knolet
Member Since 2012
I sent Zeus' spreadsheet to his Vet for advice on dosing. He's had a couple of mornings or evenings that I've skipped shots because it was below 200. The Vet is saying that it's OK to shoot if the BG is between 60-120 as long as I'm feeding him right afterwards. I do feed Zeus 4X, usually right after I test before his shots AM & PM, and then leave frozen food out to nibble, both AM & PM (which he usually eats about 3 hours after his other meals). The Vet also said not to test mid-day since I'm leaving the frozen food out, he says it's messing with the mid-day numbers and that Zeus obviously needs the insulin, so I shouldn't skip the shot.
I know that the food will spike his BG, but how much and how long does it affect it? I thought as long as I didn't feed 2 hours before the testing it should be OK. Is it OK to shoot at 120 or below as long as he eats? I won't be around to check on him as I work, but I do come home mid-day for lunch. I'm afraid to find Zeus passed out somewhere.
Any advice?
I know that the food will spike his BG, but how much and how long does it affect it? I thought as long as I didn't feed 2 hours before the testing it should be OK. Is it OK to shoot at 120 or below as long as he eats? I won't be around to check on him as I work, but I do come home mid-day for lunch. I'm afraid to find Zeus passed out somewhere.
Any advice?