Wrong dose?

Vanlora Light

Member Since 2021
Hi, I've been told to post here. Apparently i shouldn't have changed the 0.75 units to 0.50 units.
I'm wondering if the dose now is good, I'm doubting because of his high numbers in the evening. I'm going to take a curve on Friday but in the meantime how do his numbers look? I'm still learning how to understand when to lower or increase the dose. I'm just getting different advice from everywhere.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...KSr3uwBLdnyRw_YrzoLHc_WLgos/edit?usp=drivesdk
 
You reduce with the AT if he drops under 68 if following TR or with SLGS under 90. Which method are you following? With both the reduction from .75 to o .50 was correct. What happens now depends on the method.
 
Here is your post from main health. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/missys-spreadsheet.260947/

I'm sorry, I didn't see the tag on the weekend. It would be important to make sure you get in the habit of getting tests before you go to bed, regardless of the dosing method you choose, since many kitties like to go lower at night then can bounce afterward. Your preshot this morning of 115 makes me wonder what he was up to last night. With TR you need to be able to get the preshots and at least one test each cycle, sometimes more depending on whether you are having an active cycle. If you want to follow TR, I'd suggest getting a few more days with some nighttime tests first to see what the current dose is doing before changing anything. If you'd like to follow SLGS, you would run a curve after 7 days and evaluate. With SLGS it is not recommended to shoot under 90. You had that on pm cycle March 18th, but no tests afterward, so he could have gone lower. Whenever making dose decisions you want to ask yourself, how low is this dose taking the kitty?

To answer that, you need to get a better understanding of how the insulin and carbs are working for your cat, and by testing, you can get a feel for some of the basics:

From the basics sticky:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
  • How to do a Curve - a simple explanation
With Lantus, we often like the +2 because it can sometimes be a good indication of how the cycle will go. If the +2 is higher than preshot, it usually indicates that not much downward movement will occur in the blood glucose levels. If the +2 is the same and certainly significantly lower, then that could signal more testing is required as the numbers may drop a little more quickly. By taking additional tests, that will allow you to monitor and feed to help slow down the drop.

As Elise mentioned, you'd be taking reductions at different points depending on which dosing method you'd like to follow.

Here are the dosing methods for additional reading: Dosing Methods

Side note, there was a previous comment on your post in main health about comparing the readings between AT2 and human meters. There is no correlation between AT2 numbers and human numbers. It is incorrect to assume than 68 on an AT2 is the same as 50 on a human meter.
 
You reduce with the AT if he drops under 68 if following TR or with SLGS under 90. Which method are you following? With both the reduction from .75 to o .50 was correct. What happens now depends on the method.
Hi Elise I just noticed she is following TR it's in her signature

@Vanlora Light
Hi there can you add TR to your spreadsheet also :cat:
Edit, can you try and get some more tests in during the night cycle
As Bron mentioned on your previous post
take a test before bed. If that test is lower than the pre shot you might need to set the alarm and check again during the night to see the BG hasn’t gone too low.

Also you are only seeing half the picture on how the insulin is working, you could be missing a low number where a reduction is earned

Since you will be posting on the lantus forum we do a new post everyday
It should read like this
First the Date - Missy then AMPS# and any other tests after that , you can then do PMPS#
Just go back in and edit your title to add more tests you do and PMPzs
To do this to the right you will see the word Thread Tools , tap in that, then tap on Edit Title
add what you want to and then tap on Save Changes

Also link your previous days post to the new one

@Vanlora Light
 
Last edited:
Hi Elise I just noticed she is following TR it's in her signature

@Vanlora Light
Hi there can you add TR to your spreadsheet also :cat:
Edit, can you try and get some more tests in during the night cycle
As Bron mentioned on your previous post
take a test before bed. If that test is lower than the pre shot you might need to set the alarm and check again during the night to see the BG hasn’t gone too low.

Also you are only seeing half the picture on how the insulin is working, you could be missing a low number where a reduction is earned

Since you will be posting on the lantus forum we do a new post everyday
It should read like this
First the Date - Missy then AMPS# and any other tests after that , you can then do PMPS#
Just go back in and edit your title to add more tests you do and PMPzs
To do this to the right you will see the word Thread Tools , tap in that, then tap on Edit Title
add what you want to and then tap on Save Changes

Also link your previous days post to the new one

@Vanlora Light
Yesterday I took a test before bed and it was actually higher than the preshot.
 
You reduce with the AT if he drops under 68 if following TR or with SLGS under 90. Which method are you following? With both the reduction from .75 to o .50 was correct. What happens now depends on the method.
I just want to make sure his glucose isn't high
Here is your post from main health. https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/missys-spreadsheet.260947/

I'm sorry, I didn't see the tag on the weekend. It would be important to make sure you get in the habit of getting tests before you go to bed, regardless of the dosing method you choose, since many kitties like to go lower at night then can bounce afterward. Your preshot this morning of 115 makes me wonder what he was up to last night. With TR you need to be able to get the preshots and at least one test each cycle, sometimes more depending on whether you are having an active cycle. If you want to follow TR, I'd suggest getting a few more days with some nighttime tests first to see what the current dose is doing before changing anything. If you'd like to follow SLGS, you would run a curve after 7 days and evaluate. With SLGS it is not recommended to shoot under 90. You had that on pm cycle March 18th, but no tests afterward, so he could have gone lower. Whenever making dose decisions you want to ask yourself, how low is this dose taking the kitty?

To answer that, you need to get a better understanding of how the insulin and carbs are working for your cat, and by testing, you can get a feel for some of the basics:

From the basics sticky:
  • Onset - the length of time before insulin reaches the bloodstream & begins lowering blood glucose
  • Peak/Nadir - the lowest point in the cycle
  • Duration - the length of time insulin continues to lower blood glucose
  • How to do a Curve - a simple explanation
With Lantus, we often like the +2 because it can sometimes be a good indication of how the cycle will go. If the +2 is higher than preshot, it usually indicates that not much downward movement will occur in the blood glucose levels. If the +2 is the same and certainly significantly lower, then that could signal more testing is required as the numbers may drop a little more quickly. By taking additional tests, that will allow you to monitor and feed to help slow down the drop.

As Elise mentioned, you'd be taking reductions at different points depending on which dosing method you'd like to follow.

Here are the dosing methods for additional reading: Dosing Methods

Side note, there was a previous comment on your post in main health about comparing the readings between AT2 and human meters. There is no correlation between AT2 numbers and human numbers. It is incorrect to assume than 68 on an AT2 is the same as 50 on a human meter.
Yesterday his +2 after evening insulin shot was higher than preshot. He used to wake up with bigger numbers like 13-16mmol and sometimes over 20 but just recently he has had numbers that are lower like 6-10mmol in the morning, knowing him I know he would bounce if he dropped low. He gets fed at the same time during the day and night(with the automatic feeder at night).
 
actually +2 was about the same taking into consideration that all meters are allowed 20% variance. Often when +2s are the same, they can go slowly down to nadir or decide to take a little faster drop. Seeing your preshot this morning back in blues means he came down after that last test, we just don't know exactly how much lower. Another test at around +3 or +4 would have been interesting to see, since you are still trying to gather information about how he responds to insulin.

At this point, I wouldn't worry that the BG numbers are too high, even with some bouncing, he's clearing them quickly. Are you able to get a few tests in this cycle today?
 
actually +2 was about the same taking into consideration that all meters are allowed 20% variance. Often when +2s are the same, they can go slowly down to nadir or decide to take a little faster drop. Seeing your preshot this morning back in blues means he came down after that last test, we just don't know exactly how much lower. Another test at around +3 or +4 would have been interesting to see, since you are still trying to gather information about how he responds to insulin.

At this point, I wouldn't worry that the BG numbers are too high, even with some bouncing, he's clearing them quickly. Are you able to get a few tests in this cycle today?
I couldn't test him more today because I am in the middle of moving from one house to another and I was at the other house packing and tmr is moving day butt I will take a curve on Friday
 
Back
Top