carolyn, this has spooked me. I know she can drop, but man, this defied all logic. Of course, she'd say it was totally logical and reasonable to respond, 'cause she's a cat and doesn't get wiggy with the fluctuations...just the paranoid panicky bean (no wonder her liver panicks...it's just following my lead!)

This just spooked me. What if I hadn't had lunch plans canceled? Or had decided to run to the barn, because she was so high this morning, what could happen?? What if?? Oh I hate whatifs...

Best-
Michele
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top