Yardstick Intro - Advice Needed for Unregulated Cat

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sarah and Yardstick

Member Since 2023
Hi everyone! Happy 4th of July and apologies for interrupting your holiday.

I’m Sarah and Yardstick is my 5 (ish) year old tuxedo that was diagnosed with diabetes, among other things, on 4/27/23. There’s a lot of background info here so I’m sorry in advance for the long post.

A little bit about Yardstick: She was found by animal control in October of 2020 with some injuries, most notably an infected front right leg they think was due to bites from another stray cat. The infection was too far along to save the leg so it had to be amputated (hence the name Yardstick, because 3 feet in a yard lol), and they estimated her age to be about 2-3 years old. I adopted her in February of 2021 and she settled in almost immediately. She’s had almost no health problems in the 2.5 years I’ve had her, besides some skin allergies in November of 2022 that cleared up quickly with antibiotics and steroids.

In April of this year, I noticed that she was eating and drinking more, and peeing a lot more often so I took her to the vet. They diagnosed her with diabetes and she was severely dehydrated so they kept her overnight to give her fluids and in the morning they ran some blood tests. They found that she was very anemic (hematocrit of 9 and platelets were at like 0) so they referred her to the emergency vet hospital nearby for a blood transfusion. She stayed in the hospital for 6 days, was treated for DK (but not yet DKA), and received 2 blood transfusions to get her numbers up. She does not have an official diagnosis but the vets believe she has immune-mediated, nonregenerative anemia caused by some sort of bone cancer (x-rays revealed her bones are very brittle and appear “moth-eaten”). They prescribed her ~7 mg (1 and ½ of a 5 mg tablet) prednisolone once a day, 0.15 mL of cyclosporine (Atopica) twice a day, and 3 units of glargine insulin twice a day. Besides increased eating/drinking/peeing, she was otherwise acting completely normal, which shocked all of the vets because she was so severely anemic that she should not have been acting so bright and alert. They think it's been going on for a very long time so her body has adjusted.

Her diagnosis came about 2 weeks before I graduated college, and about a month before I moved out of the city she was being treated in. I tried to get her BG curve done before I moved away, but they couldn’t do the test on our first appointment, went back a week later and they placed a Free Style Libre which turned out to be defective, went back the next day and placed another which also turned out to be defective, and then the next day I moved out of my apartment. I took her to a new vet close to me the week after and got her BG curve done and the numbers were high so the vet recommended bumping her insulin up to 4 units. She also gave me weekly B12 injections (0.25 mL, unsure of the brand) and a supplement called Immune Plus by VetriScience (previously called Cell Advance 440). Her numbers at the vet after insulin at 9am: 447 at 10:15am, 464 at 12:15pm, 384 at 2:15pm, 411 at 4:15pm, and 407 at 5:30pm (mg/dl).

About a week after that I moved again to Charlotte, NC on 6/22/23 (this will be my permanent home for awhile so no more moving anytime soon) where I am now looking for a new vet to take Yardstick. I discovered this website a few days ago and cried tears of relief knowing there’s other people going through similar things and willing to help. I’ve been frustrated with the lack of communication from my previous vets, which is partially due to me moving around so much but even before then the vet hospital where she was initially admitted was very difficult to contact and did not do a great job of keeping me updated and telling me the next steps. After reading the info I found here, I feel much more confident in my ability to advocate for myself and for Yardstick at her new vet (and if anyone has any suggestions for vets in Charlotte, I would love some recommendations).

I got Yardstick a blood glucose monitor (Contour Next One) but have only been able to test her sporadically since I just started a new job and can’t be home with her all day. I have today off so I’m finally able to check her BG in regular intervals and I’m updating her spreadsheet as I do. The vets recommended she eat ~175 kcal per day, so I’ve been splitting a 5 oz can of Friskies seafood (136 kcal/can) between morning and night feedings. The vets said she should only have 2 meals per day, but she gets SO hungry within a couple hours of feeding so I’ve been giving her ~½ cup of dry food split over a couple hours in between meals. She used to be a free feeder with dry food available 24/7 and got a 3 oz can of wet food in the evenings but I no longer do this. Prior to all of this, Yardstick has had a normal but not excessive appetite and never really been interested in people food, but now she seems ravenous at all times and will even try to eat my food when she has never done this before. She also lost a significant amount of weight (she went from 11 lbs to 6 lbs and now is around 9 lbs) so I’ve been feeding her outside of her meal times to get her back to normal.

My main questions are mostly how to lower her blood sugar (every time she’s been tested in office and at home it’s been very high), I know the prednisolone can increase insulin resistance and the vets said we can hopefully taper her off soon. After reading how bad dry food is on this website, does anyone have any suggestions about how to feed her smaller meals during the day? Or should I not be giving her anything outside of her two meal times when she gets her insulin? Also, does anyone know if the B12 injections and VetriScience supplement are useful/safe (previously Cell Advance 440 but the new name also says canine formula so is it still okay for cats)? And of course I know this is a diabetes forum, but if anyone knows anything or has any tips to manage her anemia/cancer I would be so grateful. I’ve been so overwhelmed trying to help her while also going through major life transitions of my own and I’m unbelievably grateful I found this resource <3

Right now, it has been 2 hours since her morning meal and insulin, she has had no extra food but a couple of treats to coax her into letting me prick her ears, but I haven't been able to get enough blood for a reading yet :/ I've tried massaging and warming her ear but she barely tolerates it so I don't think it's been effective

Edit: Yardstick loves her wet food, but will only eat seafood flavors and the chunky kind in gravy. I read here that cats should not have too much fish flavored food, but she genuinely will not eat any other kind (she will be so hungry and I won't offer her other options but she refuses to eat ANY other flavor). Any ideas on what to do?
 
Last edited:
Hi and welcome!

thank you for adopting her and taking such good care of her! I can’t speak for the cancer and anemia, so sorry about both, so let me address the things I can speak to.

feeding only twice a day is very old fashioned advice that sadly we see vets give here all the time. It’s great for dogs but not cats who have a much higher metabolism. Also eating and still being ravenous is a common side effect of diabetes. Insulin is what converts food into sugar and energy, so diabetic cats can’t process the food they eat and they’ll still be ravenous and lose weight. Feeding her the big meals at shot times then smaller meal throughout the day will be easier on her pancreas and also help avoid big sugar spikes. You could give her smaller amounts of the same food or low carb treats like freeze dried treats or even those lickable pouches and baby food (meat only with no seasonings like onion or garlic). Since you’re not home all day, can you get an auto feeder so she can have access to food at certain intervals? I got mine from chewy for $20 and I set it so Bobo can have snacks twice when I’m gone and also overnight. Her apetite will get back to normal as she gets regulated. Can you tell me what her ideal weight is? A good rule of thumb for daily calorie intake is 20 x ideal weight so if she should be 10 pounds, she needs at least 200 calories more now that she needs to gain weight back.

3 units is a very high starting dose and I have a feeling she’s still unregulated because of the steroids, which she needs so you can’t stop it, but also because of the high carb dry. There are 2 low carb dry foods you could try if you want to keep her on it, Dr. Elseys and also Young Again Zero Carb - it’s not zero but it’s low. You do not want to transition her from HC to LC without home testing her consistently and daily as it can lower her bg by as much as 100 points and the dose she’s on now can suddenly become too much.

when it comes to testing, what size gauge lancets are you using? It’s easier at first to use a 28 or even 26 until you get the hang of it and then you can go up to 30. I don’t know your meter but it sounds like it’s human right?

Unfortunately most vets do not know a lot about feline diabetes….they have many animals to look after and they all have different diseases and treatments. Vets also get their information about nutrition from the big cat food manufacturers so they are biased in what they recommend. Don’t let your new vet talk you into a dry high carb diet. It is not good for any cat, especially a diabetic cat. That’s like feeding your diabetic child a diet of chips, ice cream and sweets.

With a diabetic cat you need:
  • A low carb wet diet that is 10% carbs or under. Most of us use around 4-7% carbs
  • A suitable insulin such as Lantus or Prozinc which are long acting, more gentle insulins than the old insulins - glargine is the generic of Lantus so you’re good there!
  • We recommend hometesting the blood glucose with a human meter…it is not necessary to use a pet meter which is expensive to run and is no better. It will keep your kitty safe and you will know how the dose is working for your kitty. Only testing every so often will not tell you what is happening in between those times and an awful lot can happen in even a day.
  • HELP US HELP YOU has information about the spreadsheet, signature and hypo box which you will need to be able to look after your beloved kitty properly
Again, don’t change the food you are feeding at the moment over to the low carb food until you are able to test the blood glucose daily because we don’t want you to have a hypo on your hands.

We are happy to help sorting out what food to buy, how to transition safely to a low carb diet, how to learn to home test and much more.

FOOD CHART have a look on this chart and choose foods that are under 10%. You will also need some higher carb foods for that hypo box..information in the help us help you link.

This is an excellent site for diabetic cats…it has been around for more than 25 years and has very experienced people to help you.

Keep asking lots of questions!
 
Thank you so so much!!! I was able to get enough blood for a reading just now, 5 hours after her morning insulin, and it was 289 mg/dl. It is a human meter meter and the lancets are 28 gauge. She was initially started on insulin at 2 units, moved up to 3 in the hospital and kept on that until 6/19 when she got her BG curve done, and then upped to 4 units which I've been doing since then. I just ordered an automatic feeder and I'm looking for low carb food to transition her to, so thank you for that advice. I'm relieved to hear it's healthy for her to eat a few smaller meals because it was nearly impossible for her to only eat twice a day and I've been feeding small meals against the vet's advice.

Her ideal body weight is 9-10 lbs, she hasn't been weighed recently but I believe she is around that weight and I'll be sure to get her weight checked at the vet when I go hopefully this week. If I've done the math right, I believe her can food is 8% carbs and her "high protein low carb" food is 38%... yikes. I'll definitely be transitioning off of that once I have a better idea of her BG numbers.

Thank you again so much for your help! I'm so incredibly thankful I found this amazing website with these amazing people, y'all are truly life savers.

Hi and welcome!

thank you for adopting her and taking such good care of her! I can’t speak for the cancer and anemia, so sorry about both, so let me address the things I can speak to.

feeding only twice a day is very old fashioned advice that sadly we see vets give here all the time. It’s great for dogs but not cats who have a much higher metabolism. Also eating and still being ravenous is a common side effect of diabetes. Insulin is what converts food into sugar and energy, so diabetic cats can’t process the food they eat and they’ll still be ravenous and lose weight. Feeding her the big meals at shot times then smaller meal throughout the day will be easier on her pancreas and also help avoid big sugar spikes. You could give her smaller amounts of the same food or low carb treats like freeze dried treats or even those lickable pouches and baby food (meat only with no seasonings like onion or garlic). Since you’re not home all day, can you get an auto feeder so she can have access to food at certain intervals? I got mine from chewy for $20 and I set it so Bobo can have snacks twice when I’m gone and also overnight. Her apetite will get back to normal as she gets regulated. Can you tell me what her ideal weight is? A good rule of thumb for daily calorie intake is 20 x ideal weight so if she should be 10 pounds, she needs at least 200 calories more now that she needs to gain weight back.

3 units is a very high starting dose and I have a feeling she’s still unregulated because of the steroids, which she needs so you can’t stop it, but also because of the high carb dry. There are 2 low carb dry foods you could try if you want to keep her on it, Dr. Elseys and also Young Again Zero Carb - it’s not zero but it’s low. You do not want to transition her from HC to LC without home testing her consistently and daily as it can lower her bg by as much as 100 points and the dose she’s on now can suddenly become too much.

when it comes to testing, what size gauge lancets are you using? It’s easier at first to use a 28 or even 26 until you get the hang of it and then you can go up to 30. I don’t know your meter but it sounds like it’s human right?

Unfortunately most vets do not know a lot about feline diabetes….they have many animals to look after and they all have different diseases and treatments. Vets also get their information about nutrition from the big cat food manufacturers so they are biased in what they recommend. Don’t let your new vet talk you into a dry high carb diet. It is not good for any cat, especially a diabetic cat. That’s like feeding your diabetic child a diet of chips, ice cream and sweets.

With a diabetic cat you need:
  • A low carb wet diet that is 10% carbs or under. Most of us use around 4-7% carbs
  • A suitable insulin such as Lantus or Prozinc which are long acting, more gentle insulins than the old insulins - glargine is the generic of Lantus so you’re good there!
  • We recommend hometesting the blood glucose with a human meter…it is not necessary to use a pet meter which is expensive to run and is no better. It will keep your kitty safe and you will know how the dose is working for your kitty. Only testing every so often will not tell you what is happening in between those times and an awful lot can happen in even a day.
  • HELP US HELP YOU has information about the spreadsheet, signature and hypo box which you will need to be able to look after your beloved kitty properly
Again, don’t change the food you are feeding at the moment over to the low carb food until you are able to test the blood glucose daily because we don’t want you to have a hypo on your hands.

We are happy to help sorting out what food to buy, how to transition safely to a low carb diet, how to learn to home test and much more.

FOOD CHART have a look on this chart and choose foods that are under 10%. You will also need some higher carb foods for that hypo box..information in the help us help you link.

This is an excellent site for diabetic cats…it has been around for more than 25 years and has very experienced people to help you.

Keep asking lots of questions!
 
If you have a scale at home you can weigh yourself then weigh yourself holding her and subtract the 2 amounts to get her weight. This means she should be eating about 200 calories a day if she hasn’t lost any weight. You can check the calorie content of the wet food on the back of the can to figure out how much she should eat. It’s harder with the dry unless you measure how much you’re giving her each day. I’d make sure she has at least one snack overnight as cats tend to do lower then and we can check on them while we’re asleep :) the Friskies should be fine carb content wise, but the dry is certainly the issue right now.
 
Last edited:
As far as the testing, for the preshot test in the am and pm you want to make sure to withdrawal food for at least 2 hours before you test so you know the bg number you got was not food influenced and it’s safe to shoot. For the other tests, it doesn’t matter. So you should test, feed and shoot in that order and it can all happen in minutes. Glargine is a longer lasting gentler insulin that doesn’t start to work until about 2 hours after the shot. It’s good to get at least one additional test during the day and another at night. Can you try to get a +2 in the evenings instead of a +1 and how late would you be able to test after the amps and before going to work?
 
I can tag a member that might be able to give some advice about this and welcome to the best group you can ever join, Thank you for adopting Yardstick♥
She does not have an official diagnosis but the vets believe she has immune-mediated, nonregenerative anemia caused by some sort of bone cancer (x-rays revealed her bones are very brittle and appear “moth-eaten”).
Also
Sarah said if anyone knows anything or has any tips to manage her anemia/cancer I would be so grateful. I’ve been so overwhelmed trying to help her while also going through major life transitions of my own and I’m unbelievably grateful I found this resource <3
@Wendy&Neko
 
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

Just tap in your name above and tap in signature ,add the info they want from the blue link I posted and tap save
 
Here is a link helping us to help you link. If you noticed, our members have some basic information about their cat's in their signature. This helps us to not pester you by asking the same questions (your cat's name, insulin type, date of diagnosis, etc.) repeatedly. We also have a link to our spreadsheet in our signature. We are very numbers driven. The spreadsheet is a record of your cat's progress. By linking it in your signature, we can follow along and provide feedback should you need the help

Just tap in your name above and tap in signature ,add the info they want from the blue link I posted and tap save
Hi Diane. I gave her the link on post #2 and she already has a spreadsheet set up in her signature :)
 
Last edited:
Sorry, I can't help on the anemia/cancer you are dealing with. :bighug: If you start a new post here, with the title something like "info on anemia/bone cancer", you might get the attention of someone who does have experience. Similarly, you can start a new post titled something like "vet in Charlotte" to get ideas from people nearby.

For blood testing, we have a post with lots of information that you might find helpful: Hometesting Links and Tips - includes numerous links, instructions, pictures, & videos
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top