? Zen - Difficult to control and/or progressing toward an OTJ trial?

Emily R

Member Since 2021
Hi, everyone! Been lurking for a bit and reading extensively-- what an incredible wealth of information and support! I'm trying to determine next steps for my 11-year-old Maine Coon, Zen.

We've been following TR as much as our vet is comfortable, and his neuropathy got really bad for a bit. He started on Zobaline last week and is already showing improvements. My only source of worry at this point is what seems to be really unpredictable BG. Here's his spreadsheet-- pay closer attention to anything after 5/12, which is when we finally got him all the way off of dry food.

It seems like it's getting harder and harder to predict when he's going to go borderline hypo. My questions:
  1. I know ECID, but is this even remotely expected? Does this look like we're creeping toward an OTJ trial, or is he just entirely too unpredictable?
  2. It looks like 1 unit might be too much for him when he's only on the Tiki Cat (we made the switch from DM to Tiki Cat exclusively yesterday when he was too low to dose yesterday morning), but 0 units doesn't seem like it's enough (unless we think his liver panicked from the previous borderline hypo event). We're still within the window of the last reduction, so I don't want to reduce again unless we think it's necessary...

Zen's story so far, for context:

  • Diagnosed with Hypertrophic Cardiomyopathy: June 2019
  • Diagnosed with Diabetes Mellitus: March 2021
    • He came down with Diabetes very suddenly. His labs and prognosis from his yearly checkup and echocardiogram in Feb 2021 were all absolutely beautiful, though he'd started to lose weight a bit more rapidly than we liked, so the vet asked us to change his food out from Science Diet Perfect Weight (dry food, and SO high in carbs) to something a little higher in calories so we could put some meat back on his bones. I'm sure it was a very stressful day for him, and so when we got him home and switched the food (Science Diet Sensitive Stomach), all of a sudden he had diarrhea and wasn't eating. We put him back on his old food and still wasn't getting better, so we called the vet and got an antibiotic for the stomach bug we all thought he had. He continued to deteriorate, and when I showed up at the vet on March 17th, he was well into DKA. So, he spent a few nights in the hospital, but the hospital vet really believes that he's a good candidate for remission. When we got him home, it still wasn't clear whether this was truly Diabetes or if maybe it was actually a bout of acute pancreatitis that threw his numbers way out of whack. We put him on Tiki Cat when we got home, but the vet specifically asked us to feed him ProPlan DM wet and Hill's m/d dry, so we've been doing that for quite some time. When we switched him to DM and Hill's m/d dry food exclusively, it became clear that he was definitely diabetic, but clearly quite sensitive to the insulin (glargine/Lantus). .5U was too much for him, and the vet didn't really want to venture into .25U territory. We tried him on NPH for a while, but were largely unsuccessful. (Peaks too high; nadirs too low to increase.) So, we switched him back to glargine/Lantus, and he's been fairly predictable, if not still way too high for most of the time he's been on it.
    • Along the way, his usual vet at the specialty place had to go on a leave of absence, so we started working with a new vet. She's just a good, but a bit more tentative about increases than we were used to. She doesn't really like to see anything much below 100 because of the possibility of going hypo. The previous vet was okay with much lower nadirs in the name of getting him into tight regulation as quickly as possible (obviously avoiding hypo to the best of our abilities).
    • Then the neuropathy started...and got much worse VERY quickly. We were starting to wonder if Zen's quality of life had permanently deteriorated, and the vet didn't give us great news when she told us that he may not bounce back from the neuropathy even if we get his numbers under control, and she honestly didn't feel like it was likely that we were even going to be able to get him into tight regulation. But, one of her previous patients (obviously a frequenter of the board) had told her about Zobaline, and she recommended it to us as a last resort. We started giving it to him and saw improvements within the week. We also had started introducing Tiki Cat mousse into his diet toward the beginning of the month (replacing one of the cans of DM with two packets of mousse).
    • Sometime during the first week of May, we started weening him off of the dry food at night. This had a significant impact on his BG throughout the day, but still not enough to not require an increase. We snuck him up to 2.2U on 5/13 but then, he started to get too low to dose in the mornings. (He doesn't eat overnight unless we put down dry food, and we're really trying to avoid that entirely.) So, we decreased his dose back to 2U, and he still had a hypo event (Alpha Trak read 37 on 5/15), when we dialed him back to 1.5 after that, he was still too low to dose one morning (5/18). When he was too low to dose on 5/18, we made the decision that we should go ahead and trial Tiki Cat exclusively to see if we can keep him from spiking too terribly over the course of the day. He still spiked, but then, he hit the floor again on 5/19, after breakfast and 1U.
Thank you, all! Grateful for this place as a resource. <3
 
Welcome to you and Zoe. With TR you can shoot anything bg 50 and over. His numbers are looking great but he’s definitely not ready to go OTJ. Reductions are earned by falling under 50. The skip and dose decrease are giving you wonky numbers. He never earned a reduction. It’s hard to say if the drop in dose is causing the high numbers or if he’s bouncing from being in normal numbers he’s not quite comfortable at.

It’s good you are using a human meter but remember it reads lower than the AT and most vets doesn’t realize that. We increase and decrease in .25 increments. Do you have syringes with half unit markings?

So I suggest you follow TR as written. Stick with 1.0 for 6 cycles. Post daily. Ask questions if not sure whether to skip or shoot.

What do you think?
 
Thanks, Tiff!

I'm working to gather the data to be comfortable with shooting anything above 50. I think I'm a little hesitant, just because he's been so bouncy lately (likely from the food changes). If you (or anyone else, for that matter) has any advice on that one, I'd be interested in hearing it. Going to re-read "How to shoot low numbers" doc tonight. We found some great half-unit syringes on Chewy, so we're all set for that.

Re: the meters, yeah, my vet seems to follow SLGS, and doesn't seem to care that the human meters are lower than the AT. To confirm, though, we can shoot anything higher than 50 on a human meter, right? I'll likely not use the Freestyle Libre for that (it's interstitial and typically about 10 minutes behind an ear prick), but will instead use my Freestyle Lite (human meter with an ear prick).

On a tangentially related note, I've got a number of tabs in my spreadsheet, and I actually have been comparing results from the Alpha Track with a Freestyle Lite (reader and strips both look JUST like an Alpha Track II, but made for humans; both are made by Abbott) in an effort to get an understanding of exactly what the variance between the two is. Feel free to peruse if you're curious. All data was gathered using the same prick of blood, and if it happened to be big enough to get two samples, I sampled across both devices...you know, for science. :p We found an interesting outlier when he went hypo on the 15th-- the Alpha Track was actually lower than the Libre at that point.
 
Yes, you can shoot 50 or higher on a human meter. With the AT its 68 or higher. If you get a bg lower than you have shot, stall, DON’T feed, and post for dosing advice. You would then test again in 20-30 minutes to see if the bg is coming up without food. If a green preshot, one of us will advise whether to shoot and will stay with you until all’s safe to stop testing.

There’s an u written rule that if we suggest you shoot we won’t leave you and if we need to will get someone else to take our place. Make sure you have plenty of test strips, food 10-15% and 15%-over 20% and Karo, or honey as we will guide the bg with food.
 
A reduction was earned today. Did you get any more tests after the one at 62. I hope all is well.
 
Thank you, Tiff! He spiked again last night, and I just gave him 1U before I saw your post. I'm updating his spreadsheet for the morning now!
 
Actually you were fine with 1 unit as you are using a human meter.I thought you were using an AT. However I didn’t know if he dropped under 50 as the last test on the ss was 62 so I was concerned. He’s spiking which we call bouncing from dropping into numbers he’s not used to. Keep giving 1.0 unless he drops under 50.
 
How long has he had the libre? I’d get him used to ear pricks in case it fails or you decide you don’t want to continue with the libre. It didn’t exist when Max was diagnosed.
 
Now for a little housekeeping. On this board we ask for a new thread each day you post. Have you read the yellow stickies at the top of this forum? Please do when you have time. For today just change your subject and include the amps number.
 
Thanks, Elise-- I admittedly haven't had a chance to re-read the stickies since I started posting and stopped lurking. I already made a post for today, so I'll update the subject to say 5/19 and 5/20. We do ear-pricks on Zen when we want to corroborate the readings, or when he's in a bad mood and pulls the Libre off with his teeth. We have both an Alpha Track and a human BG meter (Freestyle Lite). He hates them, but it's a necessary evil. :)

55 was here:
upload_2021-5-20_12-32-10.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2021-5-20_12-31-48.png
    upload_2021-5-20_12-31-48.png
    24 KB · Views: 109
  • upload_2021-5-20_12-32-10.png
    upload_2021-5-20_12-32-10.png
    24 KB · Views: 70
Back
Top