Hi and Welcome!
As to the potential fur shot, more than likely, she got the shot, especially if her numbers went down. Either way, with fur shots, it's always better to never give another shot than be mistaken and give too much insulin.
milfordcollector said:
Thank you for the info.....another question :? I just got another BG reading 10 minutes ago & it shot up to 370 from 278 @ 12:30 PM.....Do I wait til 6:00 to give pm shot(think I gave Sabrina a fur shot this am) or go fo it now? very confused at this point
Yes, you wait. Lantus works best given 12 hours apart with no more than a half-hour variance a day or a 15 minute difference per shot. How long has she been on insulin?
The way Lantus usually works is along a "curve," where the highest numbers are generally the pre-shot numbers and the lowest numbers (nadir) are in the middle between shots (usually +5 to +7 hours after a shot has been given).
Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
It does take some time to settle into a new dose and to
find the right dose, so don't expect the numbers to be perfect right away. Something to keep in mind is that "It's more of a marathon than a sprint" so you might see some high numbers in the first few days, weeks, or even months. If you check out Michelangelo's spreadsheet, you can see that these numbers are not too unusual. The goal is to eventually get them into the 100-180 range, but it takes time. Are you testing Sabrina's urine for ketones, just in case?
When the numbers go back up, there are numerous factors to cause this: it can be because the insulin is starting to wane (the +7 to +12 time-frame) or because of food or stress or infection or.... In your case, since it was past her nadir, it's most likely from the insulin or food.
What are you feeding her, by the way? The best chance at regulation and/or remission is a
low carb (under 10%), wet food diet.