4/10 Oliver amps 437 pmps 358 +2~360 +4~329

Status
Not open for further replies.

Blue

Very Active Member
Yesterday’s Condo for Oliver

Yesterday's recap:
443 - amps (4uL & .5R) c4
376 - +1
398 - +2
389 - pmps (4uL) c5
387 - +1
376 - +2
356 - +3
338 - +4
328 - +5
437 - today's amps (4uL & 1.0R) c6
434 - +1.5
362 - +2.5
329 - +4.5

So far, no big surprises and we are on cycle 6, so tonite's dose looks like it will be 4.25u and if pmps is high, more R to bring him down a bit.

When looking at his ss, there is no indication of rebound or bouncing, but rather the only indication seems to be need more insulin.

Oliver's doing fine; eating very well, drinking normal amounts, making LB deposits and not scrimping on the odor or volumes, snoring, snorting and generally being a happy lug.

I made small graphs of his numbers to support not much happening yet.
 

Attachments

Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437

Venita and The Boyz said:
I continue to believe that Oliver is being overdosed and that increases are being made too fast.

I think everybody has fallen in love with Oliver and everybody wants what's best for him. However, it's got to be hard for Gayle being caught in the middle of a group of people who thinks he needs more and a group that thinks he needs less. I want to offer some support for what she's been doing.

Gayle has not deviated from Tilly protocol, which has proven very, very safe (it does allow for increases after 4 cycles and by .5 u when cat has awful numbers). She started Oliver over at 1 u and his numbers were just as terrible. Jojo's been keeping an eye on Oliver via FB. I'm going to say what nobody wants to say (although Gayle already suspects). God forbid, because it would be incredibly unfair, but Oliver could be another acrocat. I remember the first time I saw his picture, it popped in my mind; I almost sent Venita a PM recommending that someone draw and freeze a vial of blood before Oliver crossed into Canada (because it's so much cheaper to send from US). His numbers are high and flat, with no response. He's huge. He snores. He's got lots of disturbing signs. I pray I'm completely wrong...I hope he's like Max or Kitty - he just needs a high dose and then he zooms down the scale. But, I don't in any way think he's overdosed; I think he still needs more. He has not once dropped to anything even questionable (and even if he did one day, that wouldn't prove anything; Boo dropped quite low one day, completely out of the blue, for no apparent reason, before we knew she was an acrocat; in fact, we started her over at 1u because of that number and wasted precious weeks climbing back up the scale. Now, she has a death sentence of CRF - we'll never know how long it took for those numbers to damage her kidneys, but I'll always wonder what if I had got her numbers down quicker).

Venita and the people that believe Oliver is overdosed, I offer my opinion very respectfully. Hopefully it reads that way because that's how it's intended.

ETA:
I wanted to add one more thing. Poor Gayle is VERY experienced at this point of keeping an overdosed kitty safe. When Oliver arrived, Shadoe's tumor took a nap and Gayle had to rush down the dosing scale. she did an outstanding job. Unfortunately, Shadoe is now going back up.
 
Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437 +9~319

I don't know where Oliver is going with these numbers; his lowest is his +9?
mini recap:
437 - amps
434 - +1.5
362 - +2.5
329 - +4.5
344 - +6.5
319 - +9?

weird, but I'll take it. It's still not under 300 but we are getting closer, so I hope this next dosecrease is the one that fits him perfectly.
 
Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437 +9~319

Hard to tell where his nadir will be, doesn't have to be six hours either direction. KB's has moved several times but is generally right around PS time (sometimes a little earlier). Add the R influence and it's even harder to be sure. I'm just glad to see he does come down.

I think if you were giving him too much insulin at some point you'd see a huge drop and you aren't getting that. Hopefully you're getting close to the perfect dose (and then he'll bounce 'cause he's not used to it).
 
Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437 +9~319 - try new pen or switch to Lev?

Serious question here:

This pen of Lantus has been used by us for Oliver since his arrival on March 20/10. Today is day 22 on this pen, but here is the kicker ...
both pens that came with Oliver with his stuff WERE BOTH ALREADY OPENED!

Even IF the pens were recently opened, this one is just about to the 28 days as it was likely used for the couple days of his travel and Claudia mentioned that they were both already opened in her post on Thursday March 18/10.

So, Oliver's numbers could well be high if the Lantus is expiring. I realize that his numbers do lower, but not by much. I am likely wrong, but it's something to consider.

I could try to use the other pen since it's already open, I just checked, or I could crack open a cart of Lev and switch him this weekend. I may as well switch him to Lev eventually so that both he and Shadoe are on the same insulin, unless someone has some good reasons to leave him on Lantus.
I am leaning to the switch because BOTH of the open pens can be considered iffy in less than a week.

Thoughts anyone please?
 
Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437 +9~319

allowing for a 20% meter variation... looks like oliver has remained rather flat today. the R took the edge off by dropping him 100 points and the lantus has maintained the numbers. not bad!
good luck with the increase tonight!

Venita and The Boyz wrote: I continue to believe that Oliver is being overdosed and that increases are being made too fast."
i disagree for the same reasons i explained in my response to claudia's PM regarding dosing on 3/29 (venita, you were cc'd).
the PM in part:

"i'll be honest with you... while i didn't see any harm in dropping oliver's dose down to 1u bid, i really didn't agree or see any reason for it based on the little bit of data collected at that point. 3u bid only brought oliver down to the 100s. if he were my own cat (given the unknowns), i would probably have kept him at 3u bid for 5 - 7 days and collected as much data as i possibly could. my *guess* is the dose would have needed to be raised from there. i suspect his "break through" dose (producing double digits consistently) will be somewhere around 3.25u to 3.5u bid (most likely the latter). the longer he stays in higher numbers, the higher that break through dose may become.

after looking at oliver's spreadsheet, i see what gayle is doing. she's raising the dose after every 4 cycles... by 0.5u if nadirs remain over 300 and by 0.25u if nadirs remain over over 200. yes, this is an aggressive approach, but still within the suggested guidelines of rand and roomp's tight regulation protocol. i have not talked to gayle, but if she suspects he's under dose (as i do)... she's doing exctly what i would do given the same set of circumstances. i wouldn't recommend fast-tracking any kitty to a caregiver who didn't test often, nor would i recommend doing this unless i knew a caretaker was comfortable bringing up low numbers they had to. gayle is the type of person who will do whatever she has to do, up to and including staying home from work or staying up all night to make sure kitty is safe."


the dose was dropped to 1u bid 2.5 weeks ago and oliver has remained in high numbers while traveling back up the dosing scale. i'm really not surprised the dose has now surpassed 3u bid because the longer a kitty stays in high numbers, the better chance of glucose toxicity setting in... which *usually* ends up requiring a higher dose of insulin to cause a break through. kwim?

as has been pointed out... there have not been any huge drops to indicate the dose being too high. imho, i believe gayle is on the right track.

as far as oliver being an acrokitty... that remains to be seen. from the same PM i sent claudia on 3/29 (in part):

"imo, people are jumping to conclusions when a kitty gets up in dose to 3u - 5u bid. some cats are just plain old high dose cats. we've been seeing more and more of that this past year. actually, we're seeing exactly what the german katzen forum has been seeing amongst their lantus and levemir users... lantus and levemir DO appear to have a lower potency than some of the other insulins. therefore, it just stands to reason we'll see some kitties reaching higher doses before we see a break in their numbers. again, just a personal opinion based solely on observation... we can no longer assume a kitty is an acro or IAA kitty just because the dose reaches the vicinity of 5u bid. yes, acromegaly and IAA should be considered, but that break through dose *could* be at 5.25u or 6u bid. not all big cats are acros."

having acromegaly is certainly a possibility. given the percentage of diabetic cats now known to have acromegaly, in a perfect world all feline diabetics should probably be tested... especially those who have reached high doses of insulin. however, there are also high dose cats... cats who for some reason or another just need a high dose of insulin.

lantus or lev? gayle, if you have any doubts about the insulin... i'd go with the lev if i were in your shoes. if nothing else, it will eliminate a variable which *could* be contributing to the numbers. if you switch to lev, i would not raise the dose tonight. fwiw, jmo...
 
Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437 +9~319 - try new pen or switch to Lev?

Sometimes you look too closely and need to step back to get a better look at the whole picture.

Yes, I think it would be good to switch to Lev and now so that I can be around to test and watch.

The Lantus will have hit that magical iffy 28-day mark in the middle of the week, so I would not be around to make sure the switch goes fine. Any switch, even if between two similar items could still give not so similar reactions.

I did switch Shadoe from Lantus to Lev but it was in the middle of CrazyTimes; lots of no shots and dental and we went from 10uLantus to no shot to 5uLev, which does help in knowing how a switch at the same dose would go :lol:

I'll go with 4u Lev for Oliver in just over an hour, unless someone thinks we should try less than 1:1 switch.

Yeah, I will feel better to eliminate the what-if factor of old Lantus.
 
Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437 - switching to Lev tonite same dose

seeing as though oliver is due for an increase tonight, i would stick with 4u for the switch.
in a sense, it's like shooting a little bit less than you would have otherwise...
 
Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437 pmps 358 - switched to Lev

I am feeling very, very excited that we are getting close to Oliver's dose because this pmps is his lowest EVER! :thumbup

And now that we have switched to Lev, I hope tonite and tomorrow, we will finally see a breakthrough.
 

Attachments

  • IMG_1228.JPG
    IMG_1228.JPG
    3.4 MB · Views: 784
Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437 pmps 358 - switched to Lev

goooooo Oliver! Good luck with the Lev switch, it does make sense to have both on the same insulin.

LOL, I don't think I've ever seen a cat do that with grass that's in a pot. :lol:
 
Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437 pmps 358 - switched to Lev

Libby,
It's hard when you don't really know the history for a full grown cat, but you pick up signs from habits sometimes. To me, I think maybe he could have been an outdoor cat because I have seen cats do this sort of making a bed in the grass before.
It seems to make him very happy, and nobody goes near the pots of dried and fresh cat grass now because it's 'his spot'. He's flattened it on all sides and keeps 'fixing' it all the time with his claws - it looks like he is rearranging it! If a couple pots of grass make him happy, well let's just put down a few more and make him really happy.
They are not expensive and it seems to help all 3 of them as they all have chewed on it.

This cat grass is a strange thing that I don't understand but they seem to. At times, they will go to the dry and others, they go to the fresh; there must be a difference to them, and it is supposed to be good for digestives, even if only to get a hairball up.
 
Re: 4/10 Oliver amps 437 pmps 358 - switched to Lev

Again I have to say, I love pictures of Oliver. Of course Shadoe and BooBoo too.
Good luck with the swtich to Lev. I also think it makes sense.

Fo anyone who read Boo's response, I would like to say that the "Max" she mentioned in the "Max" and "Kitty", is my Max.
The max who weighs 18.5 pounds and who went up the dosing scale to 6u.
Other than acrocats and a few others, Max was one of the highest dose cats in Lantus.

That dose was 6 weeks ago.
Now Max is on Gum trial and has not had insulin in 8 days.
He needed that dose to finally crack his resistance, and down he came.
Kitty is looking mighty fine too.

I am so proud that Gayle saved Oliver from possible PTS and loves him dearly.
Great work!!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top