MJW
Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...on-retest-for-uti-or-not.187025/#post-2075807
Well, Yum's numbers spiked into the 700's last week when she was boarded at the vet. They decided to give her the antibiotic Orbax on top of her Convenia shot, after a urinalysis suggested she still "might" have an infection.
I had them increase her dose mid week, based on the AMPS and AMPS+5 they were giving me. That might have been a big mistake.
They think she might have spiked into the 700's due to stress, especially since she was lower over the weekend when the clinic was quieter. I don't know. I think probably she was going low at night and bouncing, due to too high a dose.
I picked her up yesterday morning and skipped her AM shot. She dropped steadily during the day from 660 to 398. I dropped her to a 1 unit dose for her PM shot and this morning's shot. She gave me a 399 at PMPS+3.5 and a 395 at AMPS. High and flat but way better than 700's.
Any advice?
She had liquid poo overnight---some in the litter box, a lot on her bedding and the carpet. I thin k it must be due to 5 days of liquid orbax. They suggested I bring her in for a 3rd or 4th urinalysis before stopping it, but she has had enough of the vet for a while. She was SO HAPPY and excited when I brought her home yesterday. Inside. Outside. Upstairs. Downstairs. Meow. Meow. Meow. PURR. PURR.
I want to visit family again at Christmas. I could try to take her with me, but that might be more stressful on her than being boarded. The unfortunate timing of the pretrip UTI really complicated everything.
It is tough to know how to dose during an infection. Keep the old dose and wait for the infection to pass? Or be ready to respond quickly when it does pass?
Well, Yum's numbers spiked into the 700's last week when she was boarded at the vet. They decided to give her the antibiotic Orbax on top of her Convenia shot, after a urinalysis suggested she still "might" have an infection.
I had them increase her dose mid week, based on the AMPS and AMPS+5 they were giving me. That might have been a big mistake.
They think she might have spiked into the 700's due to stress, especially since she was lower over the weekend when the clinic was quieter. I don't know. I think probably she was going low at night and bouncing, due to too high a dose.
I picked her up yesterday morning and skipped her AM shot. She dropped steadily during the day from 660 to 398. I dropped her to a 1 unit dose for her PM shot and this morning's shot. She gave me a 399 at PMPS+3.5 and a 395 at AMPS. High and flat but way better than 700's.
Any advice?
She had liquid poo overnight---some in the litter box, a lot on her bedding and the carpet. I thin k it must be due to 5 days of liquid orbax. They suggested I bring her in for a 3rd or 4th urinalysis before stopping it, but she has had enough of the vet for a while. She was SO HAPPY and excited when I brought her home yesterday. Inside. Outside. Upstairs. Downstairs. Meow. Meow. Meow. PURR. PURR.
I want to visit family again at Christmas. I could try to take her with me, but that might be more stressful on her than being boarded. The unfortunate timing of the pretrip UTI really complicated everything.
It is tough to know how to dose during an infection. Keep the old dose and wait for the infection to pass? Or be ready to respond quickly when it does pass?
