Wynk PMPS 72 (!!) AMPS = 581

Status
Not open for further replies.

Cara and Wynken (GA)

Member Since 2012
Waiting 15 min to see what he does...

The weird thing was that he actually ate this morning... Not much of the first thing I offered, but when I opened a can of Ziwipeak venison, he actually ate a couple ounces of that, and seemed to really enjoy it! ( he hadn't had it for a while… )

I would not have said that his appetite was "fixed" this morning... but I would definitely have said that it was improved… Now I wonder if I should've been at work worrying about a hypo all day? I'm not sure what would've warned me :confused:
 
Wow! Now if we just knew why - and how to get him to do it again. :joyful:
No kidding! I would do anything to know what's happening in his body. 5 more minutes to retest.....:nailbiting: Wonder if the Ziwipeak venison will still appeal to him for dinner....? I can't believe that I always took for granted he would suck his meal down immediately... This week sure makes me appreciate the "good old days":rolleyes:
 
89. guess no shot tonight.... I was trying to do a little earlier tonight because of the upcoming time change, but now I'm wondering if I shouldn't wait an hour and see if he gets shootable before I feed him?
 
Ok , he found his appetite and is cleaning his plate. Since he always goes high a few hours after eating... Can't I shoot a small amount, like .5u? Otherwise he'll be in the 400s for AMPS.
 
Sorry, Cara! It's been a tough few days here (the man had to work like...a 20 hour day the other day, so we were fast asleep early last night!). Sounds like Wynk is trying to throw some surprises at you! How is his appetite?
 
Well I knew he'd be high.... But 581? :eek:
I am always in a state of second-guessing myself, but now I really wish I would've given one unit when I fed him last night. The only bright spot this morning is that there is a night and day difference in his appetite. My hungry hungry boy is back! :D

It's almost like the low blood sugar yesterday indicated that a fever of some kind broke inside of him. I don't mean actual fever… I'm just trying to make an analogy that relates to his appetite.o_O
 
Well, not unexpected. Yes, the 11/12 window is pretty static so you could definitely shoot an hour later when he comes in with a low preshot, and a lower amount, if you want. I am glad he is eating! I do think eating in a cat depends on their mood, whether they liked the food last time, whether they have pooped - so many things. So yes, I think the low numbers may have "inspired" him to try food again.
 
Thanks Sue, Rachel and Carol! Oddly he was on the low side again tonight, but closer to 200. Appetite was GREAT again (cleaned the plate). Sure wonder what's happening, but I guess I'll just take it and smile. :D
 
Hi Cara - hopefully Wynk's appetite is still good - I just got some ziwipeak rabbit - of course, Murphy isn't that wild about it :facepalm:
Dang it, Murphy! Eat what your momma buys!! Wynk is still eating well, but slightly pickier than normal. I may have created a monster when I offered him several different kinds of food when he wasn't eating. He used to immediately scarf down whatever I put on the plate. But now when I put it down he eats part of it and then looks at me like "where is the next course?"
But he's eating and he is hungry which is great.
Oddly, his BG are more active than previously. It used to be that he just wouldn't budge out of the 300-400's range. Not sure what's up, but over in the Lantus and Levemir forum I postulated it was because he overheard me ordering the new insulin :rolleyes:. Despite being deaf. ;)
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top