I don’t get why other members are told their cat is bouncing (and dime aren’t testing much at night) and I’m not told that. He had a yellow that he could still be recovering from.
I will see what is going on this weekend. I am so frustrated all I want to do is cry. And my birthday is coming up

Re: Tight Regulation Protocols: Myths Debunked
Nadirs over 200: who cares if there is bouncing, cat needs more insulin, increase after 2-3 days.
to you.Something like an exposed root and gingivitis could definitely drive his numbers up. 10/16 isn’t too far away! Hopefully after the dental we will see a major improvementThank you! I just tested for keytones and they are negative.
His +3 was 326. I will get a +6. I’m off today. His dental is 10/16. He has gingivitis and will need some extractions, so that could be why he’s not responding as much as I’d like. The vet said he had an exposed root so there is that too.
FWIW you are not alone. I'm going through a similar thing with Figaro right now too--just increasing and only getting high numbers. I totally understand the disappointment of getting that pink or red reading, hoping a bounce is about to break, and then they stay high test after test. Yuck! We had blues and greens for a while, but now he needs more insulin, so up we go.
Thank you. This helps a lot! I hope Figaro shows better numbers soon!
One thread that helped me a lot was this one. http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/ Specifically post #17:
In other words... I try not to get hung up on whether bouncing is happening unless I have good reason to suspect Figaro has dipped into low blues or greens. And lately I haven't seen that with him unfortunately (I want those greens!!). A nadir in the yellow is still high, so even if yellows are causing Yoshi to bounce, there is a lot more room for those nadirs to come down with more insulin.
I'm a newbie so just my 2 cents...to you.
More than that, from the data present, his nadirs on 3.75u so far, have been above 300 which would indicate the need for a 0.5u dose under TR. My only concern is that we typically want to have enough data to know how low the dose is taking him before the dose is increased. There were no nighttime tests last night but my gut tells me he probably looked like he has the last few nights. He also does not look to me like he’s bouncing from yellows.I was wondering if since Yoshi had trace ketones last night and has been in high numbers for quite some time if he would qualify for a larger increase as I wrote about in the paragraph above?
More than that, from the data present, his nadirs on 3.75u so far, have been above 300 which would indicate the need for a 0.5u dose under TR. My only concern is that we typically want to have enough data to know how low the dose is taking him before the dose is increased. There were no nighttime tests last night but my gut tells me he probably looked like he has the last few nights. He also does not look to me like he’s bouncing from yellows.
He’s had six cycle at this dose with the nadirs above 300. If he were mine, I’d increase him to 4.25u tonight.
I must say that I have been getting a lot better at testing at night. I didn’t last night because I shut off my alarm at 130am (his +6). I don’t even remember doing it. I was exhaustedI agree with a Marje. A larger increase is needed to move him. The reason I have been harping on night time tests is to figure out how low he is going, but also to give us enough data to increase him sooner, but safer. Yoshi will get there, sooner the better, but it must be safe. Thank goodness it’s the weekend so you can monitor the 0.5 unit increase more closely.
Note high numbers are not always bounces. A lot of members throw the term around, when sometimes it is just high numbers from not enough insulin, skipped shots etc,
Even nadir at 300 on a per meter is high, correct? I am still using the alpha track until his dental.More than that, from the data present, his nadirs on 3.75u so far, have been above 300 which would indicate the need for a 0.5u dose under TR. My only concern is that we typically want to have enough data to know how low the dose is taking him before the dose is increased. There were no nighttime tests last night but my gut tells me he probably looked like he has the last few nights. He also does not look to me like he’s bouncing from yellows.
He’s had six cycle at this dose with the nadirs above 300. If he were mine, I’d increase him to 4.25u tonight.
Absolutely. With the TR protocol, it doesn’t matter if you are using a human or pet meter. Except the reduction point based on BG being 68 for a pet meter vs 50 for a human meter, the other parameters are the same.Even nadir at 300 on a per meter is high, correct? I am still using the alpha track until his dental.