4/11 Oliver amps 304 pmps 461 +1~389 +2~329

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Member Since 2009
Yesterday’s Condo for Oliver

Yesterday's recap:
437 - amps (4uLantus & 1R) c6
434 - +1.5
362 - +2.5
329 - +4.5
344 - +6.5
319 - +9
358 - pmps (4uLev) c1
360 - +2
329 - +4
304 - today's amps (4uLev) c2

I've got a really good feeling about this switch; this morning's amps and also Oliver's attitude were both a surprise.

Around about 4am, Oliver started his form of harassment to 'convince' me to get up and feed him. I tried reaching over the side of the bed to pat him, and I even pulled him up onto the bed which was hard as he's so large, but nothing slowed him down.
He scratched on the floor mat, the side of the bed, the top of the bed, me, and tried pulling the covers with his big claws. He even jumped up on the bed to claw more ferociously. I don't think he was allowed up on furniture in his past home, because he never jumps onto anything except stools, side tables, and the cat tree, so his jumping up on the bed told me he meant some serious business.
By this time it was already 25min to amps, so I got up and tested him and gave him food after about 10min. I was thinking what a pest, what's gotten into you this morn? then his 304 told me he's likely feeling better and this Lev switch could turn out to have been a good decision.
I am hoping that's the case so I can focus on Shadoe more and get HER numbers back down or slow them from rising.

Oliver's up on HIS cat tree having a nap; the girls are sleeping together on the sofa. Everyone is happy, fed, and full of juice. The girls don't care about the tree, and sharpen their claws on it only once in awhile, so it looks like it's Oliver's tree now.

The day is looking good for Oliver, finally some good news for him.
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304

Nicer AMPS for him today....good job! Glad he has his very own tree ~~ that's so nice. He has found out how to awaken mama in the mornings now...LOL....smart lil guy, eh?
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304

Oliver just loves that tree.

The girls could care less, but I am sure he would let them use it.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1203.JPG
    IMG_1203.JPG
    3.1 MB · Views: 818
  • IMG_1190.JPG
    IMG_1190.JPG
    2.8 MB · Views: 611
  • IMG_1039.JPG
    IMG_1039.JPG
    2.9 MB · Views: 625
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304 +3~234

What an incredible day for Oliver so far! We have sunshine at +3, finally, a breakthrough for him. :thumbup

I don't care if the Lantus was failing or if the Lev is more to his liking, or if he was just due; he's into yellow now and hopefully it is going to stick around for a bit. :RAHCAT

Outwardly, he is not looking very perky, but it is likely due to the fact that he does not recognize a good number as a right number; he's very possibly feeling like something is not right.

Wouldn't it be great if this was the start of his settling and starting to heal?

One more test in 45min before I go out for a couple hours.
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304 +3~234

I love it! Finally, some pretty yellow for Oliver. And, what a pest! He's got you wrapped around his big paws.
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304 +3~234

wow, check Oliver out! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

My Sammy kitty is a really big boy, and his new thing to get me out of bed is that he'll put his head into my side and just start pushing! I'm not a little person and sometimes he manages to push hard enough to actually start to roll me over. One of these days he'll convince the other cats to help, and they'll shove me right outta bed. :lol:
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304 +3~234

I go out for 2 hours and come back to a 392 cat(2)_steam
Right or wrong, at +6 I gave him .5R to stop wherever he thinks it was that he was going.
I don't know what it was, but I told him I want no more of those shenanigans.

OK I don't know squat about bounces, and have no idea why a number would jump from 238 to 392 in 2 hrs. Ran out of juice? Bounce? What?

He's just had too much time in those high numbers and even though I test and get negative ketones. all those reds and pinks are just wrong, more wrong that giving TOR. I don't think the .5 will do much, but if it just stops the climb, I'll be happy with that.

Any thoughts on how to handle this kind of rise at mid cycle?
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304 +3~234 4~238 +6~392!

as much as you don't like seeing that rise, we can't get too excited about this. this is only his second dose of lev. even though the dose is the same as his last lantus dose... this is shed building time for the lev. we have to cut him a little slack. :-D
i'm sure those who have used R will chime in. since i haven't... my thoughts mean diddley-squat, but right or wrong... i probably would have done the same if there was a bottle of R in my fridge.


eta: it's only natural for him to bounce from yellows at this stage of the dance...
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304 +3~234 4~238 +6~392 +7~448!

OK it was just a teensy bit of R and it did what I hoped; he's got a +8 of 387 and hopefully it put a bit of breaks on his rise.

I think I was so focused in the back of my mind on the possibility of the Lantus having turned that when I saw his good numbers, it seemed to confirm those suspicions.
That's why the sudden soaring caught me off guard, and knee jerk reaction was to stop it. The amount .5R is not alot, so I figured it would be safe, not the best action but still safe.
At the same time, I did realize he just switched to Lev and must be adjusting, plus he's been at high numbers so long that it was expected that he'd come right back up. Even Shadoe did to my annoyance - she was always seeming like she would stick her toe into the blue or yellow water and then go scurrying back to her comfy pinks. It took quite a bit of time for her to finally get feeling better at those lower numbers, so I would expect that Oliver has to go through the same process.

I do have a question though:
Should I stay longer on this dose and treat the switch to Lev as if it's just starting on an insulin? Instead of 6 cycles, should I wait for 8 or 10 maybe?

Other than his numbers, Oliver is a happy cat, just eating and pooping and piddling up a storm here. I went out to pick up a 10kg bag of litter and more big cans of Friskies.
Shadoe still gives him the evil eye, and Booboo is trying to be his friend but she's not too sure about him when he hooks one of his paws in her direction so she's sticking to the sneak up behind him and lick the ear approach.
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304 +3~234 4~238 +6~392 +7~448!

I do have a question though:
Should I stay longer on this dose and treat the switch to Lev as if it's just starting on an insulin? Instead of 6 cycles, should I wait for 8 or 10 maybe?
let's see how things go... probably not the answer you wanted to hear, but it really depends on the numbers. protocol does leave room for an initial starting dose to be increased after 4 - 6 cycles even though the general practice in LL has been to hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days:

Generally the starting dose is kept for 3 days. Test for ketones daily. Cats that have a tendency to get ketones and/or who are getting relatively high flat curves after the switch should have their dose raised earlier (after 24-48 hours). It is extremely rare that a cat will need to have its dose reduced in the first 3 days, but if the cat falls below 50 mg/dl, reduce the dose.

that being said, those 200s today looked pretty darn good. for him to bounce from them is to be expected at this point. this may be the time to sit on our hands and give the dose a little more time...
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304 +8~387

Perfect and clear; I don't mind waiting because I don't like increasing! I'll just keep posting his numbers and see how it all goes.

Now that a few times using R have proven to help a bit, I can use the R for any high ps and give him time to settle in. I am completely OK with the 5-7 days if that's what's needed.

So long as the foods keep coming and nice chicken cubes for snacks, Oliver is fine with everything.
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304 +8~387

So happy to see some yellow for Oliver Gayle.
Now maybe he will get realy used to it and try and get back to them ASA.

Overall between the kitties, very nice weekend!!
 
Re: 4/11 Oliver amps 304 +8~387

I remember when you bought the tree for the girls...little did you know at the time you were buying it for Oliver!

Hey, that yellow sure does give some hope! Hope the Lev starts really kicking in!
 
What a lousy number - I think he runs outta juice and just zooms up again.
Even with .5R at +6 and then 1R at pmps, we are not able to keep him down.

Should I just let him go with just the Lev, or maybe use more R?
Fat lot of good the .5 or even the 1u did, but I did not want to overdo it.

Oliver's happy and with a full belly, and sprawled out sleeping on the living room rug. Shadoe even cut him some slack today and has not hissed at him once; I think the vacuum may have distracted her for part of the day.

Linda, yes, it's definitely his tree, and the girls could care less.

Amy, it's funny how things work out huh? Little did I know that Oliver would come to live with us and he would love what the girls rejected.
 
I dunno, he dropped over 100 points with the R at PMPS, you don't want him to drop any more than that or he will bounce even higher. 130 points in 2 hours is plenty.
 
OK thx.
I was looking for an amount of R that I could use if his ps was red; I'll stick with the 1uR for that now.

With the work week coming up, Oliver will have lots of time to rest and heal his ears during the day.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top