Yellows Purple, too many

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by CORKY, Apr 18, 2024.

  1. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    this is the continuation of Purple WOW!!
     
  2. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Considering increasing as Suzanne was suggesting, any suggestions would be appreciated, I do not like at all these purple numbers Corky is having in the mornings, and I can't explain why, is this a sign of his diabetes getting worse?
     
  3. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’m not suggesting anything, I was saying that the nadirs you are getting are within the normal range for SLGS. If you want to get lower nadirs then you should switch to MPM. Don’t be afraid that it means his diabetes is “getting worse”. Cats’ insulin needs change in both directions at times. Anyway, you said we would think about it next week so no worries for today!
     
    CORKY likes this.
  4. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Thanks what’s MPS??
     
  5. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    MPM. Modified ProZinc Method
     
    CORKY likes this.
  6. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Suzanne please make me understand why before PMPS Corky's BG reads 199 he eats nothing but less than 5-6% carbs, he right tested 268, then by 10 he's in the 100's, why is this happening? :banghead::banghead::banghead::(:bighug::cat::cat:
     
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    He has done this before look back on his spreadsheet. In my opinion, it is simply that the previous shot is wearing off and the new shot hasn’t fully kicked in yet. So he eats and there is a little bit of a food bump and then you combine that with the fact that the previous shot has worn off and the new shot is just starting to kick in. So he goes up some. He should be back in blue by his next test. What did he eat for dinner tonight?
     
  8. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Thanks if I’m not mistaken is on the SS INremarks, he ate salmon feast pate always and usually the same stuff but like I switch now and then can’t fix what’s not broken the chicken and meat he was leaving half of the food and got both in constipation city
     
  9. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. You’ve been doing a great job of noting all the food down on your spreadsheet. I am sorry, I was hoping you would just help me out and tell me what he ate as I didn’t have time to check what he ate at that moment. You didn’t do anything incorrectly.
     
    CORKY likes this.
  10. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Yes of course, Salmon Feast Pate and he's at 155 and @ 11 he's having 1/2cn Tuna Flake 0 carbs Have a great weekend, I'll be ok most important so will Corky he WUVS me :bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  11. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    See, I said he would be blue tonight! All good.
     
    CORKY likes this.
  12. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    and this morning too, from now on it will be only the Tuna flake last meal, 0% carbs
    ;):joyful::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
     
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It will be good to see if that does consistently help the AMPS. I’m happy to see the Blue AMPS today!
     
    CORKY likes this.
  14. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    interesting question for you. Corky and Coco just looove chunky food, they grew up on hard food, there is not much selection of FF chunky without the gravy, if I were to drain the gravy and wash the food? would that make the food low carb?? or would it remove nutrients, and / or flavor?? :bighug::bookworm: :cat::cat:
     
  15. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Not a good idea overall. There are ingredients in the chunks themselves that make them higher carb as well as the gravy. And yes, you would wash away some of the nutrients. We really wouldn’t have any idea of the carb percentage for the food either.
     
    Red & Rover (GA) likes this.
  16. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    thanks , I didn't think so either , but needed to be sure, Corky is doing quite well today , we got a green 85 WOOPIE!!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  17. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Awesome! He’s back!!
     
    CORKY likes this.
  18. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    that last meal might make a difference, will continue on that for experiment, I am re4ally happy to see that green, let's see how long he stays there, I am optimistic:D:bighug::cat::cat:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  19. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I keep seeing snacks given at +7 for Corky. This is too late in the cycle to be feeding.
     
  20. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    my mistake is actually wrong, I am having a very hard time figuring out where to place all the info since I cannot see the top of the page where the hours and +'s are I asked Marje to help me, but she cannot see what I am talking about, I cannot see lines 3-4-& 5 when I scroll up the page the snack is actually + 4 AMPS I screwed up. the 1st small meal is at AMPS +7 and PMPS at +5 I will fix this, is there anyone that can fix the SS so I can see those lines when I scroll the page up, I can see them on the SS for 2023, I do not know what happened with the 2024 SS sorry!
     
  21. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’m sorry about your spreadsheet problems. I was talking about the information in the comments section where it says snack at +7. But anyway, what I do when I can’t see the top of a spreadsheet (not because of a malfunctioning spreadsheet but just because I would have to scroll way up to the top to see the +hours) is to just count the cells starting at +1 right after the units/dose cell. Know what I mean?
     
  22. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    I so strange because two days ago the SS was right, I would scroll the page up and lines 3- 4 & 5 were visible, yet, when I scroll SS 2023 up the lines 3-4-& 5 stay
    visible.
    Yes, I wrote down the sequence, so I don't make the mistake, I went back on the notes and noticed that I had, a +7 snack, I removed it I had not seen it before, it had 5 meals, not the daily food list is correct, Corky woke up on a purple of 374 he leveled off quite quickly, He loves to make me crazy
    Good Morning:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  23. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Good afternoon ! could you review Corky's SS you will freak out!! I cannot understand not just high purples, but up down up, I know i did not give a fur shot the way I place the needle I feel going inside him this is CRAZY:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::bighug::cat::cat:
     
  24. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I believe you about no fur shot. Let’s just be patient with Corky and see how he does. It’s not an impressive cycle today for sure.
     
  25. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh… and the “ups and downs” are really small and are all within what is called “meter variance” where the BG meter is permitted to have a 20/25 percent variance in readings. So, for example, the 255 on Corky’s sheet could also read as a 306 (which is 20 percent larger) or it could read as a lower number 20 percent less.

    So don’t worry so much about the individual numbers themselves. We are looking at trends and the overall picture— unless we see huge dips or jumps. So today’s overall picture in pinks and yellow doesn’t really make me happy, but, as I said, let’s be patient with Corky right now and see what he has in store for us.

    Is there anything going on at your house that would stress him out? Is he feeling well? Constipated? Has he been eating all the really low carb stuff? The foods mentioned on your SS are the usual low carb ones from what I can see.
     
  26. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    thanks for your response, and there is no stress, on the contrary I'm home most of the day and nights since there are no more daily Dr's appointments, and all the things you mention that could be an issue are negative everything is great with him thank God, I guess he is just being "Corky". I was so happy seeing all those blues, could it be because of the green 80 @ 10PM yesterday?
     
  27. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It does not look like a bounce in the traditional sense of the word. And Corky is not a stranger to green.
     
    CORKY likes this.
  28. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    OK! Well from 6PM to 8PM he went up again, we'll see what the magic 10PM has to say
    Have a good night:bighug::bighug::cat::cat:
     
  29. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    235 to 254 is not a significant difference. But I do hope for him to go down now! The insulin should onset at about +2 so even a +3 should be lower than the +2.
     
  30. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    you were totally right we have @ 10PM 182 YEEEE!:bighug::bighug::bighug::cat::cat:;)
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  31. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Still confused! Corky goes to bed with the last test with low BG's However since 4/16
    except for 2 days he wakes up on AMPS with a very High Bg, ending the last shot 10PM from 109 - 165 BG... is there an answer to that especially when his last meals between 0-5 % Carbs
     
  32. CORKY

    CORKY Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2023
    Still confused! Corky goes to bed with the last test with low BG's However since 4/16
    except for 2 days he wakes up on AMPS with a very High Bg, ending the last shot 10PM from 109 - 165 BG... is there an answer to that especially when his last meals between 0-5 % Carbs
     
  33. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I thought you were going to make sure that the last meal of the evening would always be tuna flake?
     

Share This Page