On Lantus - BG results erratic - advice please?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by JackBlack, Dec 26, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JackBlack

JackBlack Member

Hi there, Jack is still newly diagnosed so we are nowhere near regulation. We have switched him to Lantus (Glargine) 4 days ago. Started on 2 units (he responded very quickly and BG results were low) so reduced to one unit. My vet said if he tested under 12 mmol/L (216 mg/dL) to not give any insulin (it's Christmas time and was not available so we decided to err on the side of caution - better to have higher readings than low), so for the last 2 nights at I have given none.
    This morning Jack was "HI" (over 33.3 mmol/L (599 mg/dL) I decided to give him 0.5 units, thinking he might be a little more "even" on this dose.
    Vet not open yet.

Would apprciate any thoughts - I am a novice!

2. javasfambam

javasfambam Member

Hi Merrin

Good to see you've changed to better juice! It looks like your vet is going down the same path ours did when we moved to Lantus. She was dosing Lantus like caninsulin. Thing is, Lantus needs consistency in dosage and timing. The insulins are so different.

Caninsulin is an insulin that is administered the used by the body in one cycle.
    Lantus is a depot insulin that builds up in body and is dispensed over time.

Here is some info on Lantus and how it works
    http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sticky-lantus-levemir-what-is-the-insulin-depot.150/

Have you had a look at the tight regulation protocol for using Lantus? It shows you how to dose, increase and decrease based on nadir (the lowest point in the insulin cycle)
    http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/sticky-lantus-levemir-tight-regulation-protocol.1581/

This is the doctor Rand protocol (your vet may like this information to read?). http://www.felinediabetes.com/Roomp_Rand_2008 dosing_testing protocol.pdf